We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi with Michelin star”

Yamazato Restaurant
Ranked #123 of 4,143 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $157
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Reviewed August 29, 2013

AS I Was satying at the Okura, where this restaurante is at, we had to try the Japanese food available, specially as it was my first Japanese restaurante with a Michelin star. We were not disppointed, eventhough the price is quite high, the quality of the food - sushi, sashimi, temake, tempuras, are excellent. Teh presentation is very classy, but also simple. Tehre was not much asian fusion, as you see nowadays, but instead traditional sushi and sashimi plates. The staff is Japanese, very well presented and very knid and helpful. Excellent dinner.

Thank jackal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 987 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The 1-star that Michelin gives to Yamazato is another indication that Michelin guides are not qualified to judge Asian (Japanese, Chinese, Indian) in Europe! If this one has one star, then using the same benchmark, dozens of Japanese restaurants in (small) Hong Kong or Singapore should be starred, and that many should get the top accolade of 3* - absurd! For sushi/sashimi, they don't have delicacies like uni, oysters, otoro, king crab. And whatever they have is not the freshest/highest quality. The tempura is downright poor. The steak I had was good, but the accompanying mince meat was too salty. For dessert, plating was cute, but no fresh Japanese fruit (like melt-in-the-mouth Japanese melon or super sweet Japanese strawberries), and ice cream is vanilla (!!!) flavour, not green tea or black sesame. Waiters are polite (they are Japanese after all!), but service is slow. This may be the best sushi eatery in Amsterdam, and it's not terrible, but highly disappointing given rating and price. A similar-calibre restaurant in NY, Singapore or HK would cost half what Yamazato charge!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Lam N.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this allows us to enable us to improve our service and product even further. We constantly strive to serve a wide range of the most fresh sushi and sashimi, the types of sushi and sashimi we offer change according to the seasons, e.g. the quality of uni and oyster. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you didn't experience the service and quality we are known for. We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for the best Sushi in town and doesn't mind the high price, then it is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ragonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Michelin star or not it wasn't worth it at all. You would expect excellent top quality sushi from a restaurant like this, but it wasn't. Sushi mediocre, very expensive and overrated. Staff was stuck up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ticmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Yamazato Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and were not aware of this. As we constantly strive to improve our service and the quality of our product we would like to receive your constructive feedback, can you please send this to feedback@okura.nl?
Thank you very much in advance and hopefully we can welcome you back to one of our restaurants in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We experienced the sushi bar. Freshness was granted, staff was amazing. Priced, but highly raccomended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank makkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamazato Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yamazato Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing