We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap, not as I was led to believe.”
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Giardino Hotel
Ranked #332 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Crap, not as I was led to believe.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The bed linen was clean, other then that, thick dust on top of the cabinets, no plug in bathroom, no mirror, a badly sawn bed head board, views of brick walls out of all 3 windows, 1 window being a door of which the bed was shoved up, there was no getting out of there! Mould spores in the fridge, a wardrobe you can't use as there is no rail!, colourful walls where children had stayed, oh and the spy hole in the door could be easily poked tho if someone wanted to! 1 night was the only night we stopped. Oh and as for a double bed it's 2 singles pushed together! Breakfast consists of 2 bread, butter, jam, 1 slice if ham, 1 slice of cheese, 1 fried egg and a tea or coffee. Oh and a big no no for the disabled, I failed to mention I have problems walking and we were on the top floor and there is no lift. Also unfortunately you are unable to leave reviews on the hotels website

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesspip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    76
    69
    123
See reviews for
40
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

friendly staff! easy to access!! great location!! good value for money!! Was greeted with a kind receptionist who was very understanding! went to the room and the shower was immaculate!! better then some 5 star hotels!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Arron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here last year and had the worst 5 nights of my life. I asked for a double bed however turned up and two singles were pushed together, the shower did not have a curtain therefore the bathroom got absolutely soaked so I was constantly walking on a wet bathroom floor which was unpleasant need less to say, fresh towels were never replaced and I had to ask for them, the mirror was on top of the wardrobe, the room itself was dark, dingy and so depressing and the bed sheets weren't changed once! and for the price I paid to stay there I was disgusted. The staff were friendly I have to say and the location was good but that certainly did not make up for the state of the room. Do not stay here if you are going as a couple or a group of girls as it puts a dampener on the whole Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelKh8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The linen was clean and the beds didn't have any bed bugs which was great! For one night stay it's good but things in the room were broken eg. big hole in the window frame, the door handle, tap and a chair

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

we got to our room and straight away we were in shock as the hotel was supposed to be at least a two star, but i promise you it was lower than a one! the floor was dirty our bed sheets were stained and dirty and looked as if they had been slept in then just puffed up, there were stains and graffiti everywhere, and our toilet seat was hanging off. our bedroom window wouldnt close and the tv didn't work. we didnt stay and booked out as soon as possible and we werent even asked why we were leaving. do not book this hotel room 25 is a dive!

Room Tip: just dont book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

first of all, arrived on the room, closed the door, the handle remained in my hand.... after that, we find 2 cans of coke left from the previous guest on the side of the bed....... no mirrow in the bathroom.... NO bath mat and NO bath curtain on the shower... that mean... big lake after every shower...... and no daily cleaning of the room....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank macsbranni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,307 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#217 of 367 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#190 of 367 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#194 of 367 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Property: Il Giardino Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97/98, 1011 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing