We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment near to NDSM ferry, with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
10 min walk from the house
once a month indoor or outdoor fleemarket
10 min walk our harbour
by evening beautifull 10 walk
in the neighboorhood
in the neighboorhood
view from balcony
view from free ferry
gay pride 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment near to NDSM ferry, with Centraal Station not far away”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment in Oct 2016 for 2 nights and found it to be exactly as described. The owner, Afina, was very welcoming & friendly and answered all of our questions and queries (I had previously sent her a lot of queries before we travelled and she answered all of them promptly with good advice). The owner met us as we got off the ferry and then drove us to the apartment, while pointing out the bus stops etc and how to get back from Centraal Station if we were out late.

The apartment is around a 10 min walk to the ferry (NDSM) which is free and takes you to Centraal Station. We caught the ferry a few times and each time it was very easy. Just hop on and hop off the other side. No tickets or anything. These run about every 10 mins so you never have to wait too long. Just look for the crowd of people and you will know if one is due soon!

We found the apartment a lovely place to return to on an evening for some peace away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We really enjoyed our stay here and loved the fact that access to the building is only via a key for the residents. so security is very good, and the apartment was quiet at night too. There are stairs and a lift, so the apartment would suit a variety of travellers: couple, older travellers, people with disabilities or a couple with young child/ren. The lift is very near to the apartment door, so not much walking to it needed. The apartment comes with a friendly cat called Vondel who was very placid and friendly and didn't bother us at all.

Thank you to Afina, for looking after us and we hope to see you again soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secure building with key access, so only residents could access stairs/lift to apartment
Liked least: can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Matthew and Nicola are great guests So a lovely couple and they took care of Vondel and my house like it was there own Clean nice friendly Always welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireiter63
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Alfina was an excellent host and provided complimentary transportation to and from the airport. Nice quiet neighborhood and a great contrast to the busyness of the Centrum.

We appreciated the food gift basket at the start of the stay and contacts throughout the stay to assist as needed.

The cat was a nice addition to the household.

Would certainly recommend to others




Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Ira and Gail
Thank you so much for the trust and intrest when I had to stay in hospital for a couple of day s My house an most of all Vondel was in verry good hands.Sometime s strangers become become people you dont forget Just by who and what they are.Love guests like these 2 Sencire Afina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelnut...
Napa Valley, California
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We felt at home in the owner's home, especially because we had a feline roommate that came with the apartment. The owner is very welcoming and supportive. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Dennis and Bonnie
Are great funny guests They give you the feeling being a good friend.They respect and treat your cat Vondel and house like there own Love to see them again
Afina& Vondel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A horrible introduction to Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have never had such a horrible experience with renting an apartment. This was my first visit to Amsterdam with a work colleague to attend a conference. My colleague arrived before me and by the time I arrived 3 hrs later in the evening we had to find alternative hotel accommodation because the smell was making us feel sick. The house literally stinks of cigarette smoke. So we ended up paying for alternative accommodation and only spent around 4 hours in the apartment.

I requested a partial refund from the owner but she refused to give us any refund on the 770 Euros we paid, as it is stated that smokers are allowed. In my experience, this usually means there is a designated area in the house, not that the whole house is saturated in the smell of smoke. It needs to be clearly stated that you will be staying in the house of a person who smokes inside a lot.

We had further problems with very unclear information about how to get WiFi, which was necessary for our work. Further to this, the owner offers a sofabed which consists of a single chair which converts to a basic camp stretcher, but was too uncomfortable to sleep on. The one star I have given in this review is for the nice cat that lives in the apartment. Based on the previous 14 excellent reviews, I thought staying in this apartment would be a good experience, but it turned out to be a very stressful and expensive introduction to Amsterdam.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
If sticks and stones helps you to be a better person in life
Im glad I can help you
But I hope that nobody is your next victim.
When you want to stay somewere in the world.
At your service Afina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April N
Napier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing couple of days in Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic stay, only there for a couple of days so it was a whirlwind trip. So appreciative of owner meeting us and showing us around the apartment. Although not in the centre of city, it was very close to bus stop and we had no problems getting in & out even late at night.
All amenities as described. Communication was excellent. Owner very kind and generous, would highly recommend stay and would do so again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment was clean and had all amenities, owner very generous
Liked least: Nothing really other than having to travel in and out of city due to only be there for 2 half days
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
April and her family are great guests Nice clean friendly and respectful people Always welcome in my house
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayu Z
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“a great place to rent trust me!”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

i love this place.. all you need is complete in this house... i love cat and house owner have a cat in the house... i miss vondel ... i arrive late and afina the house owner wait for me at the bus stop... she provide us with a welcome basket that is full with food i have finish my europe trip and as a conclution this is the best place to stay! afina is very helpful and generous! hope to see u soon in malaysia afina! tq so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Ayu
You were great guests And when I come to malaysia I have to bring Vondel you spoilded het
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonward...
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best trip to Amsterdam yet!”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

staying at afina's apartment in north Amsterdam was absolutely brilliant! Having stayed in Amsterdam about 12 times, I can say this was our best experience there so far. Staying in this nice quiet part of Amsterdam was perfect and had a completely different feel to the holiday as opposed to staying in the centre.

The location is easily accessible from Amsterdam central. Afina meet us at Amsterdam central and directed us to her apartment while making us feel very welcome. We used the public transport system a lot more this time due to the location of the apartment. The bus stop for Amsterdam central is just outside the apartment. There is also a ferry to Amsterdam central which is a 10 min walk from the apartment. The ferry is a nice experience in itself.

The apartment is very clean and has a unique magical theme. The place is very spacious and perfect for 2-3 people. Vondel ( not sure if I have spelled that right!) the cat was also a pleasure to have there! Made us feel like we was at home having a pet there! You have everything you need there. My fiancé made full use of having a bath there!

Afina was a lovely warm host. She met us on arrival and made us feel completely relaxed. The welcome gift basket was a very nice touch. She took us back to airport for our return journey as well! Very nice kind person.

All in all it was a lovely experience staying in this apartment and would definitely stay there again for future Amsterdam visits. Would recommend this apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the size and the home feel to the apartment.
Liked least: nothing. It was perfect for us!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
When Simon arrived it feld like family Such a nice couple those 2 And really hope to see them again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing