We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good price and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #198 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A good and quiet location near the center of Amsterdam, close to a river and museum sqaure, easy to find restaurants and coffee shops and bars, night life till early morning. Tram ways and buses (also to airport). I stayed there 3 nights, even though the room was 0 floor and can see the street if i open the curtain, it didnt bother me and not noisy. The room was not very big but is clean and convenient to use. Free wifi and there is a bar in the lobby till 1:00 a.m., if you want food delivery in the night they can make pizza and takes about half an hour or a little more. There is safe box in the room and radio for fun, they clean the room and make in order on time. Oppsite the road of the hotel there's one street with all famous brands for shopping. Anyway you can have nice room, nice view, convenience for life. Breakfast is good with many things, bread, cheese, ham, cakes, eggs, fruits, juice, coffee... Very busy hotel and I enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candyvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited the hotel for IBC 2012 and the company I work for had about 8 rooms here. In all I think we were happy, the prices are always extortionate for hotels at this time so the ‏‏‏€200+ a night was actually reasonably good. The hotel is well located near the museums, a couple of minutes walk from the Leidsplein, 6-7 minutes to the Heineken brewery and maybe 20 minutes to Dam Sq by foot. The hotel is quite small but it's clean and the bar is nice and it does a good continental breakfast. The rooms are fine, everyone in our group said the rooms are small but adequate BUT do be careful, my room was on the 4th floor and was by a slope in the hallway, this meant walls sloping inwards, this made the room even smaller still and meant that I couldn't stand in the shower with the cubicle door closed or close the bathroom door whilst on the toilet. This however was the only downside, so just ask for a room away from the slope and you should be fine.

Wireless was free and a bit slow but it did the job and the staff were generally helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Grzegorz S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Apollo museum is a best western hotel located in a very attractive location in Amsterdam. It has Rijks museum right behind it and leidsplien 200m from it.
The rooms we stayed in were priced at about £100 but the room size was very small and had a small single window to it. The air conditioning isnt very effective and we had to sleep with a open window to cool the room.
The staff on the contrary are very helpful and polite(even guided us to Bull dog ;)
If you have to stay here do go to front of rijksmuseum and get a pic with I Amsterdam sign it does give you a memory.

Room Tip: Dont pick roomson 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullasishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I simply loved this hotel, I couldn't even imagine how good it would be. I got a wonderful price on a website, but I intended to get this hotel anyway. It's just a few minutes from the museumplein and the I amsterdam monument. Great breakfast, great great bathroom. The internet is fair. The location is simply perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiviaMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is located within minutes of the Reiksmuseum.. the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. I am 2m tall and a simple telephone call arranged a King Size bed. "Floor" one of the
reception staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about buses/trains/trams and restaurants.

The biggest tips to any one travelliung is DO NOT GET A ROOM ON THE GROUND FLOOR!!!

Bus 197 runs from Schippoll to the hotel and costs 4 Euros...the bus runs every 15 minutes and takes approx 40 minutes to get to MUSEUMPLEIN which is literally round the corner to the hotel. (Trams 5 and 2 stop here too)

A good hotel but breakfast is expensive and they charge an extra 3 euros for scrambled eggs!!!

Bathroom in our opinion is small but in our room the design just fine.

Remember to ask for coffee making machine it is included in the price.

Room Tip: Any room above second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDANDWILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 372 in Amsterdam
541 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,795 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $100 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing