We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love cocktails, then visit here!”

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.50*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
More Info
$47.64*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
$14.29*
and up
Amsterdam Pedal Boat Rental with Optional Heineken Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice. Learn even more about Cocktails, Bols Liqueurs and Genevers and book a Tasting or a (private) event like a Cocktail Party or Cocktail Workshops.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love cocktails, then visit here!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recommendation from friends prior to arriving so we had to visit. Made it our first stop on New Year's Eve and although the "museum" part of it is not that big/long that is a good thing. It is interactive so you get to play some guessing games while learning along the way however the best part is obviously picking and drinking your free cocktail at the end along with the 2 shots. Take the advice of the bar staff though after all they are experts!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    611
    174
    47
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Look at Bols Cocktails”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was an unexpected stop in our trip around Amsterdam. I must say it was a really interesting history. The interactive stuff was really good and was entertained by it all. Got a few drinks at the end of it which were really nice.
The price was a little bit high but at the end of the we both enjoyed ourselves.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PodiumPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good but so small!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive at the House of Bols the building looks grand and impressive, but the exhibition section is just a few rooms on the basement level. Admittedly the smell and taste interactive displays are fun and entertaining, but only expect to be entertained for about half an hour.

Having been to the Guinness factory in Dublin before I was hoping for...more? Maybe a few dummy cocktail bottles to practice your skills? Or a room on how to be a bartender?

I really enjoyed my cocktail at the end and the mirrored bar was good fun. Maybe try and catch a cocktail making session...saw it advertised.

Helpful?
Thank LondonLovelyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ah, Bols”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Been here before.
This time, the bartender made me a cocktail with Elderflower.
Simply amazing.
These bartenders are more like Chemists.
Very talented mixologists.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I did not know what to expect when someone referred me to the House of Bols, but I decided to give it a try. This place is in a small part a museum about the founding of the liquors and it's founder, but it is more a place that teaches you about your senses and how the help us with how we experience everything.

Also, at the end there is a great bar where you get to try the liquors and several cocktails. Staff was very friendly and will go back next time I am in Amsterdam.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeerROx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing