We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Amsterdam

“Wow, simply Wow!”
Review of Caro Kookt

Caro Kookt
Ranked #1,486 of 4,856 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $27 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: In my cozy kitchen, I serve you a tasty meal with the preference for the use of local and organic products. My cooking style is Mediterranean, with a nod to the Dutch kitchen. On Friday night, you are welcome to join me and other guessts at the kitchen table for a hearty meal.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Caro was absolutely amazing! Such a down to earth, polite, very friendly and considerate host. Food was above par and our only complaint was that we couldn't go again! If you read this Caro, thank you for the experience! You have a beautiful house in a beautiful location. All the best!

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank masao_ashtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our experience was one of our favorites in Amsterdam. If and when we go back, going back to Caro's house is an obvious choice. My mouth is still watering thinking about the lamb she made us!

My husband and visited Amsterdam on our honeymoon and had reservations here for a Friday night group dinner. Caro cooks in her own kitchen, and we sat outside in her garden with 6 Dutch people (probably 40-somethings-- and we are late 20s.) who also had reservations.

Wonderful location-- right near the Anne Frank house so it's easy to find. Beautiful house and kitchen. Although the meal was amazing and gourmet and fancy, she was very relaxed and calm so we never felt out-of-place, even though everyone was speaking Dutch besides us! (They often translated for us to include us in the conversation, and Caro translated all of the descriptions for us.)

We began with 2 giant pieces of bread that we cut herself and dipped in olive oil and homemade aoili, plus olives that she had picked herself in Tuscany and pickled herself (!!!!!!!), had a beautiful light soup for the first course, delicious lamb with salad and the most amazing potatoes for the main course, and a cream pie with a wonderfully flaky crust for dessert. The wine was paired wonderfully and affordable (she charged us 2,50 a glass-- a steal.) After dinner, she offered coffee and tea, including espresso, cappuccino, whatever we wanted, and seconds if we wanted it for no extra charge.

The meal cost 18,50, but she is raising prices to 25-- all I can say is, at either price, I felt like I was robbing her. It is absolutely worth the cost and much more affordable than what you would pay for something similar at a restaurant. Plus, you get to talk to her, ask her questions, and meet other people. We ended the night with some really interesting conversations about Dutch and American culture. We were there until past 10 at night, just talking with everyone and sipping coffee.

We also enjoyed watching her feed bits of lamb to her adorable old, blind Jack Russell terrier.

I would do it again, and sincerely hope I get to one day! Thank you so much, Caro!!!!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cleverly1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a 'Living room restaurant' so must be pre-booked with hostess, Caro Kookt: http://www.carokookt.nl/caro_kookt/DINE_WITH_CARO.html I would highly recommend it for small groups of friends looking for a relaxed, private dining experience in the centre of Amsterdam. Six friends and I dined here when we had a day out to Amsterdam for lunch. Caro kindly set up a table inside her kitchen and also one in her shaded courtyard, garden - so giving us a choice. The weather was beautiful, so we opted for eating al fresco, and it was wonderful. We had agreed a set menu in advance, which consisted of a refreshing gazpacho, followed by salmon with Dutch white asparagus and roasted potato wedges, then finished with a delicious lemony-custard tart (pastry was very light and flaky). Coffee, wine and beer were all covered by the price which was a reasonable 35 Euro (including tip). There was also a massive loaf of home-made bread on the table for us all to share. Along with cooking, Caro also took the time to talk to us about the history of the area and the interesting artefacts she had dug up from her garden - including the fabulous mediaeval tiles she has used in her kitchen. A unique and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PamAmRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro v, Eigenaar at Caro Kookt, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro K, Eigenaar at Caro Kookt, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caro Kookt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caro Kookt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing