We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger outside the US ”
Review of Snappers

Snappers
Ranked #249 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Diner, International, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The characteristic building at number 21 in the famous Reguliersdwarsstraat in the city centre of Amsterdam has a warm and relaxed ambiance. The interior has a retro look with a cheerful Mediterranean-Caribbean twist. The large bar with an extensive collection of spirits jumps right in the eye and invites you to drink one of our cocktails or just an ice cold beer. The menu consists of classic dishes, with an emphasis on comfort food. As a starter we serve for example a crispy Soft Shell Crab in tempura or Quinoa salad with figs, blue cheese and bacon.For the main dish we can not miss the Red Snapper: the fillet grilled with a Caribbean salsa and served with a cous cous salad. Or do you prefer a Surf 'n Turf with Diamond Fillet and Black Tiger Prawns? We serve also all time favorites with a "Snappers twist" as Fish & Chips and juicy BBQ Ribs. The prices of the entrees remain all under 10 euros, the prices of the main courses range from 12 to 18 euros. Oscar Steginga responsible for the cocktails, has made a beautiful cocktail menu including classic tiki and tropical cocktails. He works with lots of fresh fruit and homemade juices. And you can taste it! Take for example the Big Bamboo, including a mix of pineapple, overproof rum and Havana 3y. He uses homemade syrups such as rice syrup in the Healthy Pluym (Ketel One Vodka, green tea, prosecco and lemon in it). Furthermore, there are all sorts of Gin & Tonic combination served in perfect harmony.
San Carlos
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best burger outside the US ”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

This place has the best burgers I have had outside of the USA, great fries, friendly staff, well stocked bar. Good people watching

Helpful?
2 Thank LeftHandLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    98
    19
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

ON our recent visit to Amsterdam, Snappers was the first restaurant we tried. We were not disappointed. In fact it was one of the best meals we had out in a long time. The steak was very tender and the ribs were amazing. Good selection of starters too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RIBS!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Normally nobody makes these kind of dishes better then your own father/mother. But believe me, the ribs are amazing.(sorry dad)
I've been back several times already and the service is far above anything you expect in Holland. I asked for a good drink to take with the spareribs and the bartender whipped up this amazing bourbon drink that indeed was a perfect match. Don't forget to try other things from their short but well selected menu, for instance the patata's brava's are Spain worthy!

The place looks real nice and "gezellig", the owners have a good eye for details that make the place stand out from others. For instance the different music that is played on just the toilets is a very nice and funny detail. The reggae made me really relaxed after the short brake from all the food and drinks.

Conclusion: When in Amsterdam, go to Snappers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasChristopher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Will definitely visit again! ”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic experience. Would highly recommend. My partner and I have recently moved to the Netherlands, we had some friends coming over to visit and wanted to take them somewhere nice for dinner. I am a bit of a Trip Advisor geek and stumbled across Snappers and was impressed with the reviews and the menu from checking out the website. We had the ribs, surf n turf, red snapper and the bitterballen - all delicious!

The cocktail menu and the expertise of the bar tender were impressive. I had the Pornstar Martini which was really good.

The service was laid back and friendly. The restaurant its self is cosy and quirky, the place has a nice vibe.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Found on Internet great buzz!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was a chance find but we were really pleased very good tasty food the nachos were a great starter and the ribs were lovely good service and music

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappers also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Snappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing