We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #82 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned to our trip, combining an exhibition visit and an Amsterdam exploring holiday. Nessie's b'n'b is in the neighborhood of RAI, the main exhibition grounds, and just comfortable trip from the city center too. The most useful however were the eating and seeing advises of our kind landlady.
The bed is comfortable, the area is quiet, the breakfast is plenty, there are all the necessities in the bathroom (we were travelling with carry on bagage only), the room is warm and clean, what else you would desire after a whole day on your feet?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gszor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    32
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
101
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We started off our three week honeymoon here and had a great stay! We didn't have much planned so Nessie's recommendations for things to see and places to eat came in quite handy. We also took full advantage of the museum cards. The place is very quiet and the breakfast is wonderful. Nessie also kindly gave us a little bottle of champagne to celebrate. Very kind!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 415travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did stay there for a longer weekend. It is a really clean and cozy place to stay. It is advised to really follow the instructions because it is not obvious to find. Do not trust the map in the mobile version of tripadvisor!
The tram is around the corner and takes you straight to the city. Nessie gave us awesome instructions on food places. It is as described in the booking pages, bath rooms are shared but its no stress at all plus absolutely like at home. Breakfast is served in the room and it is as yummy as it looks. We would definetely go there again because it is quiet to sleep and its more living area than party center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our recent vacation in Amsterdam. The Garden View B&B is clean, very comfortable, cute, and quiet. Nessie, our host, has literally thought of everything. We loved the care and detail put into the place that enhanced our experience (ie. clean towels, an abundance of bathroom products to use, fantastic coffee, slippers!). As the other reviews indicate, breakfast is great and quite a bit of food. The location is ideal, as we were just a short tram-ride away from the action in the heart of the city, but just far enough away to have a quiet, peaceful sleep and a relaxing morning. Will definitely return to Amsterdam and will stay here! Great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emichellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautifully clean, comfortable beds, quiet and peaceful yet close to transport in and out of the centre of the city, warm and a warm welcome from an justifiably house-proud hostess ["shoes off as you come in please"!], lovely breakfast with great coffee, it was an ideal base for a weekend in Amsterdam. I've really nothing to add to earlier postings, except to endorse most of what has been written.
I was there to meet up with my daughter who's studying in Amsterdam and to celebrate my mother-in-law's 94th birthday; the accommodation met with total approval from both ends of the age spectrum. It's close enough to the centre to enjoy the bustle and the night-life whilst being secluded and tranquil for sleep and lazy mornings.

Room Tip: Both very quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location was ideal for a weekend away, being close to a Tram Stop. The room was spacious, and comfortable,and the breakfasts were very filling, and beautifully laid out on a tray. We even had a sandwich bag provided so we could make a sandwich for lunch. Nessie was welcoming and helpful, providing a map, and suggestions for cafes & restaurants, as well as ideas for days out. We liked the instructions she emailed so that we could find the apartment very easily, and we enjoyed the walk from the Station. We were even lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with the comfort of Garden View and the thoughtful, helpful approach of Nessie, our host. The room was delightful and clean and we enjoyed the enclosed garden courtyard below our balcony. The breakfasts were substantial and delicious right up to the take-away breakfast provided for our early-morning departure. On our first evening we walked to the Van Gogh Museum and in subsequent days used the nearby trams to explore further away in town. Nessie provided a great map and marked suggested restaurants and sites -- and the free museum pass was a super benefit! We'd definitely return to Garden View B 'n B on any future trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#253 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#24 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#159 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#131 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stadionkade, 1077VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View b&b
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing