We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hipster Heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volkshotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volkshotel
Ranked #47 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hipster Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I found this newly opened hotel on a search for unique accommodation.

It is a little out of the central ring (three subway stops) but I preferred being away from all of the tourists anyway.

The lobby, bars, dining and rooftop are all great social spots. Cool design and comfortable. The rooms are quirky, and while some points are great - heaps of storage space and the loft in the quad room, and fabulous big windows, some are not for everyone - the clear glass that divides the shower and toilet from the main room in the double (i'm not prudish at all and stil thought it was a tough call), and a bit of thump thump on the 6th floor from the nightclub on the 7th.

The beds are comfortable, though our sheets were a little scratchy (felt like only about 25 thread count), and the breakfast was pretty yummy with bacon and pancakes as well as the usual cereal and bread fare.

They seem to be ironing out a few other kinks while they are still building, and as it's a little off-centre I just accept the fact you can see the men's urinal from the rooftop hot-tub/sauna area (even if it's just weird).

Having said all of that, it is good value for what you get, and if you want somewhere that is not a standard hotel motel, then this is it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    350
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
124
371
52
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Volkshotel do things their own way! Which was why it was such a great experience to stay there. I loved the design of the place, and the staff, who were so so personable and made us feel very welcome.

There were a few small details missing within the room as mentioned in other reviews, but really only finishing touches. When you check in the first thing you should do is go for a cocktail on the roof terrace, and in the morning breakfast at Stek across the road! If you like Volkshotel, pick up one of their own illustrated maps of the east, which has all the hotel's recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodMoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

First visit to Amsterdam, three fab nights spent in Volks Hotel, originally booked for two nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night, recommended by our son and girlfriend as they live a street away. A little bit of work still goin on, finishing touches only. Definitely brings a whole new meaning to the word "Hotel " and after a lot of laughing when we saw the shower and bathroom concept , we will be staying at this hotel EVERY time we visit our son, FANTASTIC..... Hired our bikes less than two minutes away and metro only a couple of minutes walk from hotel door into Amsterdam Central with another connection to the airport. As for the staff , all young and very happy about their work, helped us with everything. So thank you to everybody working in this wonderful new hotel for making our first trip to Amsterdam a very very happy memory. Hope to be back with you in October. Thank you.

Room Tip: All are special !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kymm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked this hotel with the realisation that it was brand new (opened 27/06/14) and not quite finished, so will still be a construction site.. but it added to the atmosphere and experience. Walking into the hotel after hours of travelling with backpacks and blistering heat, I felt instantly refreshed and energised.
We got it at a great price: £99 for 3 beds 2 nights (inc 1 breakfast)
The hotel had easy check in and out and had all the essentials, including a hot tub, sauna and an amazing rooftop! What more could you need!
We didn't eat tea at the restaurant but had a amazing breakfast, felt like 5 star dinning.
The staff were sooo polite and helpful to finding attractions etc and you getting a amazing graphic map. As we English are terrible at speaking any other language they can probably speak it better than us.

In conclusion VolksHotel has a great place, tho it isn't 100% ready yet but I knew that before I got here. They're 8 minutes on the metro/underground to Central Amsterdam. Near a supermarket for the cheapos buying breakfast & lunch like we did, and next to a bike rental place.

We're so glad we stayed at VolksHotel, a hot tub is exactly whats need after a long day of backpacking, interRailing and seeing the sights.
I will be recommending this hotel and will certainly stay again.

Regards,
Callum Scott, Tom Hawthorn, Mark Woodbridge
xx

Room Tip: Whilst the place is under construction you may get woken at about 10am by building noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CallumScott94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I booked this hotel prior to completion date for my 30th with my boyfriend and our friends. It stared upon booking that the hotel would be completed and open by June. We arrived at the hotel early to be greeted by a building site in the foyer with hammering and drilling and the reception staff being unable to hear us. We left our bags and returned at 4pm to be informed that our room was not ready. We wondered around the hotel and had drinks at the bar area on the ground floor. We where then informed that the only available toilets where on the 8th floor. The men if the group informed us that their hand basins were out of order and there was a note on the floor advising them to use the sink in the ladies toilet!
After waiting a further 30min we where given the keys to our rooms.
Rooms are small and are 'completed' however the amount of concrete visible makes the room feel incomplete.
The pictures on the website show a picture covering the shower glass. There was no picture at all, the shower and toilet are directly next to the double bed and you can literally see directly through to the
toilet!!
Upon returning to the hotel both evenings we where questioned by a club doorman who we where. In both occasions we had to show our room key in order to gain access to the 2 lifts available. The hotel has a club on the 8th floor and quests appear to have to join the growing queue if clubbers in order to access a lift to your room.
When checking out if the hotel, we where informed we had not paid our bill. I explained we had booked through a website and given our credit card details therefore felt we had paid in full. The receptionist explained that they only request our details but do not take payment until checkout. This was never explained to us (lesson learnt to read the small print on future bookings). Luckily I had a credit card and had to pay for both rooms. I will be checking all previous statements to ensure no payment was made!
Location is 4 stops on the metro from central station. Metro was very easy to use but last train appeared to be 12:20am.
No other shops, cafés restaurants appeared to be located by the hotel, we travelled into the centre daily.
I am aware that there are teething problems with every new business and new build in however I was under the impression that the hotel would be complete so to turn up to a building site was a but off putting with builders roaming each floor. I doubt I would stay in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LCain1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke H, Public Relations Manager at Volkshotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi L,

So sorry to hear we didn't meet up to your expectations.
Our staff did try to inform all of our guests upfront about a slight delay in the construction work, and the fact some of the work still needed to be finished after opening. Maybe this e-mail didn't reach you?

The work that still needed to be done also involved the public toilets and the coverage of the glass bathroom dividers. All will be fixed soon.

We're sure your credit card won't be double charged for the payment of the rooms. If for some reason this turns out to be otherwise, please contact our reception.

Although you have your doubts about attending our hotel again, we do hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Best,

Janneke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I booked this hotel knowing that it was brand new and not quite finished. It is going to be an amazing place and very popular as the years go on.
The hotel has an adventurous vibe and very friendly staff, easy check in and out and well priced food. What more could you need!

There are just small things missing like a bedroom bin, a bath mat for the floor, the printed privacy screen for the glass between the bathroom and bedroom. Large screws sticking out of the wall which we used as towel holders but I assume is going to be for a bathroom shelf.
I had thought the air con didn't work but it would seem it's synced with the windows and won't work unless they are firmly closed, a very sensible design but not something I'd ever come across.

The bar is great and whilst we were there we got to celebrate the World Cup quarter final, we got out of the lift to go out and were greeted by a very long queue of locals waiting to get up to our bar. We didn't realise this place was so popular and very quickly changed our plans and went back to the 7th floor (without queuing, thanks to the kind reception lady as we were residents).

We didn't get as far as the hot tub on the 8th floor.

Overall this is a great place, it isn't 100% ready yet but I knew that before I got here. They offered an unbeatable price and they're 8 minutes on the metro to Central amsterdam, I took a chance with Volkshotel and I'm so glad I did. I will be recommending this hotel and will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: There is a small amount of traffic noise in the front rooms but it wasn't anything to wake us up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue25274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke H, Public Relations Manager at Volkshotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much! We're looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a great place!!!!
Love it from top to bottom!!!
Music, art, food, drinks, workspaces, hot tubs, sauna, mixed crowd and a very good creative vibe!!!
This is what Amsterdam needed!!! I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Public Relations Manager at Volkshotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks so much, Jeanne. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urban Lodge Hotel
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volkshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volkshotel

Property: Volkshotel
Address: Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volkshotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volkshotel was once a newspaper headquarters, now home to 172 hotel rooms ranging from cosy hideouts to huge hangouts. Stay in a bed with a view or a unique room designed by our creative folk. Raw materials of wood, glass and concrete and always a hint of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Volkshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing