We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Home away from home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Ranked #49 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I greatly enjoyed my stay at Adriaen van Ostade. The place was conveniently located to tram lines and walking distance to the Albert Cuyp Market, which is a fun place to check out. I greatly appreciated Jasper's help in navigating the local area, he gave me some recommendations of places to visit and also helped me figure out my transportation via train back to the airport.

The place itself is very comfortable and like a home away from home, there were books, movies, guidebooks and snacks for guests. The room was clean and had a mini-fridge and a very comfortable bed.

I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting Amsterdam. The neighborhood is great and easy to get to, and the place is wonderful to stay at.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blustar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
57
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jasper is the most friendly and accomodating host who is very happy to have long chats with you. Nothing is too much trouble and he provides a wonderful array of food for breakfast. I love the fact that the room is fully serviced to have your breakfast when ever you want, but it is also spacious and well lit. Every little detail from the abundance of snacks to a welcome bottle of wine makes the visit a real treat. We would definitely book again when next we come to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonO_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here in March, and really enjoyed my new found home away from home. I arrived after a 9 hour flight from Canada, and used the directions given to me by Jasper. It only took 20 Minutes to get from the airport to the front door of the B+B. I was met by Jasper and was made to feel at home right away.
My room was the balcony room, which was nice and bright, With a very comfortable bed. It has a small fridge, and sink, toaster etc. And was already stocked with beer, wine, pop, bread, cheese, and some sandwich meat, which was a very nice surprise. On the top floor, was a very nice little kitchen and small lounge, that had a TV, and a computer with a printer, also a very nice surprise. There is a very good selection of Amsterdam information. The B+B is a little south of the city center, which makes it nice and quiet. It is very easy to get anywhere in the city by the tram, which is only a 5 minute walk away, or about a 25 minute walk to Dam Square.
And then there is Jasper. I can honestly say I have never met such a gracious host. It quickly becomes clear that he is passionate about his home and his city. There is nothing that I wanted to know that he could not help me with.
I stayed here for 3 days at the start of my trip, and for 2 days at the end. My only regret is I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

B&B was really cosy and impeccably clean. The hotel has its own bikes for 5 eur/day only. Breakfast was really good, even for italian standarts. And finally Jasper gave us a lot of useful advises! We would definitely return there in case of another trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice. It faces the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy-felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here for three days and was delighted with the accomodation and the entire experience. Jasper is a great guy who goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable, he is helpful with everything from things to see, how to get there, what to eat...in short you don't need a guide book for Amsterdam when you stay at Adriaen! Stayed in the top room (they have two rooms the other one is at level two with attached balcony); now where do i start with advantages: 1) Comes with attached (clean) bathrooms (2) large and very tidy room - the mattress is expensive Hotel quality. (3) Well stocked fridge with beer/chips/juices etc. all on the house! (4) Great location - is away from the loud party squares but close enought to walk to these places, else you take tram 24 which takes you to Heineken, Museum square, Dam Square and finally central station (5) Living room - access to another TV, internet, printer, couch, whatever else you need if you get thown out of the room by your partner :). (6) breakfast at 5 Euros is strongly reccomended, consists of meats/cereal/bread/cheese/juice/breads/tea/coffee.
Only word of caution is to people who have problem climbing stairs - not recommended as you will find it diffciult to use the steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker - room with balcony. Else, the top room as it gives yo direct accesss to the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regulus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Jasper is just a lovely guy, so helpful and sociable and generous. We had self-service breakfast and Jasper provided varied, good quality food. He also tidied away all the dishes and food afterwards. The bedroom and sitting room were clean and comfortable and the fridge in our room was kept well-stocked with complimentary juice, beer, wine, tea, coffee and snacks. We really enjoyed this luxury B and B! Jasper was an excellent host!

Room Tip: The balcony room and hte top room were both very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaynemwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I loved our little (2 rooms) bed and breakfast, but it was about 45 narrow, steep steps up to the first room. Not for those with any conditions that impair you. However; I enjoyed the true Dutch flavor of the building. Ours was the lower room and when the weather is warm, the balcony would be wonderful. Also, our bath and shower had just been remodeled and I loved the shower. We had plenty of room to spread out luggage for 2. but Jaspher needs to install more hooks near the hand basin for wet face towels. Everything was either within walking distance or a short bus ride away. We had a choice of local restaurants ( Bazar was close) and a grocery was just around the corner. The computer was a blessing since I don't really like reading and sending e-mail off my Kindle. I'd stay there again if I get to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsd1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#42 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#30 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amsterdam Furnished Apartments
Amsterdam Furnished Apartments
#43 of 216 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Weber
Hotel Weber
#41 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
#112 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Property: Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Address: Van Ostadestraat 66, 1072 TA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing