We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real name is”

De Silveren Spiegel
Ranked #3 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $96
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Elegance, tradition and hospitality are the core traits of one of Amsterdam’s finest restaurants, de Silveren Spiegel (the Silver Mirror). The restaurant dates from the Dutch Golden Age, the 17th century, so you can experience the ambiance of this time period. Breathtaking surroundings and a lovely diner. Private rooms for special occasions, parties or business meetings available. AT THIS MOMENT THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED FOR EXTENDED RENOVATIONS. WE ARE HAPPY TO WELCOME YOU AGAIN IN THE SPRING OF 2017.
Ft. myers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the real name is”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

de Silveren Spiegel, is the real dutch name of the restaurant located across the street for the Marriott Renaissance, in Amsterdam. The building they are in is quite small so reservation are highly recommended. and the quarters are quite tight. We had a party of 6. with outside tables maybe they could handle around 36 people. The food was excellent and the wine was very good , service was wonderful. you should expect to pay around a $90-$100 per person or more if your going to have more than 1 bottle of wine. was it one of best dinners ever, No .but we had a great time and an excellent meal. I think it quite likely that you would have a good time if you go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Richard P.

We were pleased that we have welcomed you in our restaurant and we are really happy that you enjoyed the diner in de Silveren Spiegel.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    101
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, service surrounded by history”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted warmly and sat in the charming window niche in the front room. The waiters were very attentive and dressed in suits. The maître de was also attentive and told us the history of the building, built in 1614. All original timbers and bar with original colors. But this was not just ambience. This was really good food with excellent wine pairings. Next time we are in Amsterdam, we will dine there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeniseK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear DeniseK57,

We all were so pleased to read your fantastic review, thank you so much!
We would be delighted if you would like visit us again.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If it were possible to give six stars for service,,,”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Let me start by saying,, I know it is strange to review a restaurant having never sampled their food, but I just have to share. We were on a sales convention this past week in Amsterdam and had our closing banquet in the hotel across the street from this restaurant. My wife and I decided to venture out for a nightcap and chose this very inviting patio with its warm ambience. Our server, Christoph ( apologies if mis-spelled! ) was so very gracious. He recommended a Chardonnay and we were so pleased with his selection. It was clearly closing time, but, when we asked for an Espresso and Latte, he took it upon himself to invite us in, and showed us the magnificent rooms used as dining rooms, the wonderful place-settings, and the sloping floors. It is the essence or elegance and intimacy and he is so proud of the restaurant. We sat and enjoyed our coffees while Christoph cleaned his glasses and bar, all the time sharing the history of restaurant and Hollane as a whole. It was a night we will not soon forget and we can't wait to go back to enjoy the cuisine and the Wine Spectator Award winning wine cellar!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear scole2564,

For us was a privilege hosting your very special short evening and Christophe is really happy to hear that you had a memorable time.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Part of History”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

You come here to see what an original canal home looks like. Aside from the windows and the combination of the two adjacent buildings, I don't think there's been much renovation. Original Delft tiles in the fireplace, very slopey floors, and such narrow steep staircases! The food was nice. We had 3 courses, but could have eaten more. Our waiter provided nice history lessons which gave you an image of like in the 1700-1800.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear A G,

Thank you for your excellent review and we are really happy that we have met your expectations and you had an enjoyable time with us.
We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again next time you are in Amsterdam.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dutch Treat”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is one of the oldest buildings in the city with the history and stories to go with it. Friends had visited Amsterdam in the Fall and their concierge at L' Hotel Europa had recommended it to them.

The food was superb. We loved the waiter's storytelling in between courses, including the more recent one where the owners at the time hid a Jewish family and friends, but with a happy ending. (One surviving child came to visit about seven years ago and told them his story of hiding and surviving.)

You can choose the number of courses and whether you want it with or without the wine pairings.The food and ambiance were delightful. We opted for the three course meal with wine pairings and then added one dessert and were not disappointed. We would highly recommend this restaurant for their authentic Dutch food, their history, and overall experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBelle069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear SouthernBelle069,

Thank you very much for your review.
This is the feedback we are striving for and we are really pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant
We hope we will have the opportunity to be welcoming you again soon.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Silveren Spiegel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Silveren Spiegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing