We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #80 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly comfortable”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We choose this bed and breakfast because it was such a fantastic deal if you are planning to visit museums, for which museumcards are provided. It is in a quiet and safe.

Nessie was truly wonderful and she is a incredible baker! Our room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The entry way always had a pleasant aroma when we came home. We only shared the bathroom for one night stay so it felt like a private bath.

The only possible downside for some, would be the location because there are not many restaurants or pubs nearby. With that said, the tram which was a great way to see Amsterdam, was a block away and it was nothing to get to any of the sites.

We had a fantastic stay and recommend it to anyone looking for quality and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BGartists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    33
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
109
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at the Garden View last July and found it to be very enjoyable and cozy, like a home away from home. Nessie was very gracious and attended to our every need. The room itself was tastefully decorated and the view of the garden was perfect. In the hall outside the bedroom we had our choice of hundreds of movies and dozens of books and magazines. The bathrooms are stocked with every product you could need! Breakfast was served in the room and was delicious and satisfying. Nessie provided us with museum passes that got us into virtually every museum for free (a very appreciated bonus!)

The location was a bit hard to find on foot, but with help from the locals we found it in no time. This BnB is located a bit away from the city center of Amsterdam. It took us about 30 minutes on foot to get to the city itself. There is a bus stop nearby though, we just chose not to use it.

Overall, a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend!

  • Liked — The room, breakfast, free museum passes
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny_Lynn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

I have stayed at the Garden View several times now and you always know exactly what to expect. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, nicely decorated and everything is spotless. From the balcony adjoining your room, there's a great view of a garden below which the building surrounds. It's a lovely peaceful location but at the same time centrally located. The owner Nessie, serves up a hearty tasty breakfast and plenty of practical advice. I consider it my little oasis in the busy city of Amsterdam.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joanvmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2008

The Garden View B&B is a real find. For a city where rooms are at a premium, usually very expensive, Nessie provides a comfortable and incredibly hospitable home-from-home.

The room I had was spacious and warm, and the whole place scrupulously clean. Nessie takes as much care of her guests as she does her home - she put a real coffee machine in my room when she saw mow much I got through at breakfast! The breakfasts are large - I have no small appetite - but Nessie gives you sandwich bags so you can take what's left with you during the day.

The B&B is about 5-10 mins by tram from the Concertgebouw, and in walking distance from the South Station (with frequent and quick links to Schipol).

True it isn't in the centre of town, but in Amsterdam that's something of a blessing, and with such convenient, cheap and regular trams, the location is simply not a drawback.

Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — The owner's helpfulness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghJlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Past reviews have said it all, Nessie is the best. She does it all, not only was she an excellent travel agent by recommending restaurants, giving us directions to the sights we were interested in, and letting us use her museum passes. She also made the time in the B and B more comforting by offering us the use of books, magazines, DVD's, travel maps, and travel books. She had jackets, umbrellas, etc. for the guests that forgot their essentials at home. The breakfasts were our favorite, they were so big we never had a desire to have lunch the entire time we were visiting. Here you get the personal attention we have never gotten at a hotel; not only did Nessie let us drop off our luggage when we arrived hours earlier than check-in time, she set out bottled water for us every day, and she informed us that we were going out of our way when we told her our directions for getting to the Garden View. Even though it didn't bother us it should be known the walls are thin so if you are a light sleeper this might be a concern. This was our first experience staying in a Bed and Breakfast and I would definitely recommend the Garden View to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — personal attention.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

A lot of people have already mentioned how helpful Nessie is. She really is an amazing host, making wonderful breakfasts to have in our room every morning, making sure we knew our way around, recommending some excellent places to eat and the museum passes alone would make this place excellent value. The passes would have saved us at least 100 Euro and long waiting queues during our stay. The bathroom and toilet is shared, but they are spotless and very well stocked. The whole place is just so cozy and makes you feel right at home. Yes it isnt very central, but the area is well connected and very safe and clean compared to the city. I cannot say how much we really enjoyed staying at this place. Would recommend to everyone. This is the place to stay in Amsterdam! Just make sure to book well in advance as there are only 2 rooms!

  • Liked — Nessie!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

The landlady, Nessie, is extremely hospitable and helpful.
She not only catered to our specific request for breakfast food but she also provided us with useful information on restaurants and public transportation. In fact, she also lent us free museum passes which enabled us to save money.

The bedroom we had is very clean and pleasant to stay in, with a nice little balcony. A very nice breakfast was served in our room.

Although toilets and bathroom were outside the bedroom, it was not at all inconvenient for us.

The B&B is conveniently located near public transportation.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — everuthing was fine
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneBBFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#37 of 336 in Amsterdam
320 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#192 of 336 in Amsterdam
117 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#20 of 336 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#188 of 336 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#85 of 336 in Amsterdam
251 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#75 of 336 in Amsterdam
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stadionkade, 1077 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View b&b
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing