We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #197 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very small pokey rooms. Tired furniture, and not many staff on duty. The size of the hotel bathroom is a joke - you cants sit straight on the toilet! Wireless is hopeless. Breakfast is bread ham and cheese - at E12.50!! If you want a coffee thats E2 and and omelette an extra E3. Robbery. Lifts are dirty and slow. Corridors are narrow. Room cleaning is appalling - I had not had mine serviced by 5pm and had to insist it was done! No ice machine.

Flipside-it is located in an upmarket and convenient area of town. Museums and lovely shops a short walk away, as are parks and canals and many cafes. Having said that the hotel plays on this- It tries harder to maintain its exterior credentials than its internal-passing itself off as the "place to be". It is not the place to be. Two nights is enough

Room Tip: Do more homework before choosing this one - there´s loads of hotels in the area. Don´t get a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houtie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
.
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Only by receiving these comments we were able to improve our facilities and service. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate some more details regarding your disappointment to help us develop our efforts to maximize our guest services. Once more, please accept my personal apologies that we failed in providing the correct services and high level product that you can expect from us. I do hope that you will nevertheless give us a second chance, so that we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is most unusual for us.

Thank you once again for informing us. If you are planning to come to our hotel again please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me personally and I make sure that we can meet your expectations.

If you would like to give me further feedback of your stay please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me directly and I am more than happy to speak to you. Many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

While travelers will find the accomodations small, the location is ideal for vacationers. The website leads one to believe the rooms are bigger and have amenities they may not. It also touts wirelss internet, but it is spotty and slow. The location is great though, and makes the hotel worth the stay. Literally across the street from the newly opened Rijksmuseum, and 5 minutes from the Van Gogh museum. Hard Rock Cafe is a block and a half away, as is a plethora of entertainment, shopping, dining and coffee shops. There is a metro station a block and a half away which make transport to and from the airport a breeze. Also, transport to the Red light district/Central Station and surrounding area is easy and affordable with day passes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowboysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we take your feedback very seriously. I understand that you have experienced some bad connection with your wifi internet, I am very sorry to hear this. At this moment of time we are in the process of making some positive improvements to our wifi network. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and you can use without any issues. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was travelling for a conference and stayed over in Amsterdam before heading to Maastricht. The price was right and while the rooms were a bit small, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel being close enough to the Heineken Experience and very close to a number of tram lines.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Brandon,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our grat location.

We would love to welcomke you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is a good hotel for a short stay, the rooms are good but the bathroom is very small. Do not stay in the apartments, ask for the main hotel rooms only. Lobby is good and the location is convenient. heinken experience is nearby and so is the Holland casino. Lot of eating places in a nearby street and convenient from a metro connection

Room Tip: stay in main hotel and not the apartment, they say they are upgrading you to the apartment, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 279sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Apollo Museum Hotel. The location is great and I am glad you have been able to make the most of it. Hopefully we can meet you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay . The hotel was in a an ideal location. The staff were all friendly, efficient, presented well and helpful. It was a holiday to celebrate retirement and a 65th birthday! Our room was upgraded and we were delighted. We would certainly book here again. Thank you for making it a special stay. All staff (housekeeping, reception staff, waitresses etc always greeted us with smiles and friendliness.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Trams, buses and canal trips nearby .We took a bus from and to the airport (197 costing 4 euros...every 15 minutes)

Only one tip!! Please supply a better city map ......!

Room Tip: Don't think we would have liked the basement rooms???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank dannynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel! I am pleased that you appreciate the free upgrade as a gesture for your 65 birthday and your retirement. Thanks a lot for the compliments and I certainly will share this feedback with the entire team in the hotel. I hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very nice hotel close by the Rusk Museum. at the head of a street full of high end shops.
Some nice resturants nearby or take a short walk over the canal to a vibrant district of outdoor cafes and dining opportunities. A very nice continental breakfast is available at a reasonable extra cost and is well worth the price, Room and bath are on the small side as is common in Europe. My only complaint was the overhead lighting was too bright and the bedside lights were not suitable for reading. The hotel management to their credit sent up a reading lamp.
The hotel is only a few hundred feet from the #197 bus stop which gives direct service to and from the airport so that is a money saver on taxi fees

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dleonardBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Your feedback regarding the overhead bed lights is much appreciated, we will take your feedback on board as we always try to make improvements in our business. Once more thank you for staying at the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was staying in for six nights from 26 August 2013- 1 September 2013. The hotel provides free wifi which is a good thing as many are already connected to the cyber. The staff at the front desk are friendly and polite. The front desk staff who has to take care of the house keeping duty which render them degrade in the service aspect. One example is That I could not get someone to send me shower towel after multiple calls to the front desk. I have to go to the front desk to collect them.

The continental breakfast provided by the hotel are generally good. They are same everyday. Will suggest that guest not to book the breakfast in advance but pay as the day you choose to eat. A day bookin in advance will qualify you to a 3 Euro discount from 12 Euro to 9 Euro.

Room Tip: Book way in advance to enable you to get cheaper and better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tehsenghoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I am pleased with the feedback regarding the housekeeping service. I am very sorry that you had to come down to reception to collect your towels. This is of course not the service that you expect in a hotel, and we don’t expect that either. Our aim is always to respond to guest requests in an acceptable time frame. I will share your feedback with the housekeeping team to make sure this will not happen again in the future. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and Amsterdam. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#148 of 372 in Amsterdam
542 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#117 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,795 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing