We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“who thought bols was so interesting!”

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.88*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice. Learn even more about Cocktails, Bols Liqueurs and Genevers and book a Tasting or a (private) event like a Cocktail Party or Cocktail Workshops.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“who thought bols was so interesting!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

a friend reccomended this to us, and so glad she did! not everyone's cup of tea i imagine, but we loved it.

you learn about bols, do taste test's, smell test's. then have a wonder through for your own cocktail and a couple of shots!

its not very big, which i liked and the lady on the desk was very pleasant and welcoming.

people who like a cocktail, get yourself down to the house of bols.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    595
    162
    45
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“small museum but very nice cocktails”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

it's not bad value for a cocktail and 2 shots, but the museum is pretty small. My favourite part (other than the drinks) was the smell and taste area which was really fun. you get to choose your cocktail on a touch screen computer according to taste and print your order which you then take to the bar. This can be time consuming as we had 2 large groups of teenagers push in front of us so it took about 30 mins to get our cocktail which was annoying!! but the barman was knowledgable and explained all of the ingredients and they tasted delicious. I've gotta say I'm not a fan of Genever but it's worth giving it a try

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_lassie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great alternative to art museums”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stumbled across this place while walking to the art museums nearby.

I had never heard of "Bols" before going inside, but it turned out to be a company who made spirits, and the "House of Bols" was kind of a self-guided museum/exhibition of the its history. This was no boring museum though. Every room is a new sensory experience, with everythign form smell tests (of every single Bols flavour!), taste tests, drawers full of Bols ingredients, displays of ceramic artworks, and much more.

While doing the scent tests you are encouraged to write down your favourite scents on a piece of paper provided. Make sure you do this - at the end of the place you will come across a couple of touch screens where you can punch in your favourite scents in return for a printed cocktail recipe containing each one. Then you can take these receipes to the fully stocked bar next door where the bartenders will mix them for you! Even better, this is included in the ticket price. The bar also provides tastings of the various Bols flavours.

We had such a good time here that by the time we left we completely gave up on the idea of art museums, sure that the would seem utterly dull in comparison. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A really fun stop”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was the surprise of our visit to Amsterdam - not remotely on either of our "to do" lists, it became an idea when we cycled past it on day 1 on the MacBikes tour. We decided to go on Saturday evening before dinner and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We used the 20% discount voucher to be found in the Canal Bus leaflets and so our entry was EUR10. This includes entry to the museum, one cocktail and two shots - we felt this was very good value and the museum is interesting/interactive. The cocktails are mixed for you at the supermodern bar and we left with a big smile on our faces - can't say much better than that!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A very pleasant hour”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a detailed exhibition of how genever (Dutch gin) and liqueurs are made, you get a "free" tasting and cocktail of your choice. The tour is well constructed with audiovisual and smell and taste exhibits. Opposite the Rijksmuseum and worth at least crossing the road for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buckster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing