We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel
Ranked #48 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Intervale, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in Pearl, one of four Jewel Apartments on the Singel Canal in Amsterdam. Typical narrow Dutch staircase, but on our fourth visit to our favorite city, we just think of it as part of the overall charm. Our two hosts, who also own and run the Jewel Cruises, were so helpful and such nice people that they were also part of the overall charm. The Pearl apartment overlooks their antique cruise boat so it was fun to watch the sailing preparation and closing up procedures from the comfort of our apartment. The Pearl is just big enough for two, everything modern and set up to wisely use every inch of space so that while not large, it never felt cramped. Loved the pocket door on the shower room, so smart, so efficient. It's also a very convenient location, close to Dam Square but not so close that it was ever noisy, and it's located next to a cross street so it was fun to watch the bike and foot traffic from all directions. Would definitely recommend staying there if you're looking for a smart, reasonable, convenient apartment for two.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This apartment was legit. I would recommend staying in apartment amber on the top floor. Its a loft so the ceilings are about 20 ft high and the wall is all windows. Great view outside to the canal and cafe below. Added bonus was the low hanging bridge on the canal.. Fun to watch people party on their boats and secretly hope they dont duck in time. The apartment is walking distance to everything. Marten and JoJo were great hosts. If you went to Amsterdam and did not stay here, you screwed up

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really can't recommend this place enough. Fantastic location, nice view of the
Canal outside the window and the guys couldn't do enough to help.

Actually stayed with a mate because the price was so good, but it'd be a great place for a romantic weekend-I think I might take the missus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griff92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Absolutely loved staying in the apartment! Great location, close to everything you want to see in A dam. I highly recommend renting a bike and seeing the city on wheels. Only downside is little to no parking in area. If you can find alternate transportation into city, do this. Would love to stay here again sometime. Almost hesitant to post as it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this apartment. The location us more than great, it's oetfect for us. Right at the heart if this very lively city, close to supermarkets, restaurants and great attractions such as the red light districts. Centraal station us around 15 minutes walk and trams are just meters away. Marten and Jojo are very helpful and at the same time not intrusive as they both are very busy people themselves.

The apartment itself is larger than standard hotel room, comes complete with fridge,electric stove and oven, kitchen utensils, etc. There is no airconditioning but the hot summer weather only affected us for 1 day.

What people may find a bit undesirable will be the very steep and narrow canal houee staircase. Marten had to help us with our luggages as the climbing up can be a daunting experience. Another thing is the bathroom being very small with very little space for the basin. Those who are not used to wet bathroom may not be too thrilled to use it.

To summarise, perfect location, bigger than usual apartment, and great services.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igualada, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

An unforgettable stay.
In mid-August we spent six days in Amsterdam and we stayed at the Pearl apartment.
We'll remember this trip as one of the most fun and enjoyable we've lived, and definitely staying in Pearl has a lot to do with this.
We can only define Pearl with good adjectives.
Comfortable, very clean, spacious, quiet, perfectly equipped. Perfect location, just between the hustle and bustle of Dam Plein and the calm and peace of Jordaan. Lovely views, especially at night. Excellent hosts, completely helpful and discreet at once.
We felt as a part of the city for a few days.
It has certainly exceeded our expectations, which were already high.
100% recommendable. Albert & Mari
Thanks Martin and Jojo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beautiful building offering so much for the traveller.Everything on tap a real joy and highly recommended.Spotlessly clean and warm we shall stay here agin hopefully very soon.Amsterdam is a very cosmopolitan city and this is a great base.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBINONorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#29 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#28 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Property: Amsterdam Jewel
Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing