We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing room in a 400 yo building right next to the central station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aivengo Youth Hostel
Ranked #182 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we found the hostel very easily since it's just a few hundreds meters away from Amsterdam's central station. our room was not ready yet, but they kindly let us leave our luggage close to the main desk, even if we found them to be unattended when we got back. but for this issue, what left us without words (besides the six floors without lifter we got to do) is the amazingness of the double room with private bathroom we chose. it's a huge place with a bed and two sofas, with a small kitchen and a bathroom with a bath thub. fast and easy check-out just getting our 10 euros back for the deposit of the keys. you must go there if you are a couple spending a few days in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: choose a double room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 170 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Thought it was a bit over priced for what we got. If you get the four bed room you are just down the road from the actual hostel which is actually quite nice, although you don't meet any other people. All very clean and wifi was good. Sure there are better hostels around

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The position of this hostel was really good, especially if you come in amsterdam by train.
But this is an hostel only for leave the bag, because if you want to sleep there, forget it. I think that a prison is more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josefmujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is quite simply the least inviting place I have ever stayed in, including three of Amsterdam's other budget hostels. That is to say I had low expectations but was still let down.

Why? There is literally nowhere to relax (the "reception" has two 2-seat couches and 2 stools by PCs for the 40 guests) and the rooms are freezing, and lit up like The Place Where There Is No Darkness in 1984.

Everything is clean, don't get me wrong, but that doesn't really cut it - no matter how clean a toilet is, I still want it to have a seat...

To top it all, the staff - while friendly and accommodating - have precisely no local knowledge at all. Ask about a cheap take-away, get directed to an Argentinian steak-house - ask about a good inexpensive coffee nearby, informed "it doesn't really matter, they're all the same".

This hostel was a big factor in me having a bad experience of Amsterdam for the only time out of four visits. Take my advice, stay in the campsite in Amsterdamse Bos. In fact, if it's summer time, spend the night under a bridge, it'll be a step up.

Room Tip: There are only 2 20-bed dorms in this place, no matter how cheap it looks, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuantumZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a brilliant stay at Hostel Aivengo, the location is superb, literally round the corner from Centraal Station and a few minutes walk from Dam Square. The guy that checked us in was very nice and provided us with a city map and highlighted numerous Amsterdam attractions. Due to it being low season we were upgraded free of charge to a nicer room. We stayed in the attic, everything was nice and clean and very modern and spacious, we even had a balcony/terrace. I would definitely visit the hostel again and would recommend for any traveller visiting the city!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliver12-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed in several hostels all over Europe and this was by far the worst. The rooms were oversubscribed- there were people sleeping on the floor, the beds were make shift, uncomfortable and not nearly warm enough. It was loud and unpleasant and worst of all I GOT RINGWORM FROM STAYING HERE. I even contacted the hostel to let them know and they didn't bother getting back to me. I would recommend staying here if you're a fan of nasty fungal infections, dirty sheets and rude staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

pros: really nice/helpful staff (the man with the long hair is great), awesome location, let us check in early
cons: smells kinda funky, really thin mattresses, didn't give you enough blankets (amsterdam is cold this time of year!) which made sleeping hard, shower/bathrooms are more or less public

you're definitely not going to get a 5 star stay, but given the price i say it is extremely mediocre

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewreviewreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#204 of 241 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 241 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#10 of 241 in Amsterdam
839 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 241 in Amsterdam
1,283 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 241 in Amsterdam
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aivengo Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aivengo Youth Hostel

Address: Spuistraat 6, 1012 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $27 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Aivengo Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing