We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #78 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Encinitas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Following a two week cruise of the Norweigan coast, we spent three days here. Fully armed with prior trip advisor reviews, we looked forward to meeting Nessie. She did not disappoint. This is why we choose B &B's, to experience local culture a little more intimately through a knowledgeable host.

Tourist Amsterdam is a crazy crowded place, not what we needed after our cruise. The location is excellent, a long block from the 24 tram, which whisks you to most destinations in a few minutes. There are lots of local eateries (our favorite, the Hut) where you can get an excellent dinner at a fair price. One tip: get your tram/bus/metro card before you get there.

Nessie and her establishment have been described in great detail before, we will not belabor it. Call it quirky or whatever, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor, let me turn off the pool rating! It's a B & B, there is none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeucadiaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
105
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our first time experience at a bed and breakfast, and we were not disappointed (June 2012). Great location, clean, and comfortable. Nessie was a great wealth of information (transportation advice, restaurants, museums), supplied maps, and lent us a museum card. The breakfast was great (assortment of breads, boiled egg, yogurt, meat, cheese, fruit, jam, coffee, tea) and always a little extra to take with us for a snack. Nessie, thank you very much for the great experience, your hospitality, our lovely chats, and the parting gift.

Grant & Donna Kapteyn
Las Vegas, NV

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

What makes this place interesting is that the host lends you a museum card to access most museums free of charge. Breakfasts are all right. The only place to stay (and where you have breakfast) is in the bedroom, as there are no other common spaces. Another disadvantage is that it is far away from the sights of the city, particularly if you want to come back late at night. The host is a little bit too fussy about very simple things, making you feel you are being watched. I wouldn't recommend it for young people, but it may very well suit middle aged tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaBen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessieX, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
"Fussy about simple things" - yes!

No Smoking means No Smoking! More simple it cannot be!
Garden View bed and breakfast is a No Smoking accommodation. Each guest room has a spacious (covered) balcony with potted plants, table and chairs and an ashtray, where guests are free to smoke.
Standing in the doorway to the balcony smoking is not acceptable since the smoke is still in the room. In this case, the cigarette smoke could be smelled in the central hallway.
Oh - there is a rain storm? Simple = get wet or bundle up or don't smoke!

"There are no common areas" - no = it is a private residence bed and breakfast in the British tradition, not a hotel. No reception area, lounge or bar.
The guest rooms are spacious with double beds, 2 armchairs, bureau with TV/dvd, and dining table for breakfast. As well as the mentioned spacious balcony overlooking the garden.
This information is quite clear on the booking site that was used to make this reservation.
As a matter of fact, most guests come because of the privacy provided by having breakfast served in the room - and they don't need to get dressed to have breakfast!

"Far away from the sights of the city" - no = the museums and concert hall are within walking distance as is the Vondelpark. The cheesy tourist area and red light district are about thirty minutes away, but Amsterdam is a small city and anything interesting is 15/20 minutes away by tram.
Guests can stay out as late as they please - everyone has their own keys.
Besides, our location is no secret. Again, it is quite clear on the booking site. Complaining about it after the fact is silly.

If you have gotten this far, thank you for reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent

My wife and I stayed here for a week in May 2012 had a lovely time room was clean and bed was comfortable. The room had a balcony which overlooked the gardens this was an added bonus. A breakfast of lovely breads, boiled eggs,yogourt,fresh fruit,cheese and fresh coffee was delivered to your room every morning it was lovely and enough to keep you going until the afternoon. The location of the guest house was in a quite residential area with plenty of restaurants to go to in the evening was also handy to travel by tram into central Amsterdam and the airport. Nessie was a lovely host always helpful when you needed advise about places to go she also provided maps and musems passes. We would definately recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early May and thoroughly enjoyed it! The location was in a nice residential area, while still just a short tram ride to the center. The rooms were impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our hostess was also very helpful in recommending several good restaurants and museums.
The best part of all though was the breakfast, which is delivered each morning to your room- it was always delicious, and there was often enough to pack for a snack later in the day.
Overall, great place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Last Sunday, I returned from a 9-day stay a Garden View B&B. What a treat!! My room was lovely, and it had a balcony to the garden. The breakfast of freshly baked goods, great coffee, fruit, soft-boiled egg, yogurt, meat and cheese was plentiful and delicious, and I loved lingering over it. Nessie’s guest guidelines were simple and straight forward, and I considered them common courtesy to everyone else in this in-residence B&B. I thoroughly enjoyed staying in the residential area away from tourists and felt part of the neighborhood. Nessie generously provided a museums card, guidebook, street map, etc. and the tram was a short easy walk away. I had no difficulty getting around and visited other surrounding cities as part of my vacation. After a full day of sightseeing/museums, I looked forward to getting into the slippers Nessie provided to settle in for the evening. After a wonderful night’s rest, I was ready for more sightseeing/museums the next day. I hope to return to Amsterdam. When I do, I hope Garden View B&B is still available, as I do not want to consider a place other than this in-residence B&B for my next stay. Thank you, Nessie, for your hospitality and for taking such great care of me. I sincerely hope that our paths cross again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gerda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessieX, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
This guest was truly a pleasure to have in my home. She took my tips and suggestions with an open mind, and was always enthusiastic about her experiences in Amsterdam as well as the side trips to other towns. I do endeavor to make guests feel at home, and help them plan activities so that they get the most out of their visit. It is gratifying when my efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a four nights during our first trip to Amsterdam. I had a difficult time finding an available room and finally found this B&B and am thankful I did! Nessie was very helpful, giving us tips on how to get places and recommendations on where to eat. Breakfast was good...what seemed to be the fairly typical meat, cheese, bread, and egg breakfasts of the area. The warm hot bread was a treat! The only recommendation I have for improvement would be to renovate the toilet room...the toilet is at an angle in a very small room (compared to American standards) and if it were rearranged it would much more comfortable. Otherwise, great place, great value, and we will return if we ever come back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessieX, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Delighted to know this couple enjoyed their stay at Garden View. Yes the toilet is quirky (separate from the bathroom, and with its own washbasin). I actually considered changing it when I first acquired the property, but would have lost the original Art Deco tiles so decided against it. This neighbourhood was built after the Summer Olympics of 1928, held nearby, and the original architectural details is what makes this property unique, and this area inviting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#18 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#159 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#146 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#30 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#253 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stadionkade, 1077 VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam
Garden View b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing