We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great fun visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Bags and Purses

Museum of Bags and Purses
Herengracht 573, 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31-0-20-524-6452
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #30 of 447 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great fun visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This museum was on the list for the IamAmsterdam city card. We weren't sure what to expect but found a really interesting afternoon here. The collection of handbags of all ages is delightful and beautifully presented. There is also a Barbie exhibition with a large number of Barbie outfits.

The tea room was an unexpected surprise and would also be ideal for a hen party trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a lovely view out over the gardens.

Would thoroughly recommend this museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    417
    115
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Engalnd
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We did not know of this little gem until we passed by on the way to dinner from the great Banks Mansion hotel. We went the following day and the house, setting and sheer beautiful contents were were simply special. My wife was in bag heaven...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not to be missed for fans of handbags”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had never heard of this museum until my visit to Amsterdam, but once I heard about it, it was immediately added to my agenda as I am a fan of handbags of all kinds. Lots of beautiful handiwork. As a plus, there is a lovely tea room where you can sit and relax.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Amsterdam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stunning display of bags and purses, well lit and informatively described. Also a gorgeous coffee shop and a shop packed with individually designed and locally produced bags and other gifts.It is really refreshing to find such a superior quality museum of the costume genre.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stunning Collection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Eventually found this museum and well worth a visit. Simply stunning collection in a beautiful old building. Loved the atmospheric soft lighting and display settings. Did not have time for refreshments but the lovely coffee shop area had some especially beautiful treats on show. Their web site worth a look to see the afternoon teas on offer, I intend to go back some day and treat myself to a bit of old fashioned glamorously elegant presentation and food! Loved it, definitely one for the ladies. Barbie exhibition definitely a fun memory jogger.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing