We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch hotel, value for money, staff are on the ball, welcoming, helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #195 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top notch hotel, value for money, staff are on the ball, welcoming, helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

What can I say about this hotel, a great venue, everything on your doorstep, and excellent service, they even put on the english tv channels, make you feel comfortable, amenities excellent and efficient. Tickets for all the main attractions are available, who needs a tour guide! From the decor, to the excellent indonesian, just a stone's throw away, Amsterdam really is the city that never sleeps! vibrant, amidst the bustle, but providing a first rate customer service, the bar is a good place to unwind, with a good selection of wines. The place has a great ambience, and I like the atmosphere, and the relaxing music in the foyer. Danku!

Room Tip: higher floors better, get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 533simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Simons,,
First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am more than delighted to see your comments about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our personal service and customer care. I am sure your kind words will stimulate the team to continue the same way.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam city centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    917
    626
    290
    218
See reviews for
293
1,106
201
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here a few times on business as it is my companys preferred hotel. The rooms are small but clean and have decent facilities, and great wet/shower room. The free wifi is a little patchy the last time I visited and couldnt secure a connection but it could be because the hotel was full and everyone was using it... the downside of free wifi I guess.... There are plenty of bars and restaurants a short walk away and the exclusive shopping district just 1 street away. Parking seems to be a bit of a nightmare, so plan in advance if you are taking a car where you are going to leave it. Theres little or no chance of getting near the hotel to drop off even, unless you arrive in the middle of the night. As I was on business, without a car, this wasnt a problem for me. Can recommend the Irish bar (Araf?) across the road for a warm welcome, pint of Guinness and good food. The hotel restaurant was fine for breakfast but I didnt eat here on an evening (and why would you with so many places to explore?)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosFandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Fandango,
First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our location. I acknowledge the parking problem in Amsterdam although we do work with a company that will pick up your car and brings it back upon check out and that’s only euro 25 a day.
I hope to welcome you again in the future, please let me know when you are visiting Amsterdam again.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam city centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Amsterdam is very nice city.
Lots of charming museums, great street artists ...
But this hotel is bad chose!
Location of this hotel is fine.
But since Amsterdam is small city, you can go anywhere you want with bike or with little walking.
Only good location is not enough for being good hotel.
Also be aware that wall of the rooms as very very thin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Albert,
First of all thank you for staying with us.
I am really sorry to read that we could not live up to your expectations. I realise some of the rooms are a bit small although this are standard sizes in centre Amsterdam. We are always looking for improvements and therefore I am curious what your feedback is as there is nothing mentioned in your comment. Please contact me so we can see what we have to do better in the future.
Nevertheless I sincerely hope you enjoyed your overall stay in Amsterdam. I hope to welcome you again in the future to change your mind.
With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam city centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Armitage Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel location was perfect, close to bars and restaurants, the bus stop and the canal bus and other boat tours, the hotel itself is a different matter. We were told on arrival that the hotel was full so we had been upgraded for free. We were put in a below ground floor level Twin bed room. The beds were pushed together. The room was freezing. There was no tea or coffee making facility in the room and no ironing facility either. If we wanted tea & coffee making facilities we had to request them in the bar, which we did and were told they had all been given out for the evening and there were not enough for every room. We went out for the evening and when we got back one had been delivered. We had a shower. It was a very unpleasant experience because as soon as you opened the shower door you were frozen by the cold air. The memory foam mattresses on the beds had amnesia and were saggy and uncomfortable so half way through the night we took the mattresses off the bed and slept on th base which seemed to be one of these pull out beds that has a mattress built in. It was a lot more comfortable. One of the mattresses was blood stained. On day 3 we left the credit card type room key in the slot by the door and just took one out with us, we put the do not disturb sign on the door and closed the curtains when we got back in that night the room was actually warm. This hotel is a lot cheaper than some in this area. We overcame the problems we had with the room so knowing the sort of problems we would encounter we would stay here again but I would pay the 25 euro's per night to upgrade to a deluxe room because it would still be cheaper than staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzahArmitageStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Apollo Museum hotel in March 2013. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon around 3pm and had to wait about a half hour to get into our room. Hotel is very busy with large groups checking in and out but I was very pleased with the front desk staff, very courteous and worked closely with housekeeping to get us into our room. To explain our wait, we required a triple room and the hotel does not have many rooms with 3 beds.
This was my third trip to Amsterdam and I was by far most pleased with this hotel. GREAT location, very close to the Museums, metro and a terrific, shopping, dining, entertainment area of the city. Tram ride into the central area took 10-15 minutes. Hop on Hop off bus has a stop right around the corner and a Canal boat tour is located just steps away from the hotel. In spite of all this activity the room was very quiet. We had a very good sized room with 3 twin beds. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small ( about the size of a cruise ship bathroom) but VERY Nice. Only thing we did not like was the opaque bathroom door. We prefer something that would offer a bit more privacy. They offered a nice breakfast in the morning, typical european type of buffet but including scrambled and hard boiled eggs
I heartily recommend this hotel and would stay there again should I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgirlRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, I am happy you enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to welcome from you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
250 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location for this hotel is fantastic. Easy access to trams, bus stops and right next door to the Rijkesmuseum and many other attractions.
Hotel is nice, clean but our room was very basic and amenities scarce, no coffee pot etc in the room. Typical Europe, our room was very very small but ok. We had a corner room over looking a main road and a canal and the Rijkesmuseum. Very noisy but that was ok with us. Amsterdam is a city that never sleeps. In the morning, we could hear our neighbors but again was not such an issue as I have seen others report.
Breakfast, if ordered prior is discounted and is actually pretty good, however, it would have been nice to have a little more hot food but can't really complain.
The staff was very helpful and very nice. Upon check in we were upgraded for free.
We would stay here again for the location alone!
Have stayed in better hotels but for the deal we recieved here and the location can't be beat.
Would give a 5 if a few more amenities in rooms. We love the coffee service in so many hotels and missed that here.

Room Tip: Be prepared for very small rooms, we were upgraded and still small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csbsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our great location. We do have coffee and tea facilities in the hotel but only on request. I am sorry this was not clear to you.
We are looking forward to welcome from you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was great for a city visit. Great breakfast, modern, all expected facilities.. Near bus stop / canal stop for city tours makes it easy to access all main attractions, plus right next door to Riksmuseum. Bus 178 from airport to Leidersplein only €4. Good Italian restaurant just round corner and tram 1, 2, or 5 to/from central station.

Room Tip: Basic room not big but has all u will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. And that you enjoye dour great location in the heart of Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you do.

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#166 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#86 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing