We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back waterfront pub”
Review of Waterkant

Waterkant
Ranked #589 of 4,908 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Caribbean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Centrum
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

Awesome place, friendly staff and laid back ambiance, grungy but solid interior and accoutrements, heated pavillions and quay side tables. Efficient table cleaning, super small bathrooms (I mean *really* small). Good beer selection, reasonable wine per glass. We had Biri beer and a glass of Malbec. Wine was not bad. Pricewise not cheap, but the location is truly awesome. Don't be fooled by the bus station and fuel station streetside. Worth a visit!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ClogsPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

After a lengthy day at a conference we decided to have a bite in the city. Water Kant is located next to a parking garage so we ended up there. Nice down to earth place filled with people of all kinds. Service and food was great. Worth the visit if you like down to earth places.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank robbU2020IK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

We traveled by tram 17 from Amsterdam Central. Easy trip. And the view is very nice, the terrace was closed due to the rain, but we had window seats. I had a very tasty Dutch Mule and my wife had Duvel, the Belgium beer. Service was prompt. They were out of duck, but we had the vegan version of the spring rolls. Served very hot, with a nice soy sauce. Excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

Weird situated under a parking garage, but when there it feels like your back in 1992 when amsterdam was at is best ( according to me )
Great atmosphere, very popular / busy in summer, always a table in winter. Nice river view, sweet professional staff, good food, we had a very nice time here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Harald-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This bar is a really cool spot to visit, either for a drink or to have a meal! It's got a really chill, funky vibe, and the location right along the water is pretty sweet. On a warm or sunny day, it's a great place to sit on the patio and enjoy a drink. The food is also excellent, they have Indonesian and Surinamese cuisine and it's all really high quality.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theartofwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterkant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Waterkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing