We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Indian in the heart of Amsterdam”

Akbar Indian Restaurant
Reserve with
Akbar Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,133 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“First class Indian in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a family meal at Akbar. Enjoyed is an understatement. Excellent food. Service a little slow, but the food was worth the wait. They had some variations on paneer (Indian cottage cheese) that I've not had before. Lovely. Spice levels were as advertised. Worth a stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    18
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent Indian Food at Leidseplein”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stopped here for dinner as a solo diner on my last trip - not planned. Service was good, decor a little busy, My samosa was just ok but the naan was good and the lamb well prepared. I wasn't knocked out but it was ok.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“really good authentic food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

best we have had in mainland Europe,friendly staff made it too, very welcoming. The balti and madras were great with an excellent peshwari naan. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT INDIAN FOOD - GREAT CHOICE - VERY GOOD”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This indian restaurant is very good and not that expensive. Large choice of vegetarian food. Excellent lassis. Quick and sympathic service. A must to visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERIC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service and high price”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went to the Akbar on the first night of our week's stay in Amsterdam. The food was good (especially some succulent prawns) but the waiter was very unfriendly and unhelpful and we were very surprised by the very high prices. Unlike every other restaurant we went to, during the week, we would have to say it was poor value--we paid as much for this meal as we did for two very fine meals in expensive restaurants.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grammatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Akbar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing