We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Ranked #281 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect: right next to a nice coffeeshop, 2 minutes to a train station, 5 minutes to lots of sights.
Sadly that's the only good thing about the hotel apart from the price. The room (family room for 4 persons) was very small, like 4 square meters, but that didn't matter too much for us because we weren't too often in the room.
The thing that reduced our experience at the hotel was that there must have been bedbugs. The mattresses also smelled very bad, so we guess the room wasn't cleaned properly.
All in all it's a good option if you're on a budget.
Also the staff is nice and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed last Tuesday to Friday, 8th - 11th July with my girlfriend and another couple, we had a double room each in different parts of the hotel. The hotel is very nicely located, the rooms were basic but very clean.

Unfortunately every single air conditioning unit in the hotel that I came across was not working, including the units in both of our bed rooms. As it was very hot and humid during our visit, this made for three very uncomfortable sticky nights rest. To accompany this, either the hotel has exceptionally poor sound insulation or we shared the hotel with what I can only presume was a herd of elephants. From our rooms we could hear every door slam, every person going up and down the stairs and every foot step the people in adjacent rooms took.

When we informed the reception we were told that 'People come to Amsterdam to party'.

We won't be going back.


Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank conrad8220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location from the central station you can take the Tram N° 1, 2 or 5 ! or on foot like 20 mins only ! all the main sights within 15 mins on foot !

Friendly professional multi lingual staff ( Dutch, Turkish, English, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese ...and others !) powered by very welcoming receptionist around the clock : Sinan, Paolo, Ling , walter, Muhammad and Gok Han , they will give you many information about the area and the surrounding and they will recommend good restaurants and locations.

You will get a small discount if you book the room directly through the hotel ufficial website !

My room 005 was on the ground floor , excellent wi-fi signal , breakfast is served only from 8.00 till 9:30 am in the breakfast room downstairs , large open buffet (for only 5 euro per person) , it would be better if it was from 7.00 until 10:00 !! so the tourist can start his day from the begining.
also you can use the breakfast room for your personal use

Despite that the hotel is ubicated in the center , you can hear the noise of the tram early in the morning or some drunk tourist yelling at night ! but it was kinda normal for a central hotel ! but it is better to make sure that your room is not on the main street so you can get a better sleep !

Bed was comfy and the chambermaid cleans the room daily ! news fuffy towels daily.

I will stay again in this hotel for my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Get a room thats not facing the street because of the noise of the tram in early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stranier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location from the central station you can take the Tram N° 1, 2 or 5 ! or on foot like 20 mins only ! all the main sights within 15 mins on foot !

Friendly professional multi lingual staff ( Dutch, Turkish, English, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese ...and others !) powered by very welcoming receptionist around the clock : Sinan, Paolo, Ling , walter, Muhammad and Gok Han , they will give you many information about the area and the surrounding and they will recommend good restaurants and locations.

You will get a small discount if you book the room directly through the hotel ufficial website !

My room 005 was on the ground floor , excellent wi-fi signal , breakfast is served only from 8.00 till 9:30 am in the breakfast room downstairs , large open buffet (for only 5 euro per person) , it would be better if it was from 7.00 until 10:00 !! so the tourist can start his day from the begining.
also you can use the breakfast room for your personal use

Despite that the hotel is ubicated in the center , you can hear the noise of the tram early in the morning or some drunk tourist yelling at night ! but it was kinda normal for a central hotel ! but it is better to make sure that your room is not on the main street so you can get a better sleep !

Bed was comfy and the chambermaid cleans the room daily ! news fuffy towels daily.

I will stay again in this hotel for my next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabih H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed one night here with a friend recently and couldn't fault the place. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are pretty small but clean. The room we got for two of us had four beds in it but I can imagine it would be a tight squeeze for four people. The toilet is pretty small. Breakfast is only until 9.30 which isn't great and it is quite limited but in fairness, you pay for what you get. We paid €90 for the night between us for b&b so you can't be expecting a huge amount! Location is great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was with my girlfriend and we reserved the double room with private bathroom.
The hotel is next to the main shopping/bars/restaurants street but without all the noise. Walking distance to pretty much everything. The man at the reception was very helpful and friendly.
The room was big enough and very clean, with a small TV. Same story with the bathroom, very clean and with plenty of space. We even had towels, for free, which we didnt expected!
Breakfast was included in the prcie ans I was expecting some toast and jam but we got more than expected: ham, chesse, tomatoes, boiled eggs, juice, coffe, tea, cereal, milk, some fruit, salami and 4 different kinds of bread.
If we go again to Amsterdam we would definitely look to stay on this hotel one more time. Keep up the good job guys! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Ruben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Superb hotel,hotel manager is so friendly and co operative
Read all the terms and conditions first.

Pros:
breakfast is sooper and unlimited
good location
wifi is so fast

cons:
outside food is not allowed



Room Tip: no room tip,everybody is friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jitendra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 373 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 373 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 373 in Amsterdam
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,104 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 373 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#270 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Downtown Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 25, 1017 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $89 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing