We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bike rental”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike
Ranked #53 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bike rental”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly fair, efficient. What more do you need? You are in very good hands renting their bike. Overall just great guys. 15 Euros a day is really a fair price and they give you lots of free advice too. Fun to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
70
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mondriaan room at the "stay at ours" guesthouse at the end of November.

We really, really enjoyed our stay there; the location was excellent, the people were friendly and helpful, and we felt totally at home there.

As there were some problems getting there from the airport (due to train issue) we had to ring ahead and let them know we would arrive late. Despite this, Frederic stayed up and waited for us to arrive and then spent a long time letting us know where all the best spots were. This was much appreciated.

The next day, we also hired bikes from them. This was a great way to see the city and all of the roads were easy to navigate.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, although you could hear the people in the room above you. In addition, the waterbed was a definite experience not to be forgotten!!!

We had a lovely time in Amsterdam, and would definitely return to this accommodation if we were to go again.

Room Tip: Go for the mondriaan and enjoy the waterbed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I cannot begin to tell you how good our stay in Amsterdam was due to the Staff at Frederic.

Marne, his mother and father where the kindest most helpful people I have ever encountered.

From the second we arrived I felt right at home.

We stayed in one of the apartments close to their main office on Brouwersgracht and it was amazing. Such a comfortable bed!!

I have stayed in Amsterdam countless times but this time was so special!

My wife was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and from the advice of Marne and his mother (I'm so sorry I cannot remember you name) I had the experience of a lifetime with her.

We hired bikes, visited THE best places I have ever eaten and experienced the city like I never had before and we have Frederic Rent A Bike to thank for this!

I would recommend it for couples as it was perfect for myself and my wife.

See you guys soon :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnDarling-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Amsteram having stayed in Frederic's Houseboat IX for three nights. It was perfect! The houseboat was really spacious, cosy and very clean. The location, opposite Anne Francs house was perfect- we had pre booked tickets for this (would definitely recommend doing this as the queues were massive) so could leave the houseboat just 5 minutes before our tour time. The Jordaan area is, in our opinion, the loveliest area of Amsterdam. It was great to venture out into the livelier centre but return to the peace and tranquility of the houseboat. It was only 15 mins walk from the Rijksmusum and Van Gogh museum and about the same to the centre and red light district. We could have travelled around by tram but it was nicer to walk along the canals.

Frederic's is a fab company. They stayed late at the office for us to arrive and gave us great recommendations of places to eat and drink.

We can't complement the company or accomodation enough. We had the most perfect weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Chris Tofani for a couple of nights. The apartment was amazing--so spacious. right on a canal in the Jordaan neighborhood with awesome views . So many shops and restaurants! Everyone at the shop was so helpful. We were able to buy fresh local food at a street market and cooked breakfast in the apartment. The rental process and checkin and out were a piece of cake. I would highly recommend renting through Frederic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed with one friend @ Carlo's apt in Sept 2013.
- on Frederic rental: very good, very responsive, very helpful, very everything ... in a nutshell its very easy to book with him, and he has good advices for Amsterdam. Did not try the bike rental though, only 1 flat.
- the flat is located in Herenmarkt6, 1st floor. The flat is small but very clean. It is ok for a couple, but if you are 2 people sleeping in 2 different beds, one will have the real bed, the other one the couch. And the toilets + shower are located in the bedroom. So you need some organization... Separate bathroom could have been better. But perfect for a couple.
To reach the flat you need to climb a few stairs, and the "slope" is like 60degrees ... you have been warned!
Great location, 10 mins walk from central station, nice area, but can be very noisy (and I mean very) at night, like drunk guys shouting at 3am ... this is amsterdam, but if you want a super quiet place you may want another location.
Price/Quality was very nice in the end.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#194 of 367 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Lazy Monkeys
Lazy Monkeys
#73 of 336 in Amsterdam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#70 of 336 in Amsterdam
76 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#71 of 336 in Amsterdam
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike

Property: Frederic Rent a Bike
Address: Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, 1013 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, you will find Frederic Rent a Bike, a small, artistic, cozy bike rental that focuses on delivering an excellent local experience to its clients. Founded in the 1980’s as an art gallery by charming owners Frederic and Marjolein Sieger, Frederic Rent a Bike has since expanded its operation to focus on renting out bicycles. Ideally located just five minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square, Frederic provides gorgeous accommodation options throughout the historic Jordaan district and main canal ring. Amsterdam’s Canal Ring has grown to be one of the world’s most unique urban landscapes and in 2010 the Amsterdam Canal Ring was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List. For more than 20 years Frederic Rent a Bike have been ensuring that their guests have an incredible stay in Amsterdam – by providing an array of unique and thoughtful culinary and cultural recommendations to help you fall in love with this city. We look forward to seeing you soon. We hope to meet you one day in Amsterdam. Frederic, Marjolijn, Marne, Arthur and Jasmijn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing