We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Ranked #53 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leetonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam and this B&B was very conveniently located in a nice area. We have stayed in this area before and decided to try a B&B. This was a nice choice. Service was wonderful and room was spacious and clean. Steps are a bit harrowing, have to be very careful, I took a spill down a flight as they are very narrow and small and at steep angle. Otherwise, loved the place and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay here as it's exactly the kind of B&B experience we were looking for - relaxed and welcoming and rather like having our own apartmnet in a great part of the city. We had the balcony room and it was huge with a great balcony with a charming view onto the backs of the houses and a ballet school and also lovely and quiet. Loved the way the room fridge is stocked with complementary goodies and has it's own coffee and tea machine. Breakfast is DIY with the table laid for you and your own shelf in the communal fridge stacked full of ham, cheese and eggs along with an amazing selection of breads and cakes. It really was perfect and De Pijp is a great area to explore with fantastic restaurants, cafes and bars just a stone's throw away - Jasper leaves a handy local guide to help you out but you'd be equally fine just wandering around and finding somewhere you liked the look of.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alegria6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

You can find wide and brigh accomodation at few tram stops from the inner city, and at 10 minutes walking from Van Gogh and Rijiskmuseums. But above all the kind attention of kasper and tom will be the real asset - and make different this B&B comparing with all the others we visited.

It was my birthday when we arrived; we have find 2 slice of fruit & cream cackes in the fridg. just a couple of hour after!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D. C.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

This is a very clean, friendly and comfortable place to stay. The top room (on the fourth floor walk up) is bright and spacious, and has all the amenities one needs--very comfortable double bed, good reading lights and alarm clock, flat-screen TV with lots of foreign channels, internet access and refrigerator stocked with wine, beer, juice and water (all free). The room is adjacent to a living/dining room with kitchen, also with refrigerator, TV and free computer, so it's like having your own apartment, though the living room is to be shared with another room of guests downstairs. Jasper is extremely friendly and helpful, and gave us a full briefing of the apartment and the neighborhood when we arrived, and frequently checked in to see if everything is okay.

My husband had a foot injury during the trip, and I had a sinking feeling when I saw the narrow, steep stairs leading up to the room when we arrived. But Jasper kindly carried our luggage up to the room, and down again when we left, so it wasn't much of a problem--just a good exercise.

It's in a residential neighborhood populated by young professional types. It's very quiet, yet have great restaurants and stores. It is overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

This is a great B&B with big rooms, nicely furnished with everything you need. Walking distance to museums, markets, and easy trams to center of town or RAI or university. Jasper is a great host, full of helpful advice re: trams, taxis, restaurants. It was like staying in an apartment, with the well stocked refrigerator, computer and internet access.. Nice neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

This is a great place! The owner (Jasper) is a really great guy, helpfull and friendly. We really feld at home. They give you your own keys, so you can access the apartment whenever you want, and the breakfast hours are between 6 and 12! In the livingroom is a computer with free internet access and skype which we used a lot. The livingroom is shared with another room, but most of the time we had the livingroom for ourselves.
Our room was a spacious quiet room with very comfortable beds and a nice sunny balcony. In the room is a fridge filled with wine (rose) , cola, orangejuice and beer, all without charge. Wifi is also available in the room, but we didnot have a laptop with us, so that's why we used the computer upstairs. There is also a coffee machine in the room, a hairdryer, airco , etc. Nothing I can think off was missing. Only disadvantage I can think of would be the steep stairs (there is no elivator), so this place is not ideal for older or disabled people. (But the staff was very helpfull carrying our suitcases upstairs).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButterflyBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed in the balcony room at Adriaen Van Ostade. We loved it. There was a refrigerator, iron/ironing board, flat screen TV, coffee/tea maker, cups/plates, and alarm clock in our room. On the top level, there is a lounge and kitchen area with free access to internet and kitchen facilities. Jasper Van Capelle, one of the owners, was extemely helpful and polite. He had a guide to the neighborhood printed for us with recommendations on local restaurants, the nearest laundry, grocery store, and post office. There was even a book called the "Undutchables" there for us to become acquainted with Nederlands culture.

There are only two units in the whole bed and breakfast and each unit has a floor to itself. This makes it very quiet and cozy. The rooms are a great size with large windows. The balcony room has a great place to sit out when the weather is warm.

This is a great place to stay if you want to live in Amsterdam like the locals. The area of De Pijp is not very touristy. It's an area where everyday people live and work. Many of the local restaurants do not have English menus but most people speak English and are very helpful if your Dutch is not so good. There are good local cafes and and great places to eat.

In terms of tourist attractions, the Museumpleine, where the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museums are located are in walking distance. You simply follow Ceinturbaan around to Van Baerlestraat to get there. There are trams that go through there regularly and its easy to get around the city from there.

I would recomned this place to anyone going to Amsterdam. Any drawbacks? I tend to prefer my rooms to be a little warm so I found it a little chilly in there. Other than that, it's awesome!

  • Liked — I liked the privacy. It felt like renting an apartment rather than staying at a bed and breakfast.
  • Disliked — It was a little chilly in there for me. But I'm originally from California so I like it warm.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownBeauty0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#43 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#31 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amsterdam Furnished Apartments
Amsterdam Furnished Apartments
#45 of 216 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#41 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
#113 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Property: Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing