We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick and mix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #204 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Amsterdam is a real lottery when it comes to hotels, as they tend to reflect a city with little space, steep staircases and tiny rooms. This is a place where the difference between one and four stars can be Grand Canyon in terms of quality. The Apollo Museum is three stars but it depends a lot on what room you get. As I was there with many colleagues I got an inside view on the range of accommodation available. A few of the rooms were so small it was difficult to get around the bed. And even the beds varied in size. Some were like narrow coffins, others standard size. The bathrooms were invariably tiny but, even worse, a number were fitted with long handled taps, which made face washing impossible. Our double room was petit but adequate for four days. With more luggage it would have been difficult because the storage just wasn’t there. But then other rooms were larger than ours. The location of the rooms is also important. Book on Hooftstraat street, as opposed to the main drag on the other side, unless you don't mind noise. At the back, go for the upper floors or you could end up with an air conditioning unit outside your window, as my friend experienced. They did move him but only after some argument. And this brings me onto the staff, which were a mixed bag. Some very helpful, others not so much. Although customer service is something of an occupational hazard in Holland, it shouldn’t be, particularly in a three star hotel. Compared to some places I have stayed in in Amsterdam over the years this is not the worst by any means but proceed with caution and try to be as descriptive as possible when booking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,913 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, and the en suite is a decent size. If you are in Amsterdam to see the city then you really don't need anything bigger than this. The beds were comfortable and the rooms cosy.

The location is excellent, very close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, away from the busier city centre. There's a good selection of restaurants very close by. Trams stop close to the hotel, but they work out quite expensive for a family of 4 so we avoided using them.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on the food, but the reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The only negative point is that we asked for adjacent rooms but were given rooms at opposite ends of a corridor. It didn't really matter so we didn't ask to change.

I'd certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below street level - probably a good idea to ask to be higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The location is great in the museum district, with tramlines close by and very near the Leidseplein which has a bustling night life. Restaurants open late into the night , Hard Rock Café and Aran's Irish bar a stone throw away.
The exterior of the hotel is great with an ethereal old Europe charm - all in white.
The rooms are painfully small, the bathrooms are tiny - the smallest I have seen with no visual or auditory privacy .
Some rooms are accessible only by a narrow long staircase and can be extremely difficult to manoeuvre with luggage.
Breakfast is pricy at Euro 12.50 - 10.5 - if you book early through the reception. Massive pillows and they offer nothing else. later we noticed that the two pillows in our room were of different sizes. So they could have easily replaced my 'grande' one with something more wieldy.
The narrow mattress/cot is covered with a mattress pad which kept slipping out of place - confess I am a restless sleeper.
Altogether not worth the money but I am not sure other hotels are that great.
Our staircase only room was changed for a elevator operated one the second night. Grateful for that.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an elevator access and if you are lucky may land with a room facing the road/cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swapna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Really nice hotel rooms were clean and fresh and lots of room. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpfully showed us how to get around the city. Would stay again as is also reasonably priced. Good location too.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank nini233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

overall its a nice hotel.. the setting is nice and close to the city by bike. the bed are comfortable. I would stay there aain anytime
Please note that the toilet door are see-through (glass) not that romantic ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fantastic location Central to all culture. Staff friendly and fully explained the deposit. Room small but very clean and very comfortable. Will cat only come back and would recommend this hotel to anyone. One of the best city break hotels I have stayed in.....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We got a good deal on this hotel and it was well worth it. Asked for a quiet room and was given one on the 4th floor, away from traffic. It was quiet except that there was a rumbling noise, a bit like a washing machine. It must have been some kind of motor running something, possibly the heating, because sometimes we could hear it and sometimes we couldn't. The room was very small and so was the bathroom but we aren't big so it was no problem. We had a double room and it was not two beds pushed together. It was also nice and clean. There is a kettle and the usual sachets, there was a hairdryer in the bathroom drawer, and also shower gel and liquid soap.
The hotel is virtually next door to the Rijks museum. The hotel is kind of the opposite side of the city to Central station with Dam square being en route slightly nearer to the station..
We got a shuttle bus from the airport which took us directly to the hotel. It cost 17 euros and for a return was 28. You do not need to book in advance, they are just outside the airport. However, the train station is also in the airport and this only costs 4 euros. It's just the distance from Central Station to the hotel is probably about 30 minutes walk and that's assuming you know where you are going! There are also trams running regularly but we did not use them and I'm not sure how close the nearest tram stop was to the hotel.
Also just round the corner from the hotel is Blue cruises for a canal cruise. We did not go on this but it is very handy if that is what you are planning and I noticed it had a good star rating in the window for trip advisor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flicker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#140 of 375 in Amsterdam
565 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#101 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,755 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing