We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hostess.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 341 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and could not have had a better place to stay for our first visit to Amsterdam. Garden View is in a lovely, quiet neighbourhood and so easy to get to from Schipol Airport as is the City. Nessie is so helpful and very considerate. We arrived on Christmas Eve and had presents waiting for us on Christmas Day. She even made us a Christmas dinner! Our room was cosy, comfortable and warm. The Museum cards she let us use came in very handy too. We'd have no hesitation staying there again. (It was like staying at the home of an old friend).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StorkGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned to our trip, combining an exhibition visit and an Amsterdam exploring holiday. Nessie's b'n'b is in the neighborhood of RAI, the main exhibition grounds, and just comfortable trip from the city center too. The most useful however were the eating and seeing advises of our kind landlady.
The bed is comfortable, the area is quiet, the breakfast is plenty, there are all the necessities in the bathroom (we were travelling with carry on bagage only), the room is warm and clean, what else you would desire after a whole day on your feet?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gszor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We started off our three week honeymoon here and had a great stay! We didn't have much planned so Nessie's recommendations for things to see and places to eat came in quite handy. We also took full advantage of the museum cards. The place is very quiet and the breakfast is wonderful. Nessie also kindly gave us a little bottle of champagne to celebrate. Very kind!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 415travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did stay there for a longer weekend. It is a really clean and cozy place to stay. It is advised to really follow the instructions because it is not obvious to find. Do not trust the map in the mobile version of tripadvisor!
The tram is around the corner and takes you straight to the city. Nessie gave us awesome instructions on food places. It is as described in the booking pages, bath rooms are shared but its no stress at all plus absolutely like at home. Breakfast is served in the room and it is as yummy as it looks. We would definetely go there again because it is quiet to sleep and its more living area than party center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our recent vacation in Amsterdam. The Garden View B&B is clean, very comfortable, cute, and quiet. Nessie, our host, has literally thought of everything. We loved the care and detail put into the place that enhanced our experience (ie. clean towels, an abundance of bathroom products to use, fantastic coffee, slippers!). As the other reviews indicate, breakfast is great and quite a bit of food. The location is ideal, as we were just a short tram-ride away from the action in the heart of the city, but just far enough away to have a quiet, peaceful sleep and a relaxing morning. Will definitely return to Amsterdam and will stay here! Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emichellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautifully clean, comfortable beds, quiet and peaceful yet close to transport in and out of the centre of the city, warm and a warm welcome from an justifiably house-proud hostess ["shoes off as you come in please"!], lovely breakfast with great coffee, it was an ideal base for a weekend in Amsterdam. I've really nothing to add to earlier postings, except to endorse most of what has been written.
I was there to meet up with my daughter who's studying in Amsterdam and to celebrate my mother-in-law's 94th birthday; the accommodation met with total approval from both ends of the age spectrum. It's close enough to the centre to enjoy the bustle and the night-life whilst being secluded and tranquil for sleep and lazy mornings.

Room Tip: Both very quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location was ideal for a weekend away, being close to a Tram Stop. The room was spacious, and comfortable,and the breakfasts were very filling, and beautifully laid out on a tray. We even had a sandwich bag provided so we could make a sandwich for lunch. Nessie was welcoming and helpful, providing a map, and suggestions for cafes & restaurants, as well as ideas for days out. We liked the instructions she emailed so that we could find the apartment very easily, and we enjoyed the walk from the Station. We were even lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#31 of 341 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 341 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#29 of 341 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stadionkade, 1077 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Mini bar and guest room balcony overlooking garden. Book four nights for Sunday Brunch. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden View b&b
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing