We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really pleasant stay, but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats
Save
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats to your Saves list
Ranked #55 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really pleasant stay, but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in the Picasso Room (two single beds) and 2 nights in the Chagall room (1 double bed). Both places are behind the bike shop. The toilet and showers are in separate locations, each down a little hall. The Chagall room (one double bed) has a sink inside the room. The bike shop is about a 10-minute walk from Central Station, and near the edge of the Jordaan area, so the location was good. It felt secure. It was also well-priced at 60 Euros a night.

The staff couldn’t be nicer. Marne gave me a map and told me about special events in the city. There was a beautiful croissant every morning, sourced, they said, from Le Petit Gateau up the street. The first morning, it arrived slightly warm, and was probably the best croissant I’d ever tasted, including the ones in Paris.

Negatives: wifi can be a little patchy. The location of the shower and toilets can be a little inconvenient. But most of all- the noise (not their fault). The walls are thin and the wooden floors make a lot of noise. The two doubles are next to each other, and I could hear my neighbors rustle their blankets. I could also hear snoring from upstairs. I think I woke my neighbors when I used my sink. Thankfully, the rooms look out onto a courtyard in the back, so there is no street noise. Cash only.

I wouldn’t hesitate to rent from them again- though I might choose a different location. It sounds like some of the other rooms/ apartments offered by Frederic Rent-a-Bike are really nice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
61
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Recently stayed 5 nights in the Chagall room - it was like staying with friends! The hosts were helpful and ready to make suggestions for where to eat and what to see. It is a very short walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station located on a canal in the very fun Jordaan neighborhood - no shortage of shops, restaurants and cafes. There are no kitchen facilities, but there is a tea kettle in each room and every morning the croissant fairy leaves a treat for you! Just one street over there are all the cafes, restaurants and bars you could ever want, and also two two grocery stores (one upscale organic - one regular). I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for four nights in late April. It happened to be the weekend of Kings Day which was interesting to say the least. The boat is great. This obviously isn't a traditional lodging so expect low ceilings, a small toilet, no shower room door, etc. What you should expect is a totally unique and authentic space in an absolutely perfect location. Jordaan is the best area of Amsterdam and this boat is nearly in the middle of it. Plenty of food options are easily walkable although I would highly suggest using a bike to get around. The boat has fully functioning electricity and water and it does not move around in the water. The bedrooms are different but cosy and very quiet. The wheel room upstairs makes for a perfect space to have a drink before going out or just hang out and watch the city go by. We spend probably 90% of the time we were not asleep in this room. My wife and I have been coming to Amsterdam at least once a year for about six years and always wanted to stay on a house boat but we're never able to due to days or minimum stay restrictions. We're so glad we were able to grab this one and would absolutely stay here or on one of their other boats again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Frederic's for 3 nights with our 2 year old. the apartment is very conveniently located, has a great view on the canal from the spatious lounge. we found the place very comfortable, the staff was helpful with tips and directions. I happened to forget a personal item in the apartment before leaving, and they shipped it to me in the UK within a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've stayed with Frederic a few times now, each time in different rooms/apartments/houseboats, and each time we've had a great experience. This time we stayed in the Picasso Room and it was a perfect base for the weekend - clean quiet and good beds. The location is perfect - right between Centraal Station and the Jordaan, with anything you need right nearby on Haarlemmerstraat. Marne and everyone else were super nice and welcoming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly fair, efficient. What more do you need? You are in very good hands renting their bike. Overall just great guys. 15 Euros a day is really a fair price and they give you lots of free advice too. Fun to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#250 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#78 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#48 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#58 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats

Property: Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats
Address: Brouwersgracht 78, 1013 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito," all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing