We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pick and mix” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #200 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pick and mix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Amsterdam is a real lottery when it comes to hotels, as they tend to reflect a city with little space, steep staircases and tiny rooms. This is a place where the difference between one and four stars can be Grand Canyon in terms of quality. The Apollo Museum is three stars but it depends a lot on what room you get. As I was there with many colleagues I got an inside view on the range of accommodation available. A few of the rooms were so small it was difficult to get around the bed. And even the beds varied in size. Some were like narrow coffins, others standard size. The bathrooms were invariably tiny but, even worse, a number were fitted with long handled taps, which made face washing impossible. Our double room was petit but adequate for four days. With more luggage it would have been difficult because the storage just wasn’t there. But then other rooms were larger than ours. The location of the rooms is also important. Book on Hooftstraat street, as opposed to the main drag on the other side, unless you don't mind noise. At the back, go for the upper floors or you could end up with an air conditioning unit outside your window, as my friend experienced. They did move him but only after some argument. And this brings me onto the staff, which were a mixed bag. Some very helpful, others not so much. Although customer service is something of an occupational hazard in Holland, it shouldn’t be, particularly in a three star hotel. Compared to some places I have stayed in in Amsterdam over the years this is not the worst by any means but proceed with caution and try to be as descriptive as possible when booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    802
    548
    267
    196
See reviews for
257
959
186
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The location is great in the museum district, with tramlines close by and very near the Leidseplein which has a bustling night life. Restaurants open late into the night , Hard Rock Café and Aran's Irish bar a stone throw away.
The exterior of the hotel is great with an ethereal old Europe charm - all in white.
The rooms are painfully small, the bathrooms are tiny - the smallest I have seen with no visual or auditory privacy .
Some rooms are accessible only by a narrow long staircase and can be extremely difficult to manoeuvre with luggage.
Breakfast is pricy at Euro 12.50 - 10.5 - if you book early through the reception. Massive pillows and they offer nothing else. later we noticed that the two pillows in our room were of different sizes. So they could have easily replaced my 'grande' one with something more wieldy.
The narrow mattress/cot is covered with a mattress pad which kept slipping out of place - confess I am a restless sleeper.
Altogether not worth the money but I am not sure other hotels are that great.
Our staircase only room was changed for a elevator operated one the second night. Grateful for that.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an elevator access and if you are lucky may land with a room facing the road/cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swapna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel rooms were clean and fresh and lots of room. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpfully showed us how to get around the city. Would stay again as is also reasonably priced. Good location too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nini233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

overall its a nice hotel.. the setting is nice and close to the city by bike. the bed are comfortable. I would stay there aain anytime
Please note that the toilet door are see-through (glass) not that romantic ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location Central to all culture. Staff friendly and fully explained the deposit. Room small but very clean and very comfortable. Will cat only come back and would recommend this hotel to anyone. One of the best city break hotels I have stayed in.....

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We got a good deal on this hotel and it was well worth it. Asked for a quiet room and was given one on the 4th floor, away from traffic. It was quiet except that there was a rumbling noise, a bit like a washing machine. It must have been some kind of motor running something, possibly the heating, because sometimes we could hear it and sometimes we couldn't. The room was very small and so was the bathroom but we aren't big so it was no problem. We had a double room and it was not two beds pushed together. It was also nice and clean. There is a kettle and the usual sachets, there was a hairdryer in the bathroom drawer, and also shower gel and liquid soap.
The hotel is virtually next door to the Rijks museum. The hotel is kind of the opposite side of the city to Central station with Dam square being en route slightly nearer to the station..
We got a shuttle bus from the airport which took us directly to the hotel. It cost 17 euros and for a return was 28. You do not need to book in advance, they are just outside the airport. However, the train station is also in the airport and this only costs 4 euros. It's just the distance from Central Station to the hotel is probably about 30 minutes walk and that's assuming you know where you are going! There are also trams running regularly but we did not use them and I'm not sure how close the nearest tram stop was to the hotel.
Also just round the corner from the hotel is Blue cruises for a canal cruise. We did not go on this but it is very handy if that is what you are planning and I noticed it had a good star rating in the window for trip advisor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flicker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel has a great location for just about everywhere to go in the city centre, good access to bars and restaurants too. The rooms are tiny (especially the subterranean rooms), but they are clean and have all of the required facilities, also when we went they were excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kik38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#134 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing