We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats
Save
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats to your Saves list
Ranked #57 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jordaan Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Frederic's Jordaan apartment for a weekend at the beginning of July. It is a lovely place set over three levels with the obligatory steep Amsterdam stairs. the apartment was extremely clean with all of the conveniences you could wish for. The bed was the most comfortable we have encountered on our european travels. The Jordaan is a fabulous area... lots of cafes, restaurants, shops, canals. The staff at Frederic are very welcoming and helpful. Marne from Frederic recommended Caffe Toscanini, a lovely Italian restaurant just around the corner from the apartment. We also hired bikes from Frederic, which was a great way to get around the city and explore some of the coastal villages. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabella_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    47
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
59
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Jordan 2 bed apartment in May. The apartment was just lovely, very clean and had plenty of space. Set over 3 floors, with modern furnishing and a very well equipped kitchen. The only thing i can mark this aparment down on is the shower that leaked over the bathroom, which is inconvenient. Great location and great welcoming from Fredric. They have lovely staff!! There is a fab restaurant called Fraiche walking distance from the apartment. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hembags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Mondriaan room for two nights last week. Couldn't recommend it more! The room is located at the bike shop in the back of the canal house. No street noise. There is a small terrace available with screened windows that open to the cool night breeze. While your room and bathroom is private...your commode is not! It truly is like staying at in a guestroom at a good friend's house. This was not a problem since two toilets were conveniently located just beside our room. The bathtub was large and had a shower head available which made washing my long hair easy. The water bed was large and clean with sheets so fresh they were still warm and smelled like dryer sheets. We met Asher and Marne during our visit and both were very friendly, helpful and accommodating giving us the scoop on the BEST places to eat and see. Access to the room was simple..even at night when the shop was closed. Then you entered through the house. If you are looking for an inexpensive and authentic stay in the beating heart of Amsterdam, you must stay at Frederic's!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ro_vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wanted to plan something a bit special for myself and my lady without breaking the bank in Amsterdam. I spoke with the Frederic guys a couple times over e-mails to explore my options and they gave me several within my budget.

The pictures they showed me didn't do the place justice, we spent slightly more than what dormitory style accommodation would've cost for the two us but received 5 star lodging.

When we arrived the owners son and his assistant, Asher went to great lengths to explain the best places to eat, drink and visit during our stay. It really felt like they cared how our stay went, rather than just getting our money and forgetting about us.

Easily the best experience I've had whilst travelling. Keep up the good effort guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our extended family of 5 stayed at the Chris-Tofari apartment for 2 nights in June. The ideal Jordaan location is within walking distance of the central train station, cafe's, shopping and all the sights. Owner Marne was friendly and helpful, taking time at our arrival to give us a map and point out local spots for food and sights. A small, organic cafe a few minutes away called Vinnie's was our favorite breakfast spot. The apartment is on two upper floors, requiring a relatively steep climb up 2 flights of steps to get to it (normal for Amsterdam!). The apartment is spacious, with the upper floor containing 2 bedrooms- with an oversized comfortable double bed and a twin bed in one room and a small double bed in another room, with the only bathroom for the apartment on this top floor. On the floor below there is a tiny bedroom with a twin bed, along with the kitchen and living room. Both floors have views of the street and canal below plus good WIFI internet service. The large diningroom table is a nice spot for working on the computer, eating and chatting. Though the apartment is in need of minor improvements and enhancements (apparently soap is not provided in Amsterdam apartment rentals but we would have appreciated a few small bars of soap in the bathroom), you will enjoy the nice location and staff, making Frederik Rent a Bike rentals a good choice for visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Chris Tofari Apartment requires climbing several flights of steps which may be difficult for gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We rented Houseboat IX from Frederic. It located along a canal next the the Anne Frank house in the Jordaan neighborhood of Amsterdam. The houseboat is only 15 minute walk from the central train station and convenient to trams. There are great cafes, restaurants, bars and grocery stores within short walking distance. The Frederic staff was very friendly and helpful. The houseboat is rustic, but comfortable, complete with kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. It is a spacious accommodation for a couple, comfortable for a couple-plus-one by using the sleeper sofa in the living room. The only potential negative is that the bath tub/shower is 3+ feet off the ground to make the plumbing work on a boat. This if fine if you are reasonably fit, but could be a problem for those with limited mobility. Oh, and there is a church nearby with loud bells, but whoever rings them is a talented musician. So, unless you are the Hunchback of Notre Dame or of similar persuasion, I think you will find the bells to be a positive addition and you will always know what time it is!

We loved staying here and it was way, way better than a hotel. Recommend Oliva's tapa bar just up the street---delicious tapas and a great wine list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didn't get to stay but we passed by to rent bikes and were shown a couple of rooms... we really regretted not knowing about this place before. Prices were fair, the atmosphere is great and the people are really nice. Will definitely go back there next time for the bike, the rooms and the candy they offer at the cashier!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanBilingual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#235 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#82 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#55 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#46 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats

Property: Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats
Address: Brouwersgracht 78, 1013 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito," all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing