We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb apartment”
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel
Ranked #47 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb apartment”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really can't recommend this place enough. Fantastic location, nice view of the
Canal outside the window and the guys couldn't do enough to help.

Actually stayed with a mate because the price was so good, but it'd be a great place for a romantic weekend-I think I might take the missus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griff92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Absolutely loved staying in the apartment! Great location, close to everything you want to see in A dam. I highly recommend renting a bike and seeing the city on wheels. Only downside is little to no parking in area. If you can find alternate transportation into city, do this. Would love to stay here again sometime. Almost hesitant to post as it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this apartment. The location us more than great, it's oetfect for us. Right at the heart if this very lively city, close to supermarkets, restaurants and great attractions such as the red light districts. Centraal station us around 15 minutes walk and trams are just meters away. Marten and Jojo are very helpful and at the same time not intrusive as they both are very busy people themselves.

The apartment itself is larger than standard hotel room, comes complete with fridge,electric stove and oven, kitchen utensils, etc. There is no airconditioning but the hot summer weather only affected us for 1 day.

What people may find a bit undesirable will be the very steep and narrow canal houee staircase. Marten had to help us with our luggages as the climbing up can be a daunting experience. Another thing is the bathroom being very small with very little space for the basin. Those who are not used to wet bathroom may not be too thrilled to use it.

To summarise, perfect location, bigger than usual apartment, and great services.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igualada, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

An unforgettable stay.
In mid-August we spent six days in Amsterdam and we stayed at the Pearl apartment.
We'll remember this trip as one of the most fun and enjoyable we've lived, and definitely staying in Pearl has a lot to do with this.
We can only define Pearl with good adjectives.
Comfortable, very clean, spacious, quiet, perfectly equipped. Perfect location, just between the hustle and bustle of Dam Plein and the calm and peace of Jordaan. Lovely views, especially at night. Excellent hosts, completely helpful and discreet at once.
We felt as a part of the city for a few days.
It has certainly exceeded our expectations, which were already high.
100% recommendable. Albert & Mari
Thanks Martin and Jojo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beautiful building offering so much for the traveller.Everything on tap a real joy and highly recommended.Spotlessly clean and warm we shall stay here agin hopefully very soon.Amsterdam is a very cosmopolitan city and this is a great base.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBINONorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We loved our stay in this fully furnished apartment. We stayed for 4 nights in the Amber room. The apartment overlooks the Singel canal and has a loft style bedroom. The apartment was spacious and the bathroom was modern and clean. Free WiFi was provided in the apartment and the kitchen came equipped with basic cooking needs (oil, salt etc.). Marten was very nice and even assisted us in carrying our bags up the very steep, narrow stairs. Great location, we walked everywhere and it took us 20 minutes with suitcases to walk from the main train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We totally enjoyed our 3rd floor spacious studio apartment overlooking the canal as the sun streamed in through the enormous windows each afternoon.Everything you need has been thought of and Marten the owner is very helpful and unobtrusive.The place is warm, the cleaning lady attentive and location perfect.Two minutes to supermarket and The Dam, there is a great little cafe next door or book a canal dinner cruise with Marten. Flower and flea markets and numerous cafes and restaurants all within walking distance, just watch out for the bicyclists! Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilmermaid20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#172 of 367 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#32 of 231 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Suites aan de Singel by Vera
Suites aan de Singel by Vera
#117 of 231 in Amsterdam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Property: Amsterdam Jewel
Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing