We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel, well positioned for museums” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #192 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel, well positioned for museums”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently, found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms although slightly on the small side were very clean and warm, you can set your own temperature and as it was minus 2 outside needed to warm up when you got back to hotel. Breakfast was great with a good choice and if you book it in advance, even just the day before its a good price compared to the restaurants around.
Its is in a very good location, near to the museums and Vondel Park, Leiden square is five minutes away where there are lots of places to eat and go for a drink. Really enjoyed the irish bar across the road for a drink kept the men happy with football on the tv.
The only thing negative I could say was we had paid in advance but they asked us for a £150 security deposit on room, which wasn't mentioned anywhere on our booking form, I can understand asking for this in case of damage to room but it was a shock when asked, luckily I had a card to use and didn't have to use my cash.
All in all hotel and staff were lovely, even supplying my mum and dad with coffee as on the day we were coming home there was a blizzard outside and they didn't want to go wandering out in the cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mrs Catherine,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in amsterdam. It may be needless to say that we do everything we can to make our guests stay as comortable as possible and it is always nice to read when the staff is positively mentioned. I am sure this will stimulate everybody to d even better.

My apologies that deposit was an unpleasant suprise. It is mentioned on your confirmation from the travelagent but neverthelss I can imagine that it is not ideal.

Once again thank you and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    882
    603
    280
    208
See reviews for
275
1,064
196
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

First time in Amsterdam and this hotel did not disappoint. Room a little small but spotlessly clean, (Room 230), Staff friendly and polite. Get bus 197 from airport for 4.00 euros - it only takes 25 mins and leaves you 2 mins from hotel!!
We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mr Peter,

Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for your kind words. I am just happy that you enjoyed Amsterdam and that we where able to have our share in it.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

WIth kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

As the title says, first time there and was happy with the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff will allow you to check in late or leave luggage after you check out and give you a wifi code.
Room was nice and clean and modern.
On a lighter note, the room door's peephole was for someone 6 feet tall but the towels provided were for someone under 5 feet tall!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yipeekaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your stay with us and for sharng your experience online.

I sincerely hope you had a great stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, always nice to hear.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel.

WIth kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in feb 2013. The hotel is nice and clean and in a good location, cery close to the main shopping area and on the same street as all the desiger shops and next to tbe blue canal tour company and the enterance to the vondelpark.
On arriving there was quite a que of people waiting to check in which took a while, but on checking in we were upgraded to a junior sweet on the top floor as it was my fiancees birthday that weekend! We had only paid for a standard room so this was good.
Free wifi throughout the hotel was a bonis as we were able to use this to look for places to visit whole we were in our room, and plan out our trips. All in all very pleased

Helpful?
Thank joeayre1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mr Ayre,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great birthday.

Once again thank you and hope to see welcome you again soon.

WIth kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I were given this trip, by our children, for our 10 year anniversary( we are in our 60's) First, I would like to thank LLUIS and the rest of the staff for all of their help and patience We arrived at 8 in the morning and Luis had a room for us so we could check in earlt and get a nap. We did not have adapters and he gave us ones to use. (You are charged if you don't return them.) We asked for and got a coffee pot so we could make coffee in the morning The location was perfect.,. museums. Leidisplein area,shopping, transportation. I read comments about the small rooms, but they were no smaller that ones I have stayed in in Spain, London, Prague and Portugal. The breakfasts were great, and a bargain compared to food at other venues.. The staff was also helpful in directing us to buses, trams, restaurants, trios, and could book them for us at discounted rates. Beds were comfy and rooms clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debidepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all congratulations with your ten years anniversary. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we where able to contribute to celebrate this milestone.

Also thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. All of us and in your case especially Luis always appreciate these comments and makes us want to do even more for our guests.

I hope to welcome you again for the next celebration.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front office manager Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has a top-notch staff who are knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I doubt that I have ever stayed in a place with a staff that is so friendly, warm and polite. Comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Wonderful location.

Room Tip: The staff will accommodate your request as best as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbfmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of the entire staff thank you very much for your kind words. We always strive for the best possible service and I am sure that this feedback will stimulate the team to do even better!

Hope to welcome you again in the future!

With Kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendee, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arrival, the welcome I received was fun and personal instantly making me feel at home. The service throughout my stay lived up to the same standards - Amazing, and not at all what I have come to expect in large busy cities. The room had a fantastic view over the canal. My room was nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed.....so comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was very modern and well lit.
Excellent choice of food for breakfast.........I will definitely be back.
Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mrs Aine,

First of all thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Also thank you for your kind words, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and had a good stay in our hotel. It may be needless to say that we will do anything we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and it is always nice to hear that this cames out.

Hope to welcome you again in the future!

With Kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum Amsterdam City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#164 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#139 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing