We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Amsterdam Vacation !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel Apartments
Ranked #48 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We have been to Amsterdam many times over the years & our stay at Marten & JoJo's Aloft Apartment was by far the BEST ! We will now consider it our home away from home.
Everything was perfect - the apartment, the design, the view, the location... and of course the hosts !
We were celebrating our anniversary & birthday & there were even flowers in our room upon our arrival. The week we spent there was fabulous. We felt as though we lived there, as opposed to staying in a typical hotel or B & B.
Continued success & much luck to Marten & JoJo.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc2vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2007

My wife and I traveled to Amsterdam the week of December 5th, 2007 and we had made arrangements to stay with Marteen and Jo Jo, the host's, in Aloft Apartment 2 and boy did we make the right choice. We were met at the door by Marteen and we were welcomed with a friendly Dutch smile and warm canal home feel. We climbed the old fashioned Dutch staircase right to the top and entered Aloft Apartment 2, and how cozy, smart, clean, and fresh it was. Everything you would ever need to feel right at home in Amsterdam. Beautiful view of the Singel Canal on a quiet corner but with enough people watching to keep you busy for hours.

Marteen made sure we were all seattled in and gave us a short history lesson on how he and Jo Jo had to obtain the house from a slew of other buyers and how they gutted and redid the entire place and it showed. The wood work, modern lighting, great bathroom, smart kitchen, and comfy loft bed all showed how much love had been put into this place. You are so close to everything Dam Square, the floating market, 9 streets, Anne Frank House, Coffee Shops, Pubs, Resturaunts, museums, red light, and more. We found them on VRBO [--]

We couldn't have picked a better place. Completely private and no disturbances what so ever. And of course our gracious host was available if we needed but we were all set to go. Feel free to email me if you need a referral or questions about the accomidations but 5 star all the way, this beats any hotel experience if you are looking for concierge, room service, and obnoxious tourist this is not for you... but if you are looking to live like a real A'damer than this place is perfect grocery store with a great wine shop right around the corner, pick up some nice cheese and wine and a baget to complete your day of touring around.... We did!!! You can't get any better...

Banana Pancakes

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Banana_Pancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I'd highly recommend this place, its in a great location, and has been beautifully renovated. Its really clean and modern but has alot of character.....For a self catering option its perfect. The owners are friendly and helpful.....I couldn't find fault! I'll definately be coming back!

Karin, London

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gingerZzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

During my last trip to Amsterdam, I stayed in both Aloft apartments and probably will never stay at the NH/Swissotel/Golden Tulip again! The apartments are very well appointed, with everything you might need, in a comfortable, tastefully decorated space, complete with real plants! Many amenities (groceries, cafes, restaurants, laundry, bicycles) are close by, and everything else you might need is within a modest walk. All of this at a price that is much less than most hotels in the city. I truly look forward to my next stay in Amsterdam at the Aloft apartments!
Brad Anderson
Seattle, USA

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank screwhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Stinch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Solveig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,349 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,073 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#87 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#34 of 249 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel Apartments

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $183 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing