We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Silveren Spiegel

De Silveren Spiegel
Ranked #4 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $97
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Elegance, tradition and hospitality are the core traits of one of Amsterdam’s finest restaurants, de Silveren Spiegel (the Silver Mirror). The restaurant dates from the Dutch Golden Age, the 17th century, so you can experience the ambiance of this time period. Breathtaking surroundings and a lovely diner. Private rooms for special occasions, parties or business meetings available. AT THIS MOMENT THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED FOR EXTENDED RENOVATIONS. WE ARE HAPPY TO WELCOME YOU AGAIN IN THE SPRING OF 2017.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I visited De Silveren Spieghel with a colleague on a business trip, as it came recommended to us.

The restaurant has a lot of charms. Located on one of the many seeming back streets of Amsterdam, you certainly need to know where you're going. The building is many years old and you should ask the waiter about the leaning building.

The food was good, although not a huge selection to choose from, especially as a not fish eater, but I enjoyed the venison steak, along with the duck salad.

The restaurant is small, so the waiter was attentive and never far if we needed anything.

Overall, a good restaurant to try for what they call authentic Dutch food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    101
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“De Silvern Spiegel restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Group booking for a business gathering . We sat upstairs. My goodness don't go up there if you intend to drink a lot or are a bit nervous about stairs. The ones in the building were very steep and narrow. had to come down sideways! However, it was so interesting. The building is 400 years old and was used during the war by the owner of the cafe underneath to hide people. It has original Delft tiles on the walls and there is a small section of the still original floor covering. Some of the doors are also quite low.
Onto the food. We had a set meal but it was delicious , beautifully presented with elegant table settings. The service was also very good, especially as we were quite a large group.Everyone was very welcoming and English was spoken. Interesting place to visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanBaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Group Booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited booked De Silveren Spieghel for the Board Dinner of the organisation I work for. Everyone was delighted with the evening. The food was excellent and we had a set meal for 20 people, which was superb. The atmosphere of the building and the history is worth a visit on its own, but it would be a travesty to miss out on the excellent food. We had a few additional requests as a group including ordering an Anniversary cake, and the restaurant came up to the mark with all our requests. The staff were efficient and professional and during the lead up to our visit, Francisca proved to be extremely helpful and resourceful. I would recommend a trip to De Silveren Spieghel for anyone visiting Amsterdam. Don't miss out, it's a treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've attached a few photos of our meal at this restaurant. I still think of this meal fondly, almost a year after our visit - really the food was that good. We stayed across the street at the Renaissance hotel. We had advance reservations, they were booked solid the night we dined there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Funky old hotel, nice dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Definitely a tourist/business traveler type of restaurant, but couldn't resist eating here - building is fabulous, it looks like it's ready to topple over. Companion and I both opted for the 3 course meal with wine. Food tasty, although not fantastic; service however was extremely good, very polished but with a personal touch. On the whole enjoyable, but a little overpriced because of crowd they're catering to -- if I wasn't on an expense account, I probably wouldn't eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Silveren Spiegel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Silveren Spiegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing