We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #209 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel. Staff really helpful. The rooms are small and not helpful if you have big luggage. Really bad pillows. Has air conditioning. Very new and fresh. Really early checkout at 11h and has a 10 euro fine per hour is you stay in your room. Besides that, very clean and cozy. They have a printer next to the guest computer that helped me plan some of my reservations for the trip. I would/will come back and recommend to my friends, thought.

Helpful?
Thank efilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay; I will share your kind words with the reception staff.

I am genuinely sorry to learn that you did not like the pillows that we provided in the room. I would like to encourage you to write me directly about what exactly your inconvience was with the pillows because we are always trying to improve our service and facilities.

Please do come and visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    718
    496
    240
    180
See reviews for
230
841
170
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder City
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Near city center & museum quarter, room was clean, very small, but quiet. staff was helpful, breakfast is extra, it is a buffet, but pretty comprehensive. coffee and juice free to guests. If you need a reasonably priced hotel, consider this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect.

I am sorry to hear that you describe your room as small and I would like to apologize for any inconvience. We do have several room categories and unfortunately I cannot see in which room you stayed in. An upgrade to a twin room or a deluxe room starts already from 10-25 euros extra a night per room.

Thank you again for your review and thank you so much for recommending our hotel to our future guests. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Absolutely perfect for us. Amazing friendly, helpful staff. Clean, fresh, new feel about it. Location was across the road from canal boat cruises, paddle boats (canal bikes), hard rock cafe, and lots more.

Beds were super comfy. Air conditioned. We had a Quiet & Very Spacious Room.

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel. We spent a month in European hotels, this was the last one we stayed in and it was the best.

Room Tip: We were on the noisy side but in the room it was silently quiet. Just ask the staff for what you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellers324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

It is our passion to combine the best facilities (we recentely renewed our beds- so I am very happy to read that you liked them) with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is perfectly positioned for Rijksmuseum (2 minutes away), canal cruises (just across the road), the City Tour Bus stops just a few yards away, meaning it's perfect to get around. You can purchase a 24 / 48 hour ticket and spend the day just hopping on and off at all the major tourist spots knowing you can get back to your hotel easily. About a hundred Restuarants are just a few minutes away, Italian, Irish, Chinese, Indian, Thai. Argentinian (?), Japanese, Mexican, and every one of them has someone trying hard to entice you in. So position is great.
The hotel is everything a tourist would need really, (the bar isn't really used as a bar, but there's a couple just across the road, anyway, so it's not a problem) It's spotlessly clean, the rooms are well proportioned, and the beds comfortable, The bathroom can be a bit awkward in a sitting position, but if you apply a bit of thought to the problem, it's fine. The staff are really very good and patient, and the self service, cold breakfast buffet is excellent.
All in all a really good choice in Amsterdam. No one should have a problem in choosing this hotel, and should disregard any negatives they might read.

Room Tip: I suppose you get what you pay for. Obviously, suites would be better than doubles, but our double w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for granting us the maximum score. That's a very generous gesture!
Thank you for pointing out our great location. To be precize for our future guests; we are right next to the Rijksmuseum and located in Amsterdam's well known fashion shopping street, the P.C. Hooftstraat. We are also just a footstep away from the Van Gogh Museum and the beautiful Vondel Park. There are a lot of good restaurants close by, but I think you are referring to the Leidseplein, the famous square with a lot of bars and restaurants.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the employees, one of our main focus points in our hotel.I will definitely share your lovely comment with the entire staff.

We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I think the Apollo Museum Hotel gets its name because it is just a few steps away from the Rijksmuseum and other important ones, like the Van Gogh. Not only that, but also very close to Leidseplein - where there are restaurants, bars, and plenty of people. Also many trams stop there, making it easy to travel around the city. You can also take a boat tour on Amsterdam's canals from tour companies located a few yards from the hotel. So location is a very positive point.

Before booking a room at the hotel, I've checked the comments here at Tripadvisor, and notice how many complained about the room size. But there were also many good reviews about the hotel. Exploring the room options a little more, I've booked a Deluxe Room, which proved a very good decision: a got a clean room with 3 big windows overlooking the canal and the Rijksmuseum, comfortable for two people and with a nice bathroom (also with its own window).

Breakfast is not included, and costs around EU$ 12. Tried once, was good. Hotel staff are courteous. I had to leave early to the airport on my last day in Amsterdam. The hotel booked me a taxi with a reasonable price (EU$ 36).

Would stay again at the Apollo Museum Hotel.

Room Tip: Check the rates for larger rooms (Deluxe is a good option), and do ask for a room overlooking the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I'm delighted to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor and thank you for the great information for our (future) guests.

We do have several room categories and all of our deluxe rooms have great views over Amsterdam. Just for your- and our future guests'- information I would like to mention that it is possible to ask for an upgrade to a deluxe room upon arrival for only 25 euros extra a night (depends on availability)

I am glad that you liked our continental breakfast buffet. I am happy to let you know that if you book breakfast in advance- we can give you a discount of 2 euros per person so you only pay 10 euros and 50 cents for the buffet. If you would like to book that- please just come up to the front desk and we will arrange it for you.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A great stay nearby the famous Riksmuseum - just a few meters to go to the museum square in a quiet small road you can appreciate the Best Western Apollo Hotel. Clean and just spacious rooms as necessary for a weekend. Use the breakfast buffet opportunity in the morning. There is plenty connection to centre of Amsterdam by foot, bus, tram and boat on one of the Amsterdam "Grachten". A boat jetty is in front of the hotel. It is easy to go to the Amsterdam RAI congress centrum.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5.
Thank you very much for pointing out our great location, there is so much to explore in the city of Amsterdam.
It was great to read that you found our hotel to be perfect for your needs. That is actually more than we could hope for. Thank you very much for writing the review. We really appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel had a good front desk service, and a good location to visit the Rijksmuseum and to get the Sightseeing Bus service. The property looked dark, old and worn, including the room which had a private bathroom. The room was comfortable but had a continuous, low buzzing noise coming from a device in the ceiling that looked as part of the AC.

The breakfast had the average cold and hot food. A luggage room was available with security tagging and identification.

Overall our experience at this hotel was very good. We would come back to the hotel but not to this city. Overall, we did not like Amsterdam: too many people in bicycles competing for space against pedestrians and motor vehicles, and too much marijuana smoke in the streets; at least around the museum and hotel area.

Room Tip: Our room was at a top floor facing the street. We did not hear any disturbing noises. The view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel.

I am very glad to read that you liked the position of the hotel and I will share your lovely comment about our front desk staff definitely with the entire team.

I am really sorry to hear about the noise in your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will take steps to make improvements. I do offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.

It is unfortunate that you did not like Amsterdam. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to one of our other hotels and resorts.

Kind regards,

Gönül Uyanik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#131 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#151 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Pieter Cornelisz. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing