We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for tea”

Museum of Bags and Purses
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.33*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #35 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay for tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Apart from the glorious collection, the front rooms of the second floor cafe offer high tea in a divine setting. Bookings recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    510
    135
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, MI USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I did it all for my daughters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having two grown daughters who love purses and bags, I had no choice but to visit the Museum of Bags and Purses. It is a relatively small museum with an incredible collection covering centuries of bags and purses. All the exhibits were of high quality and well arranged. The photos home to the daughters were well received.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melkozek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This museum isn't just for those with a handbag addiction-I learnt so much as it covers the history of the handbag. I initially thought it would be devoted to modern day designer handbags so was pleasantly surprised.
Start at the top & work your way to the bottom. The museum is also attached to a lovely restaurant.
I'm only giving it four stars as photos are forbidden, but apart from that the museum is close to perfect.
Well done!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lyz-the-activist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Love this museum, undestanding the history behind these useful lifesaver for us women was a great experience. The inside is beautifully and gracefully decorated. You will see the diferent kind of materials and designs used over time. I started on the third floor and made my way down to each exhibition. There was a nice coffe shop, elevators, staircases and lockers to keep your belongins.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did not know this museum existed until I was actually in Amsterdam. Since I like purses and bags, this was a great place to go. The collection was fun to peruse. The videos could have been better and not everything was well labeled, but it was still enjoyable. The building itself is gorgeous. They offer afternoon tea and I would have done that had I had enough time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing