We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So-So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #82 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Echternach, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Last May, my partner and I spent three nights an the Garden View B&B in Amsterdam. It is very conveniently located, close to the tram-line that takes you to the city center in about 15 minutes that fly by thanks to the nice buildings lining the streets. It´s next to one of the canals, so it´s perfect for a morning run, too.
We found the address easily enough, using the precise directions the hostess, Nessie, had sent us. Still congratulating each other on meeting our estimated arrival time perfectly, we were greeted by Nessie with a stream of complaints about us being late and the final question: "What´s the story now?" We did our best to convince her that we were actually on time and finally managed to be grumpily shown in.The room itself was nice, with the cozy feel of an English B&B, even if the "Garden View" was not quite as exspected. As my partner put it: "There is a garden and there is a view," the latter consisting mainly of a heap of rubbish bags. Nessie did apologize after having checked the email indicating our arrival and gave us some helpful advice on restaurants and museums. Still, our relationship didn´t improve much over the days - we were constantly given the impression that our hostess regarded us as ill-behaved children rather than paying guests. We seemed to be expected to permantly compliment her on her hosting skills, even if these didn´t quite live up to the expectations that Nessie raised by her own demanding manner. For example, she explained the rigid breakfast times being due to her "making her own bread" which was obviously of the shop-bought, pre-baked variety. On another occasion, she asked me - already locked in the bathoom - to let another guest take his shower first, since he was on a businesstrip. Breakfast was late, too. All of that would have been alright if we ourselves had been met in a less patronizing way that got pretty anoying. As it was, we left impressed with the city Amsterdam but quite disappointed with our B&B experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessieX, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is unfortunate these guests seem to have had a less than satisfactory stay. Guests are informed that bread is baked in the morning, and so are served a basket of hot croissants and rolls. Apologies to this guest if the bread did not meet expectations.

Garden View is a small property of 2 guest rooms, each sharing the bathroom and separate toilet. If there is a business guest who must leave early (for meetings etc), the other guest is warned in advance so that consideration can be made.

The owner of the garden, of which we have a view (hence the name), has been reconstructing the layout with new top soil and plants. Half a glance would tell anyone really looking that the "rubbish" bags are full of planting soil. Although I have to say we've been very unlucky with the plants this year - we had a very late start with blooming due to a long, very cold winter. Some how, we managed to kill almost all the plants on the guest room balconies.

And yes, sometimes we get off on the wrong foot with new guests, but we always try to put it right with extra pampering. Most guests seem to appreciate the effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    32
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
101
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountains of Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful room, overlooking the private garden, and got to sleep in a canopy bed

After taking off our shoes the Garden View in Amsterdam was convenient to the trams, a truly pleasant, quiet, place to stay for our 49th wedding Anniversary. The other positives were breakfast in the room, hot fresh bread with each breakfast, and a couple of very useful museum passes that went with the room.

The one negative was that the bath was across the hall, but that was no problem for us, although it might be for some who travel.

We can't say enough nice things about Nessie, our hostess. She was a real plus.

All in all, our stay was wonderful

M and JL

Room Tip: No Fitness Center or Swimming Pool, but truly WORTH A STAY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A light cheery room, good nights sleep, comfortable easy chairs, nice breakfasts, and a fantastic and helpful hostess. We were in Amsterdam for a rowing regatta with some sightseeing and chose Garden View for it's location between the Bosbaan and the center of town. It turned out to have very convenient tram connections to both; a very easy run to the museums.The neighborhood is nice with several restaurants that we tried and enjoyed on Nessie's recommendation. She also had plenty of advice on other things to do and loaned us museum passes that saved us time and money. Garden View is in a quiet residential neighborhood, so if the Amsterdam night life is what you are after, it might not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a place to get away from that (we were), it's a perfect location. The breakfasts were outstanding with a variations on meat, cheese, an egg, fruit and always fresh warm bread. Served in the room with everything beautifully laid out and delicious. There was plenty to eat and have enough to put together a sandwich for later. A little fridge in the hallway with beer, soda and cold water was a welcome touch in the evening. Garden View has my wholehearted recommendation. Thanks Nessie. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kush23435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The rooms are bright, clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable if you like them firm, which we do. Sleeping was no problem. The rooms are well-appointed with comfortable chairs and a table. There are only two rooms since adding a room pushes the B&B into the hotel category with extra regulations. The bathroom and toilet are shared.

The breakfast is eaten in the room and was of European style, bread and jam, with the addition of a boiled egg. There is even some left over for lunch. Soft drinks are in the fridge. The B&B is slightly outside the central area, but is well served by rail to Schipol and trams to the museums and centretown. It is in a good residential area, so is pleasant and quiet. We found the B&B to be very convenient, as the trams are very frequent. Dutch public transport is a joy.

Nessie the proprietor provides a museum card which saves consideable time at line-ups and money. The museums are amazing, but breaks are necessary. So the card is a great benefit since it allows multiple shorter visits. She knows the city well and can provide lots of advice.

We would certainly stay at the Gardenview again if we were in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quietrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. Excellent location in quiet affluent residential area with good transport links and nice neighborhood restaurants. Very simple and quick to take the tram into the centre of town. The proprietor, Nessie, is an interesting and delightful lady who was extremely helpful and knowledgable on all aspects of Amsterdam. She gave us free museum passes which allowed us to be fast tracked into the newly opened Rijksmuseum and meant we saved over €60 on entrance costs here and at other museums we visited. Breakfast was good and plentiful; the room was lovely and very comfortable, and the whole place was spotlessly clean. We would certainly recommend the Garden B&B and plan to re-visit at some point in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judecrawfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This June my wife and I landed at Schiphol to spend six days in the Netherlands before cruising the Rhine and Danube Rivers. We chose to stay at Nessie's and were winners. Nessie is a remarkable woman who loves to assist. Her facility is close to the rail line and one block from tram 24 - an all important travel mode. Nessi's place is impeccably clean, her breakfasts -delivered on a tray to the privacy of your room -are something to behold. Every morsel laid out with tender love and care - and so healthy.
. But the wonders do not stop there - Nessie loans you a museum entry card which cuts down on your costs and enables you to go to the front of the line. Nessie knows Amsterdam and the area like the back of her hand and is so willing to help you get to your choices. She even put beer in the fridge for me. Would we stay again with Nessie - absolutely and we will recommend her to our friends. Thanks Nessie for being you. Jim and Cheryl, Canada

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nessie's place was wonderful.

Easy to get to from the airport, just take the train to Amsterdam Suid (10 minutes) and walk for 10 minutes and you are there. Also, very convenient for the marathon we were in Amsterdam to run - just 1 km from the Olympic Stadium where the run starts and ends.

As mentioned in previous reviews, very tidy and nice - that's why Nessie is quite strict with the tidiness rules (and a good thing that is too!). Word of warning for the 'mericuns: you are expected to not walk in your dirty shoes inside, so take them off at the porch.

Excellent breakfast. Some people have complained about not having enough this or that in the breakfast - surprisingly enough, were we lacking something, asking more helped quite well.

A nice touch was Nessie putting our sparkling into the fridge when we forgot, and had champagne glasses waiting for us - after all, for three of us, this was our first marathon ever.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice, one is somewhat bigger than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#107 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#63 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bees B&B
Bees B&B
#15 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Amsterdam Hotelboat
#85 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stadionkade, 1077 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam
Garden View b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing