We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat a museum that includes cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Book In Advance
$23*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice. Learn even more about Cocktails, Bols Liqueurs and Genevers and book a Tasting or a (private) event like a Cocktail Party or Cocktail Workshops.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You can't beat a museum that includes cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This felt like a hidden gem, visiting in the middle of July yet there was probably a maximum of 30 people visiting at the same time as us. It was great had the opportunity to smell all of the amazing samples available. By far the best part in the complementary cocktail and shots at the end.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    522
    149
    40
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“favourite fun museum in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For over 18s only. The staff were very welcoming we really enjoyed this interactive experience and the cocktails and tasters at the end of the tour. We had great fun and worth the money additional cocktails were only 5 euros

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bunkojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bols-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved this place! We nearly didn't go but I'm so glad we changed our minds. The museum part of the visit is really well put together - very stylish and interactive. The bar area is brilliant and we really enjoyed picking our cocktail and two liqueurs (all included in the entry free). You could have another cocktail for a special discount price of 5 euros - would have been rude not to! Staff were very friendly and we had a little spend in the shop afterwards. Just wish it was open later on weekdays - the early closing at 6.30pm meant it was a squash to get it in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“SHORT AND SWEET!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Perfectly suituated in the museum quarter just 5 minutes walk from vondel park if you know the area well! It's opposite the van gough museum!

The whole bols experience (Museum type side to it) is very short but also interactive.
There are video's, tastes and smells and some rather quirky experiments within! You are also free to take pictures (Just like ours) not that there's a lot to capture!

The tour is a little expensive for what you actually get however you then come to realise that the cocktail and two shots at the end of it all actually are really good value!

The bar is fantastic though the pictures are mis-leading as the bar is tiny! However having said that the wait for your drinks is fairly small and the staff here are some of the best at what they do! Extra drink tokens were on offer for just 5Euro when we visited which is great value when you consider a full cocktail costs around £4.17!

Personally we managed to get in the bols experience and out to the bar in around 20 minutes which took us a little by suprise. It's definately worth a visit if you like bols, cocktails or just want something fun to do!

Visit suitable for everyone over the age of 18! I didn't see any lift's for disabled access because the main entrance is some steep steps. However there could be a lift hidden away somewhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JynxxReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Many tourists don't know this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Probably one of the best museums I have ever visited. Interesting, fun and inspiring.
Disappointed by the long line of people in front of the Van Gogh Museum, we jumped into this friendly-looking building. The ticket may seem expensive (14,50 euros) but a drink and a couple of shots from the Bols selection are included. I learned so much from the visit attractions, for example that I don't pay enough attention to smells and scents: the visitor is challenged to identify a high number of different essences, from the green banana to the grape fruit. Even the various ingredients of the famous Genever are presented and explained. A number of objects related to history, production and marketing of the company is shown with a great taste. And of course a very satisfying part of the tour, as a fan, is the drinking experience: you can browse among various recipes, choose yours and drink a well deserved cocktail at the bar.
Also, never underestimate the power of the museum shop (try guess what's its proposal). Absolutely recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Furlanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing