We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel in a great area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #204 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Apollo Museum hotel in March 2013. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon around 3pm and had to wait about a half hour to get into our room. Hotel is very busy with large groups checking in and out but I was very pleased with the front desk staff, very courteous and worked closely with housekeeping to get us into our room. To explain our wait, we required a triple room and the hotel does not have many rooms with 3 beds.
This was my third trip to Amsterdam and I was by far most pleased with this hotel. GREAT location, very close to the Museums, metro and a terrific, shopping, dining, entertainment area of the city. Tram ride into the central area took 10-15 minutes. Hop on Hop off bus has a stop right around the corner and a Canal boat tour is located just steps away from the hotel. In spite of all this activity the room was very quiet. We had a very good sized room with 3 twin beds. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small ( about the size of a cruise ship bathroom) but VERY Nice. Only thing we did not like was the opaque bathroom door. We prefer something that would offer a bit more privacy. They offered a nice breakfast in the morning, typical european type of buffet but including scrambled and hard boiled eggs
I heartily recommend this hotel and would stay there again should I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelgirlRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, I am happy you enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to welcome from you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,913 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location for this hotel is fantastic. Easy access to trams, bus stops and right next door to the Rijkesmuseum and many other attractions.
Hotel is nice, clean but our room was very basic and amenities scarce, no coffee pot etc in the room. Typical Europe, our room was very very small but ok. We had a corner room over looking a main road and a canal and the Rijkesmuseum. Very noisy but that was ok with us. Amsterdam is a city that never sleeps. In the morning, we could hear our neighbors but again was not such an issue as I have seen others report.
Breakfast, if ordered prior is discounted and is actually pretty good, however, it would have been nice to have a little more hot food but can't really complain.
The staff was very helpful and very nice. Upon check in we were upgraded for free.
We would stay here again for the location alone!
Have stayed in better hotels but for the deal we recieved here and the location can't be beat.
Would give a 5 if a few more amenities in rooms. We love the coffee service in so many hotels and missed that here.

Room Tip: Be prepared for very small rooms, we were upgraded and still small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csbsn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our great location. We do have coffee and tea facilities in the hotel but only on request. I am sorry this was not clear to you.
We are looking forward to welcome from you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was great for a city visit. Great breakfast, modern, all expected facilities.. Near bus stop / canal stop for city tours makes it easy to access all main attractions, plus right next door to Riksmuseum. Bus 178 from airport to Leidersplein only €4. Good Italian restaurant just round corner and tram 1, 2, or 5 to/from central station.

Room Tip: Basic room not big but has all u will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. And that you enjoye dour great location in the heart of Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you do.

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was wonderful for many reasons. It was in a great location in the city, just around the corner from all the designer shops and just the shopping district in general. There were lots of great museums and cafes close by as well. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us maps and directions which only enhanced our experience. We were in Amsterdam to experience New Year's and was not disappointed. The staff let us know where to go to see the best of the fireworks.

The room was great, and the bathroom was beautiful and fully renovated to modern standards. We were quite impressed. The only reason I am giving this a four and not a five is because of the noise factor in the hallways. The walls and door may have been paper because you could hear everything that was going on outside our door. This wasn't too much of a problem as we were there to celebrate New Year's and it wasn't as though we were looking for much relax time, but just something I felt I should note for anyone looking to stay here. Other than that though the room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. It was a bit pricey to stay here for my taste, but again we came for New Year's and we anticipated it.

Just a bit of advice, park outside the city and take the train in. There is a parking garage around the corner from the hotel but it is EXTREMELY expensive year round, plus you don't really want to drive in the city anyway with both car and bike traffic being so insane. There are tons of park and rides outside the city center so definitely take advantage of those.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Mrs Janee,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and I am happy that we could be a part of that.

I hope to welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you do.

Once again thank you for your kind words and kind regards,


Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel is bad hotel in many aspects.
Bad food, dirty rooms, rude staff...
Amsterdam is nice city but this hotel is wrong choice.
The most important of all is to watch your money.
Never give them any money in the name of deposit or whatever
Since when you checked out and get back to your country hotel stuff inform you that deposit will not be send back because this is an legitimate and authorised payment!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ozybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all my sincere apologies that we could not live up to your expectations and that we could not deliver the service you may and must expect from us.

It is correct that upon check in we ask for a creditcard authorisation or a deposit as a guarantee for any extra’s. The full deposit or the balance will be released/ given back upon check out. This is mentioned on all websites and confirmations and I think a standard policy in all hotel worldwide.

I hope everything is clear and resolved now if not please do not hesitate to contact me at all times.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks nice!, and at the begining wasnt too bad, we got a double room, traveling with kids thats a plus for thw peoce, almost too goosd to be true, the heater of the room was so lousy we were probably at 30F outside an inside maybe at 50F! They never brought the heaters until next morning! Then overloaded the power supply and we got a blackout in the room, very lousy, im writtig this while waiting for the maintanance guys, nobody shows up so far i hope they give us another room! Based on this experience i will not recomend this hotel chain

15  Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am sorry to see that we could not deliver the service you may expect from us. It was/ is indeed very cold in Amsterdam at the moment. I hope everything turned out well and that you were able to enjoy your stay after all! Could you please let me know which roomnumber you stayed so I can doublecheck if the heater is working as should be.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#140 of 375 in Amsterdam
565 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#103 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,752 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#131 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing