We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #203 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Easy walk to everything...or tram if ur lazy.

We were supposed to get a triple room but there was an error and my mate ended up sleeping on the floor for a night. We were blind so it wasn't the end of the world. They apologized in the morning that they hadnt brought the 3rd bed and upgraded us. They also took care of us for another booking we made later that's week. However...sleeping on the floor is borderline unacceptable.

Overall I would definitely recommend based on value ad location

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwebb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,871 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October 2012. I would not stay there again, and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were nice and helpful, but that does not incline me to recommend this hotel. The first room we were given ( a twin ) was so small that you could not negoiate between the wall and bed without going sideways. There were 3 blood smears on the wall, and small black ants in the bathroom. We asked for, and got a "Deluxe Room", for an extra 25 Euro per night. Yes, it was bigger- but could not open bathroom door without hitting a bed. Dingy carpeting and draperies, room sloppily maintained. Black ants in bathroom, musty,mouldy smell when bathroom tap was turned on. When the room was cleaned the smell of the cleaners used was so pungent that we had to keep the windows constantly open. All in all, when we use the Best Western brand we expect a level of hotel and service that is clearly lacking at this hotel. Too bad- with a little TLC this hotel could be good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us, I sincerely hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Thank you for placing a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. This is not the standard you may expect from us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback regarding the rooms and cleaningcompany to improve our services.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at all times.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review.

With kind regards,

Gonul Uyanik
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked it online for one day initially, but then extended each day for about 4 days.
The room was really tiny. but it was clean and bathroom was also very clean.
The location is just perfect. Next Rijksmuseum facing the canal.
The Central is just 20 min walk.
Its got wi-fi as well, in the rooms.
Amsterdam is a very walkable city and this hotel is in a quiet location, away from the crowded Central area, but at the same time not very far.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are tiny. try delux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasudha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived there from a cruise and the room was as small as our stateroom! Bathroom door a little transparent! That being said, the location was great, the staff was great, the bed was comfortable, very clean. I was given complementary coffee to go in the morning. Excellent TV and wi fi...lovely quiet neighborhood.Bus to airport a couple of blocks away. Go back in a heartbeat, and recommend to anyone...rooms in historic hotels tend to be small...

Room Tip: ask for bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked for 4 nights - upon check in to a standard room to be shocked by the tiny space. The bathroom was really tight. Decided to upgrade to a deluxe and it was a world of a difference. Located a few doors away, the room was at least 1.5times bigger though the bath was not much different. But it was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful. Nicely located near the famous museums. A stone's throw away from luxury brand shopping. Good chinese restaurants at Dam Square. Attractions are easily accessible via the tram services. The nearest tram stop was just 3minutes away from the hotel (about 200meters or so). If you are planning on a few nights stay, its worthwhile to get a tram pass. Don't miss Keukenhoff during spring!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QinZir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The room was average and nothing more.most beds are twin and not comfortable, rooms and toilets are small. The staff did his best when we wanted to change the rooms, though there were problems with the tv which we informed 3 times but no one fixed it. The hotel was fully booked during our stay do service was not quick and satisfying . The location is wonderful!! Lots of trams near by to central station and very close to vondelpark and leidsplein . The perfect location in Amsterdam

Thank Hillagar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#139 of 373 in Amsterdam
558 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing