We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel beds could be a little better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #200 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    929
    648
    299
    226
See reviews for
303
1,132
202
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Apollo museum is a best western hotel located in a very attractive location in Amsterdam. It has Rijks museum right behind it and leidsplien 200m from it.
The rooms we stayed in were priced at about £100 but the room size was very small and had a small single window to it. The air conditioning isnt very effective and we had to sleep with a open window to cool the room.
The staff on the contrary are very helpful and polite(even guided us to Bull dog ;)
If you have to stay here do go to front of rijksmuseum and get a pic with I Amsterdam sign it does give you a memory.

Room Tip: Dont pick roomson 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullasishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I simply loved this hotel, I couldn't even imagine how good it would be. I got a wonderful price on a website, but I intended to get this hotel anyway. It's just a few minutes from the museumplein and the I amsterdam monument. Great breakfast, great great bathroom. The internet is fair. The location is simply perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviaMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is located within minutes of the Reiksmuseum.. the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. I am 2m tall and a simple telephone call arranged a King Size bed. "Floor" one of the
reception staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about buses/trains/trams and restaurants.

The biggest tips to any one travelliung is DO NOT GET A ROOM ON THE GROUND FLOOR!!!

Bus 197 runs from Schippoll to the hotel and costs 4 Euros...the bus runs every 15 minutes and takes approx 40 minutes to get to MUSEUMPLEIN which is literally round the corner to the hotel. (Trams 5 and 2 stop here too)

A good hotel but breakfast is expensive and they charge an extra 3 euros for scrambled eggs!!!

Bathroom in our opinion is small but in our room the design just fine.

Remember to ask for coffee making machine it is included in the price.

Room Tip: Any room above second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FREDANDWILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The rooms we were given were at the basement. And they were very very small. Small is even to big for the room. And in the BASEMENT. Are you kidding me. The location is the best part. In front of the museum square. The bathroom was awfully planned. Don't know if that is how our is done in the Netherlands. So no more comments on that.
The front desk was pretty friendly. But waaaaaaaaay tooooooo pricey for the value they offer.

Moreover from most of the time we didn't get the internet connection. It never went more than 2 bars. But as mentioned it was more or less stuck at 0 or 1.

Hope u food it useful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atanu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times before and are very happy with all aspects. only issue was safe wouldnt work and wasnt fixed after repoting this. Great location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#154 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing