We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay on House Boat V” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike
Ranked #54 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stay on House Boat V”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for four nights in late April. It happened to be the weekend of Kings Day which was interesting to say the least. The boat is great. This obviously isn't a traditional lodging so expect low ceilings, a small toilet, no shower room door, etc. What you should expect is a totally unique and authentic space in an absolutely perfect location. Jordaan is the best area of Amsterdam and this boat is nearly in the middle of it. Plenty of food options are easily walkable although I would highly suggest using a bike to get around. The boat has fully functioning electricity and water and it does not move around in the water. The bedrooms are different but cosy and very quiet. The wheel room upstairs makes for a perfect space to have a drink before going out or just hang out and watch the city go by. We spend probably 90% of the time we were not asleep in this room. My wife and I have been coming to Amsterdam at least once a year for about six years and always wanted to stay on a house boat but we're never able to due to days or minimum stay restrictions. We're so glad we were able to grab this one and would absolutely stay here or on one of their other boats again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    51
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
63
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Frederic's for 3 nights with our 2 year old. the apartment is very conveniently located, has a great view on the canal from the spatious lounge. we found the place very comfortable, the staff was helpful with tips and directions. I happened to forget a personal item in the apartment before leaving, and they shipped it to me in the UK within a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've stayed with Frederic a few times now, each time in different rooms/apartments/houseboats, and each time we've had a great experience. This time we stayed in the Picasso Room and it was a perfect base for the weekend - clean quiet and good beds. The location is perfect - right between Centraal Station and the Jordaan, with anything you need right nearby on Haarlemmerstraat. Marne and everyone else were super nice and welcoming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly fair, efficient. What more do you need? You are in very good hands renting their bike. Overall just great guys. 15 Euros a day is really a fair price and they give you lots of free advice too. Fun to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mondriaan room at the "stay at ours" guesthouse at the end of November.

We really, really enjoyed our stay there; the location was excellent, the people were friendly and helpful, and we felt totally at home there.

As there were some problems getting there from the airport (due to train issue) we had to ring ahead and let them know we would arrive late. Despite this, Frederic stayed up and waited for us to arrive and then spent a long time letting us know where all the best spots were. This was much appreciated.

The next day, we also hired bikes from them. This was a great way to see the city and all of the roads were easy to navigate.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, although you could hear the people in the room above you. In addition, the waterbed was a definite experience not to be forgotten!!!

We had a lovely time in Amsterdam, and would definitely return to this accommodation if we were to go again.

Room Tip: Go for the mondriaan and enjoy the waterbed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I cannot begin to tell you how good our stay in Amsterdam was due to the Staff at Frederic.

Marne, his mother and father where the kindest most helpful people I have ever encountered.

From the second we arrived I felt right at home.

We stayed in one of the apartments close to their main office on Brouwersgracht and it was amazing. Such a comfortable bed!!

I have stayed in Amsterdam countless times but this time was so special!

My wife was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and from the advice of Marne and his mother (I'm so sorry I cannot remember you name) I had the experience of a lifetime with her.

We hired bikes, visited THE best places I have ever eaten and experienced the city like I never had before and we have Frederic Rent A Bike to thank for this!

I would recommend it for couples as it was perfect for myself and my wife.

See you guys soon :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnDarling-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#257 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#64 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#7 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#28 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike

Property: Frederic Rent a Bike
Address: Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, 1013 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, you will find Frederic Rent a Bike, a small, artistic, cozy bike rental that focuses on delivering an excellent local experience to its clients. Founded in the 1980's as an art gallery by charming owners Frederic and Marjolein Sieger, Frederic Rent a Bike has since expanded its operation to focus on renting out bicycles and forwarding clients who look for accommodation to B&B owners on the main canal belt. Ideally located just five minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square, Frederic provides gorgeous accommodation options throughout the historic Jordaan district and main canal ring. Amsterdam's Canal Ring has grown to be one of the world's most unique urban landscapes and in 2010 the Amsterdam Canal Ring was added to UNESCO's World Heritage List. For more than 20 years Frederic Rent a Bike have been ensuring that their guests have an incredible stay in Amsterdam - by providing an array of unique and thoughtful culinary and cultural recommendations to help you fall in love with this city. We look forward to seeing you soon. We hope to meet you one day in Amsterdam. Frederic, Marjolijn, Marne, Arthur and Jasmijn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing