We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike
Ranked #45 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I cannot begin to tell you how good our stay in Amsterdam was due to the Staff at Frederic.

Marne, his mother and father where the kindest most helpful people I have ever encountered.

From the second we arrived I felt right at home.

We stayed in one of the apartments close to their main office on Brouwersgracht and it was amazing. Such a comfortable bed!!

I have stayed in Amsterdam countless times but this time was so special!

My wife was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and from the advice of Marne and his mother (I'm so sorry I cannot remember you name) I had the experience of a lifetime with her.

We hired bikes, visited THE best places I have ever eaten and experienced the city like I never had before and we have Frederic Rent A Bike to thank for this!

I would recommend it for couples as it was perfect for myself and my wife.

See you guys soon :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShawnDarling-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Frederic Rent a Bike
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 200 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Amsteram having stayed in Frederic's Houseboat IX for three nights. It was perfect! The houseboat was really spacious, cosy and very clean. The location, opposite Anne Francs house was perfect- we had pre booked tickets for this (would definitely recommend doing this as the queues were massive) so could leave the houseboat just 5 minutes before our tour time. The Jordaan area is, in our opinion, the loveliest area of Amsterdam. It was great to venture out into the livelier centre but return to the peace and tranquility of the houseboat. It was only 15 mins walk from the Rijksmusum and Van Gogh museum and about the same to the centre and red light district. We could have travelled around by tram but it was nicer to walk along the canals.

Frederic's is a fab company. They stayed late at the office for us to arrive and gave us great recommendations of places to eat and drink.

We can't complement the company or accomodation enough. We had the most perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Chris Tofani for a couple of nights. The apartment was amazing--so spacious. right on a canal in the Jordaan neighborhood with awesome views . So many shops and restaurants! Everyone at the shop was so helpful. We were able to buy fresh local food at a street market and cooked breakfast in the apartment. The rental process and checkin and out were a piece of cake. I would highly recommend renting through Frederic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed with one friend @ Carlo's apt in Sept 2013.
- on Frederic rental: very good, very responsive, very helpful, very everything ... in a nutshell its very easy to book with him, and he has good advices for Amsterdam. Did not try the bike rental though, only 1 flat.
- the flat is located in Herenmarkt6, 1st floor. The flat is small but very clean. It is ok for a couple, but if you are 2 people sleeping in 2 different beds, one will have the real bed, the other one the couch. And the toilets + shower are located in the bedroom. So you need some organization... Separate bathroom could have been better. But perfect for a couple.
To reach the flat you need to climb a few stairs, and the "slope" is like 60degrees ... you have been warned!
Great location, 10 mins walk from central station, nice area, but can be very noisy (and I mean very) at night, like drunk guys shouting at 3am ... this is amsterdam, but if you want a super quiet place you may want another location.
Price/Quality was very nice in the end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've stayed with Frederic's every time we've been in Amsterdam and for us it's the only place to stay. From check-in to check-out its a wonderful experience. On check-in they have spent a considerable amount of time showing/ telling us what's where, what to see, where to eat (even booking restaurants for us) etc - absolutely amazing! The Rent-a-Bike is so handy and easy to arrange, we've used it every time to experience life as "locals" - I can't fault the service at all. The apartments are clean and well maintained - a home away from home, the only downside is I didn't organise myself enough to arrange for a house boat - next time!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

What an amazing experience! It is the way to stay in Amsterdam, experience the canals, the night life, the daytime comings and goings on! We were on Houseboat V for 5 people. 3 kids (15, 13, 11years) and 2 adults. Although there was enough room in the 3 bedrooms, my daughter decided to sleep on the sofa in the living room. It was an unusually warm time so the boat was warm, but the fans helped as did the cooler evening air. We were docked directly in the Jordaan neighborhood! Filled with bars, coffee shops, restaurants, middle of everything, walking distance. Saturday morning the market set up (not very pleasant with all the noise waking one up at 4am, but a delight to have it at the doorstep in the morning!)
The houseboat was very well supplied. Internet we had to go to the bar next door. You have to bring your own toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc). There is a washer and dryer, we didn't use it, and you would need to get directions from the owners as none was supplied. It is a houseboat, so the area is small, bathroom small with no door (but separate toilet), ceilings low, cumbersome going up and down stairs, but it all adds to the charm. Not for someone with mobility difficulties. It is really only there for sleeping and having a glass of wine at the bow in the evening because you are out all day. It is very cozy for hanging out and witnessing the canal life!
Check in was amazing. Very nice and helpful telling us where to eat, what to see, where to go. Any questions they could answer! Wonderful people! Thank you!
We are definitely going to stay there again if we come to Amsterdam. This time it was unfortunately only 2 nights! Next time a few more days.
It's really great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Amsterdam! With a central location that is right along a canal, our stay in Amsterdam was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in the welcoming Piccolo room, which is attached to the bike shop and has shared bathrooms. Free croissants for breakfast, Frederic's son helped us out when we got there and pointed us in the right direction for markets and restaurants, super helpful! Only drawback was trying to get into our room at night through the night time entrance which we couldn't open with our key but we eventually made it and you will too with some force. Overall a great place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#174 of 371 in Amsterdam
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 337 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#71 of 337 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike

Address: Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, 1013 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $48 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, you will find Frederic Rent a Bike, a small, artistic, cozy bike rental that focuses on delivering an excellent local experience to its clients. Founded in the 1980’s as an art gallery by charming owners Frederic and Marjolein Sieger, Frederic Rent a Bike has since expanded its operation to focus on renting out bicycles. Ideally located just five minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square, Frederic provides gorgeous accommodation options throughout the historic Jordaan district and main canal ring. Amsterdam’s Canal Ring has grown to be one of the world’s most unique urban landscapes and in 2010 the Amsterdam Canal Ring was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List. For more than 20 years Frederic Rent a Bike have been ensuring that their guests have an incredible stay in Amsterdam – by providing an array of unique and thoughtful culinary and cultural recommendations to help you fall in love with this city. We look forward to seeing you soon. We hope to meet you one day in Amsterdam. Frederic, Marjolijn, Marne, Arthur and Jasmijn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing