We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth It”

Yamazato Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $142
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not worth It”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My eternal quest for good sashimi and sushi took me to this place. I sat at the sushi bar and ordered individual pieces/plates. While the cook was competent and the fish of good quality, the actual courses often lacked a good sauce or accompaniment.

For this price (114 euro) I would expect a bit more culinary art. This was not a new-style sashimi place like Nobu or Dinings in London. I did not try their set menu - perhaps they are more impressive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Barfly67,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. We constantly strive to serve a wide range of the best products of the highest quality according to the standards of the authentic Japanese Kaiseki cuisine. These standards differ from new style places like the ones you mention in London. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you didn't experience the high quality and service we are known for. We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    148
    87
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Terribly expensive fare and nothing special at all, fish was not fresh and drinks too small. Will not recommend or go the again! This came recommend by a friend and decided to try....but not worth it all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Hema R,
Thank you for your review. We constantly strive to serve a wide range of the best products of the highest quality according to the standards of the authentic Japanese cuisine. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you didn't experience the service and high quality we are known for. We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“just a regular sushi platter ,, nothing special...”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

sushi plate looks like any 20 dollar plate,, but u charge 50 bucks...

just coz u have a famous chef ,, u think u can charge double for ordinary
food.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brady t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Brady T,

Thank you for your review. We serve a wide range of the best products of the highest quality according to the seasons. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you didn't experience the service and high quality we are known for. We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“top Japanese restaurant in Holland..well deserved Michelin star!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Real good authentic Japanese restaurant, one of a kind here in Holland when most Asian foods are becoming fusion-ized. The waitress recommended the fresh catch of the day so we had a big plate of sashimis - a mix of different kinds of tuna and salmon...they were the BEST I had so far since leaving the islands of the Phils! That plate deserved a true michelin star! My husband said they (sashimis)just melt in your mouth!

The seabass (main dish menu) was a huge portion, and deliciously fresh and sweet! Simply prepared but mouth-watering..really delicious. The tempuras are okay so if you want to try something really good, you can skip them and just opt for the fresh sashimis and sushis. Desert of warm read bean soup and sticky rice was yummy (something different among the selection of different ice creams and fresh fruits)...

...will surely go back again! Thumbs up to the friendly waiters...service was fast and good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real Japanese kaiseki experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came from an amazing trip to Japan in May 2013 where we ate at the best restaurants and ryokans, and since we were missing it so much, we decided to see if we can get an experience of the same level at Yamazato.

Our expectations were exceeded.

First, the decor. Traditional restrained Japanese aesthetics reflected in simple wooden design. Someone here experienced it as "dated", but the Japanese tend to invest in good quality so that they don't need to renew it every other year. Ask for a table overlooking the garden and the fantastic large carp (koi) pond and you will not regret it.

The service was, typically Japanese, enthusiastic and eager.

I strongly recommend taking the Seasonal Chef's menu. It's only slightly more expensive than the other set menus, but you'll get to taste a wider range of dishes with the most exclusive ingredients.

The presentation is so beautiful and sophisticated, a real feast for the eyes. And the taste... well, if you understand the philosophy behind japanese high cuisine which prises seasonal and natural flavors, you can rest assured the dishes live up to those standards.

Naturally, they have a wide selection of wines, and they are quite pricey and really added up to the final bill. Sake seems to be reasonably priced, and could be a good alternative.

The whole atmosphere, the service, the food, it all felt like we were back in Japan. I am looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia_van_Bommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamazato Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yamazato Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing