We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small as a daisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #202 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Small as a daisy.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Positives -great location, clean and good b-fast buffet. Negatives- Misinformed when our room would be ready had to wait an additional 4 hours from the time stated by the staff at check in.
Room extremely small, the bathroom was so small that you could shower use the toilet and shave over the sink at the same time. Went to use the shower and I NEARLY BROKE THE GLASS SHOWER DOOR ON THE TOILET, how do you explain that to the wife.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    949
    664
    310
    233
See reviews for
312
1,156
207
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We made the mistake of checking in late on a night when the hotel was fully booked although we had phoned ahead to advise of late check-in. When we arrived we were told that the only room left with a double bed (as requested) rather than twins was actually a three bed room but that we could have the free upgrade. The person who checked us in was not friendly or particularly helpful and didn't want to answer our questions. Our 'upgrade' room turned out to be on the ground floor - actually below street level with the windows small and high up and non-opening. Noise was significant at this level from road traffic and people walking past outside. The room was drab, lighting was very poor , the furniture looked like flat pack and in addition the carpet was wet around the bed, on the window side and at the foot of the bed poorly covered up with a rug. On the positive side the bathroom was clean and actually the best part of the room. Breakfast was good and the location was also very good. When it came to check out a different person was on duty and we related to him that the carpet was wet and he did throw in breakfast for us as recompense. Would we stay there again - possibly because the location is convenient for the RAI exhibition centre but we would ensure that the room was up not down stairs and that we checked in early enough to get a proper double.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank FranJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed this hotel in the middle of August. Got good discount when reserved from hotels.com. Rooms are quite small but nicely decorated and from our room there were nice canal view. In the room there was TV, minibar (of course - overpriced) and air conditioning. Bathroom was one of the smallest that I have ever seen. Tram stop was 5 minutes walk away and Leidsplein also. Breakfast was quite expensive (about 10€/day). Long queue when checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the hotel it was very clean and we had our towels and sheets changed daily. It was in an ideal location right next to leidsplein and 10 min walk to Rembrandtplein. I would highly recommend Anne franks house and rijksmuseum don't go to the Van Gogh exhibition thought its not the real paintings they are replica pictures an its €15 which is far to expensive to not see the real thing. Gaussian diamond was a good tour as well which you get free on hop on hop off your buses. I would recommend the grasshopper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The best thing I enjoyed about this hotel is the location. It sits across from one of the canals and the evening site is beautiful. The hotel is close to some attractions but not all; however, the bus routes are just one block over. You are a block away from the Rijksmuseum, about a slow steady 10 minute walk from the "I AMsterdam" sign, the Van Gogh museum, a 5 minute walk from the Holland Casino and a nice market/square off of Leidseplein just on the other side of the casino. I forgot the name of the square but it is beautiful in the Nov/Dec.

The hotel itself was clean. The staff spoke English and catered to our needs. I did not have any negative experiences with them, though, I did not have an issue arise while staying there. The room was clean as well but it was quite small. Once you enter, all you had was the TV dresser, a desk, and the bed. There was small area on the floor that was unoccupied big enough for a regular sized person to do sit-ups. It is just an example of how much available room there was in our room, I don't do sit-ups on vacation. Luckily it was just my wife and I and, honestly, we really didn’t care...we were in Amsterdam after all! I am sure if you go with a larger group you will get a bigger room. Our room was cheap, but that is probably why we got such a small room. You get what you pay for. The restroom and shower were decently clean. It was also small in there as well.

One last thing.... they offered free internet... always a plus!

Happy Travellings!

Room Tip: There is only one elevator, you might want to stay at a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean but very small room let down by the following:-

On return to the room on the first evening it became apparent that there was no remote control for the tv and that there was no way of knocking the tv off to get some rest, we phoned reception to complain but no one came to the room in the next 30 minutes. It was only resolved by a trip down to reception.

Batteries to the safe door needed to be replaced on Sunday but no one was available to undertake this until Monday when we left.

Free wifi did not work at all on the first floor ( not even a signal) when we complained to reception we were told it was a problem with apple products on their wifi. We had no problem with any other free hotspots that weekend and I believe it was just an excuse.

During the 3 days we stayed at the hotel there was a vacume cleaner left in the 1st floor corridor which was a trip hazard and in addition to his one night there was also an ironing board and iron there also making it awkward to pass with bags. This was inconvenient at best dangerous at worst.

Hotel staff need to sharpen up their act and get these basic items sorted.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#159 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
944 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing