We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not return”
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Giardino Hotel
Ranked #332 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 30, 2014

my room was horrible, really dirty. Linen dirty, dirty walls and nuts walls. Would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. The bathroom was flooded after the first bath. The breakfast is very expensive and not made ​​you want to try. It had a refrigerator but not worked. The floor was littered with garbage, it seemed that not cleaned the room the previous guest. that horrible experience, I tried to not go there almost no time, just sleep.

Room Tip: Quadruple for 4 persons
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Helder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Il Giardino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 336 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nothing special to say. It is just average place to stay in Amsterdam if you have no other options at the moment. However, location is excellent. I am not really sure, I would like to stay at the hotel one more time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Катерина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Going for a city break, I'm not usually bothered about where I stay so long as it is clean, comfortable and in a good location. This hotel is located within walking distance of everything you would need and makes it easy to get around Amsterdam. Unfortunately that's the only good thing I have to say about this place.

The hotel is above a 24 hour kebab shop (no problem), however most of the staff we encountered seemed to have no interest or knowledge of the hotel at all. There was building work going on as we were there ('painting' apparently, although it needs more than a lick of paint!), so a member of staff had to let us in through a side door which was annoying. Being woken up from 7:30 by building work was also a pain.

The room, well... Looked ok at first, until you actually go to use something. Fancy flat screen TV on wall, just a shame it has no aerial and the plug doesn't reach any socket! Nowhere to hang clothes. The bathroom looked newly decorated, however the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet and there was only one plug in the bathroom, covered in sealant so no plug could fit in it. It was more like a wet room where everything gets flooded when you have a shower. The most disgusting thing was the cleanliness. Blonde long hairs on the floor, hair clips on the floor (?), dust everywhere. The room wasn't cleaned once in four days, nor did we ever see a cleaner go into other rooms. We had the same towels and bedding this entire time.

Breakfast was OK. Just two slices of bread (I think it was supposed to be toast), one slice of ham and cheese, a fried egg and jam with coffee or tea. Nothing to shout home about but enough to put us on.

The hotel asks for a 10 Euro deposit too, which we didn't see when booking.

Since we have returned home, both me and my friend who was staying with me in the room have developed nasty bites on our bodies. Not sure if it's bed bugs but its enough to make me write this review and vow never to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. Avoid!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It locates next to the Central station and Red light district but it was very dirty especially the walls!The service was good, but the breakfast quite poor. It had warm water and clean covers. For it's price wasn't good.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kalliopi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent location for low-budget looking travellers. It's a very smart option for people who dont really care about room quality and services, but a place to bathe and sleep. It's in the center of Dam, so you easily go by foot everywhere, plus Centraal Station is like 2 minutes by foot. I wouldnt recommend it to families though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The tv did not work, there was nowhere to hang your clothes (back of a chair), there was no curtain on the window which had frosted glass, not that there was any view, it looked out onto an alleyway. there was only 1 pillow and a tiny cushion, it was after 3 attempts that I got a pillow which was the night before we were going home. The room did not get cleaned when we were out the room at all. We had to use the same towel twice. The 1st morning we woke to what sounded like a building site in the corridor outside our room. The staff just weren't interested in your requests. And to top it of they added an extra 10euros on to the price we already had on our confirmation paper, with no excuse or reason !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unbelievably tatty place, so disgusting you need to wear disposable gloves and endeavour not to touch anything. Only clean thing was the bed linen. Stingy mean tasteless breakfast. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JohnandYasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#196 of 371 in Amsterdam
475 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#213 of 371 in Amsterdam
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#218 of 371 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#297 of 371 in Amsterdam
127 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97/98, 1011 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $60 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing