We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing BnB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
United States
1 review
“Amazing BnB”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Garden View is one of the nicest places I have EVER stayed at! The room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. The other room (there are only 2 rooms in total) was also occupied, but we never saw them and had all the privacy we wanted. The bathrooms were fully stocked and very clean. Nessie, the owner, was an absolutely incredible hostess. When we first got there, she gave us a wonderful map and spent some time recommending places for us to visit and restaurants to eat. Her recommendations proved to be quite invaluable. In addition, she provided us with Museum Cards, which allowed us to enter all the museums for free, saving us lots of additional money. Perhaps the highlight of the accomodation, however, is the mind-boggling breakfast provided freshly by Nessie, which included freshly-baked bread, fruits, jams, cheese, fresh juice, meats, and the most amazing pancakes I have ever had in my life! Nessie also provides you with lunch bags, so that all the leftovers can be eaten for lunch! Overall, I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a fantastic accomodation for a very reasonable rate!!

  • Liked — Nessie
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank qwertytraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
108
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ibk
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I spent 9 nights in the Garden view bnb, while I had to participate in a big convention. The location of this place is very convenient to reach from the airport by train and it is in walking distance of 25 minutes to the conventions center RAI. It was always a very nice relaxing walk in the morning and in the evening - along the nice located canal and through the Beatrix park. The cosy, warm and clean room in the Garden view bnb, combined with the hospitality of Nessi and her fantastic breakfast gave me from the beginning the feeling of being home and I could quickly switch off from the work in the convention. The free wireless Internet access was also a very simple to join and gives a business traveler all he need. Nessi, thank you very much for the time being in your place. I'm looking forward to come back next year.

  • Liked — Location to the RAI convention center.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sigi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC , Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We would have to confirm all the good things written by other reviewers. The museum passes, cleanliness, large delicious breakfast, balcony overlooking the back garden, easy access to the wc/shower shared with one other room, and the lovely spirited Nessie. We stayed with Nessie at the beginning and the end of our trip and got to experience both rooms. The 4 poster room has queen bed and is a bit larger, therefore better than the other room, but both are nice though compact.
We would definitely stay with Nessie again as we enjoyed our 7 days with her. I believe she is planning to add a computer with internet access which would be great for those traveling without a laptop.
Also we like to get an early start but breakfast was served a little late for us (though was outstanding!) served at 9 for one room and 9:30 for the other. It would have been better for us if we had been able to eat a bit earlier.
The other point worth considering is that you are a ways out of the downtown area, although there is bus and tram 1 block away that will get you there in 30 minutes. There are few restaurants close by, and most are pricey. The Italian (Arena) 1 block away was pretty ok, but had reasonable priced options.
We walked to Downtown through Vondel Park and it took about 60 minutes and was lovely way to see Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Outstanding Value
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant options close by
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank garyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We returned to the Garden View BNB after last year's trip because we like the location (out of the center of town and quiet but easily accessible by tram) that makes you feel like a local, easily accessible from Schipol by train and then a short walk. Nessie (the host) is very welcoming, furnishes museum passes which saves many Euros (works on museums in other towns as well) and makes the best coffee. Nessie also turned us on to restaurants that only locals know about which was a real highlight of our trip this year.

  • Liked — Quiet yet easily accessible location
  • Disliked — Don't know
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tara111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in Amsterdam from Monday 25th August and left in the morning on Saturday 30th August. It was our first holiday away together and we couldn't have asked for a nicer time.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city with fantastic shops, restaurants and bars and lots of different places of interest to visit but what made it extra special for us was staying in Nessie's home at Gradenview Bed and Breakfast. Our room was really beautiful with a four poster bed and lots of cushions and everything was immaculately clean but it felt at the same time incredibly homely and comfortable. We felt very welcomed there.

When we first arrived at Gardenview Nessie gave us a map of the city and showed us where we were and the nearest tram stop that took us to nearly everywhere in Amsterdam, she also recommended places to eat and to visit. We had driven from France so Nessie advised us to leave our car at the Olympisch Stadion which was €6 a day in a 24hour security underground garage. It is also only two tram stops away.

On the first night we went to the Zuid train station to buy a 5 day tram pass as it works out cheaper to get tickets from there, rather than on the trams themselves. We also tried one of the restaurants that Nessie had recommended, an Argentinean restaurant called Chicino's which is near the Leidsplein tram stop and the food was out of this world! We then decided that we would go to the other restaurants that Nessie had suggested for the rest of the holiday and we most certainly were not disappointed!

Gardenview is in an upper part of Amsterdam in a quiet and tranquil environment, quite a contrast to the hectic city centre. We enjoyed this as after spending the day being busy, walking around and sight seeing that it was nice and relaxing to go back to the bed and breakfast for a rest!

Nessie brought us breakfast to our room every morning which consisted of coffee, fruit juice, yoghurt, croissants, butter, jam, freshly baked warm bread with various types of cheeses and meat, one day she cooked us pancakes, we truly were spoilt!

At Gardenview the toilet and bathroom is shared with the other guests which I was slightly concerned with but it didn't bother us in the slightest as we didn't see or hear the other couple until the day we left.

I have recommended Gardenview and Amsterdam to my family and friends and my parents are considering taking a holiday there next year to celebrate their 30th Anniversary, we are also hoping to go back in April 2009 if all goes well. Nessie is a very friendly and helpful lady and made our holiday as special as it was.

I would recommend that you take a pair of sensible walking shoes and are aware that all the stairs and steps in Amsterdam are very small and steep. Hope you enjoy your time there as much as we did!

  • Liked — How friendly and helpful Nessie was
  • Disliked — I would have like to have a kettle in the room to be able to make tea/coffee
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hannah4585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I spent two great nights at Nessie's place! The room was comfortable, cosy and clean (you get your own slippers!) as well as bathroom (shared with other room). The neighbourhood is quiet and well-cared-for. In front of the house there is a canal, so you know that it can't be other town than Amst. Of course the main advantage is the friendly and helpful host. Nessie is like a mum: she takes care of you giving you rich breakfast, tourist advices, guides, maps and also reprimand you if you take you shower too long..:)
Your stay in Amsterdam will give you 100% satisfaction if you choose Nessie.

Jakub

  • Liked — everything exept (look below)
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jakubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

The bnb is a very short ride from the airport, followed by a pleasant walk through an upscale, tree lined neighbourhood. Our hostess, Nessie greeted us upon arrival and we were further welcomed by the scent of fresh flowers just before entering our well appointed room. We were also delighted by the huge selection of toiletries available in the bathroom! Nessie is an experienced and caring hostess. She is great at suggesting restaurants for evening meals and also outings to suit the weather (mostly rain for us!!). Each morning she served us a delicious breakfast that was large enough to provide us a wonderful lunch too (plastic wrap is cleverly tucked away under the bread basket). A lovely and charming bnb that definitely reflects its smart hostess!

  • Liked — Smart and experienced hostess
  • Disliked — The steps to the top!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CallyGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#37 of 331 in Amsterdam
315 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 331 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#171 of 331 in Amsterdam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#90 of 331 in Amsterdam
248 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#157 of 331 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#244 of 331 in Amsterdam
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stadionkade, 1077 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam
Garden View b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing