We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met our basic needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #193 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
277 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Met our basic needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Perhaps because we had reserved on line and the price was less than other places we got a room with a view of the air conditioning equipment. It wasn't noisy. The bathtub was deep and there was plenty of hot water, but the way the glass (instead of a curtain) was arranged, it was hard to get into and out of. The twin beds were arranged so that we could actually touch each other at night which was an improvement over the ones were the single beds have an immovable table between, but still we never found an actual double bed on this trip. Room was really small, but this is a large city where space is at a premium.
The breakfast wasn't included and they wanted an additional 12 Euros per person for breakfast. There was a computer one could use for free. We did get good information about where to find the food we wanted. It is right next to the Rijks museum which was good since that was someplace we wanted to go and there were lots of ways of getting there: canal boat/bus, tram, etc.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the canal, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    883
    607
    281
    210
See reviews for
277
1,066
196
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is pretty decent and the location is excellent. The hotel is only one block from the Rijks museum and is located right next to the posh shoping street with all the expensive designers. Several tram lines are near by. Front desk staff are very nice and helpful. The rooms are very basic but not too small. The bathroom is tiny and looks like a couple walls were put up in the corner of the room to build the bathroom. We visited during the tulip mania so the price was high. I hope the hotel costs less other times of the year. Overall, not a bad hotel but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good location near tourist attractions and some good pubs and coffee shops. Some rooms have canal view, very nice. Room are too small, but bathrooms are very nice and clean. I was disappointed with the service, that really wasn't a warm welcome with a smile. And they forgot to give me points for this stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We got a room in a basement, very small and dark, shower tiny too and we kept hitting the step leading to the shower, especially at night. Clean room and great location, but too expensive because of that.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in a basement, it wasn't very nice to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privetrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for my bday. Rooms were lovely but weird door to bathroom that was semi see through. Room was very clean. Hired bikes from the hotel for E16 and had a great day cycling around Amsterdam. Didn't pay for breakfast but they let us get as many coffees as we wanted for free in the morning... Which was very much needed the morning after a heavy night before, would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzele
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I used this hotel for a couple of weeks during an extended business stay. The most positive aspect is the location. At awling distance from public transport and Leidse plein, with lots of restaurants.
The hotel is such is basically worn out and offers basic comfort. Most of the floors are wood with carpet on top, resulting in a lot of noisy by guests staying in the room above or walkin in the halls. Bathrooms are equipped with plastic cups (no glass), and the coffee machine - if available - does not get supplies completed during the stay. The fridge - if available - does not work. The internet works very rarely and is slow.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the streets. Consider a room at the end of the hall or in the tow houses an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have spent a couple of days in this hotel and we were disappointed from the beginning to the end of our stay. Basically, when we arrived at night we were informed that "there was a problem" and that all rooms were occupied, despite the fact that we had a confirmed reservation. While I was waiting for a solution, my wife was outside in the cold weather because there was no staff available to carry our baggage up the medium-size stairs that give access to the reception. Finally the hotel offered us a room on the 2nd floor without elevator and with "steep challenging stairs" (their words - please see photo). We had no option but staying at the hotel. The room was very small, hardly fitting our two bags. Although we are not young anymore, we managed to climb up and down the "challenging stairs". In the morning of the day we were supposed to check-out, I asked and was granted a late check-out (14:00hs) . To our surprise, when we returned to the room at approximately 13:30hs the door would not open. I complained at the reception and they apologised for their mistake. We definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#162 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing