We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike
Ranked #44 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We rented two apartments in the same house on Herenmarkt - Vila Flora and Carlo. Our family visited Amsterdam during a time when a major conference was in town and most hotels jack up their rates and/or require long stays. These were the only reasonably priced accommodations we found that alllowed us to stay just 3 nights during that time. Our expectations were low but we were wowed by the value we received. The apartments were spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Both had a washer/dryer, very small dishwasher and mini-fridge The owner provided plenty of supplies. She lives in the building next door and checked in with us to make sure everything was OK. Our bedroom was at the back of the apartment and faced a small courtyard between two buildings. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was, even though there is a busy restaurant close by. The location is excellent. It's within walking distance of the train station and close to many restaurants, shops and a great Saturday market. The folks at Frederic Rent a Bike were awesome.

Some things to be aware of that may be of concern to some though they were not a problem for us:
1) The stairs up to the apartments were narrow and super steep, almost ladder-like. I think this is typical for Amsterdam, but it may be an issue if you have mobility challenges or lots of heavy luggage. The apartments we stayed in were on the second and third floor.

2) The toilet was in a small room just outside the apartment. There was only one apartment on each floor so it wasn't shared with anyone else but you do need to leave the privacy of your apartment to go to the loo. The shower was inside the apartment. Also, in our apartment, if you turned on the light in the toilet room, it also came on in the shower room, right next to the bed. A 3am trip to the toilet will probably be noticed by your sleeping partner.

3) You must pay the rental charge in full, in cash, upon arrival. We had no problems with this, but did need to bank funds via several ATM trips prior to our arrival. We provided a credit card # as a guarantee when making the reservation but nothing was charged.

Overall, these apartments were a great value and we would definitely return. Our bike rental experience with Frederic was also perfect.

Room Tip: Frederic has many rooms/apartments for rent, so other rental units may be different from ours. The F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed on one of Frederic's houseboats with my husband and our friend for four evenings. Everything was exactly as advertised on their website (except that Frederic accidentally forgot to add the cost of one of the evenings when he confirmed our reservation, but no big deal). The young guy who helped us (Marte?) at the check-in office was just fantastic. He sat down with us upon arrival for a good half hour and told us about all his favourite things to do in Amsterdam, marking down these spots on a map for us to take away. When we arrived at the houseboat, we found the accommodations to be very clean and well-kept, and all appliances were in working order. Staying on a houseboat in Amsterdam was a truly unique experience, and one I recommend to all visitors to this great city. Reserve with Frederic and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrekkerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I used Frederic's servicies for allmost all my stop in Amsterdam. I have allways been happy with accomodations, from single room or appartment even houseboats... The team there is so helpfull and speak many languages ;) They provide you with tips, and I allways discover something different because of them. Good people, good place, good vibes!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you want a true Amsterdam experience then you must stay on one of their canal boats. They are spacious and very well equipped to suit your needs. From the kitchen to the roomy bedrooms your stay will long be remembered. Great location conveniently located close to central station, city transportation, museums, restaurants, shopping & attractions. The entire staff at Frederic are just wonerful people will do their best to accommodate any request. We have stayed with then on both our visits to Amsterdam and look forward to may future visits with them. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrfun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed on Canalboat #3 for two nights, on Prinsengracht near Brouwersgracht. It was clean and spacious, but basically a big box on a raft. We shifted to Canalboat #1 on Brouwersgracht, which was a real boat and nicer (to our taste, anyway). It, too was clean and spacious, more "boaty" with a better kitchen and an internet connection (once I figured out how to make it work). If your sleep is easily disturbed, the tour boats make a right turn using their bow thrusters nearby, but it never bothered us and we deemed it part of the atmosphere. The 2d boat was even a little less money than the first.

The Frederic team was very helpful, loaded with good advice and directions, local knowledge, and well-annotated maps. The Jordaan is excellent, with loads of restaurants and bars - and NOT loads of tourists. We''ll return, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I rented an appartment on Haarlemmerdijk for four nights and it was just a perfect place to stay - clean, rather spacious and great location.
Customer service is somewhat outstanding, Marne is very helpful and friendly.
These guys are the best. I remember them with warm feelings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Proshkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed 4 nights on Brouwersgracht. Lovely canal in an great neighborhood (The Jordaan – we LOVE it). The Frederic team are locals and really know the area. They are very friendly and exceedingly helpful. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to stay on a boat in Amsterdam. They go above and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheelblue73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,276 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#133 of 373 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Blue Square
#164 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike

Address: Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, 1013 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $47 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, you will find Frederic Rent a Bike, a small, artistic, cozy bike rental that focuses on delivering an excellent local experience to its clients. Founded in the 1980’s as an art gallery by charming owners Frederic and Marjolein Sieger, Frederic Rent a Bike has since expanded its operation to focus on renting out bicycles. Ideally located just five minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square, Frederic provides gorgeous accommodation options throughout the historic Jordaan district and main canal ring. Amsterdam’s Canal Ring has grown to be one of the world’s most unique urban landscapes and in 2010 the Amsterdam Canal Ring was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List. For more than 20 years Frederic Rent a Bike have been ensuring that their guests have an incredible stay in Amsterdam – by providing an array of unique and thoughtful culinary and cultural recommendations to help you fall in love with this city. We look forward to seeing you soon. We hope to meet you one day in Amsterdam. Frederic, Marjolijn, Marne, Arthur and Jasmijn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing