We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggest to choose another accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tamara
Ranked #331 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Suggest to choose another accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is good for traveling, however this hotel is not comfortable for staying, everything is dirty and old. If you care about cleaning and noise, better to select another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XV黑熊傳說
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    27
    18
    39
See reviews for
4
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at this hostel for three nights with my sister. Our room was on the top floor so there were lots of steep stairs but this didnt bother us too much. Our room was basic but nice with a sink, tv and plenty of plug sockets. It also had nice big windows that opened fully onto a lovely view of the city. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good, with plenty of hot water. By no means is this a luxury hotel but it was just what we needed for our stay. It is relaxed and safe and gave us the perfect base for our trip.

The location is great, just accross the road from Dam square and everywhere is accessable, couldnt have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

hey, i found the place really acceptable. basic but acceptable. was really worried it would be a disaster but it was great. only one wall socket. taz is a bit intense when he's not high. but seriously, no need to worry.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2486tedgdfgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This Hotel (More Hostel), I very cheap and very close to the city centre.

We had a room for 7 people, The owner looked after us well, He is a nice guy to talk to, But boy does he talk.

We stayed 3 nights, and spend most of the time around the town. So it was the perfect place for a bunch of lads to chill out and get a bit of shut eye.

Toilets and Shower works fine, The hotel was a little dark, and could do with a paint job, some maintenance and a bit of a modernising.

Other than that had a excellent stay.

If you want someone to stay for a weekend of partying and a laugh with you mates this is the place for you, If you want a fancy expensive hotel, goto the Hilton or somewhere. Else this place is great.

Room Tip: As Quoted before, "The HIGHER the Better..."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanYem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

when we found the hotel we were greeted by an old man that looked like he could have done with a good scrub.and a de lice..we handed over our cash only to be told that we would be stayin in the blarney stone ,what was up one of the shopping streets,,while we were delighted not to be staying at the hotel tamara,we were soon kicked back into touch when we were showed the room..i honestly wouldnt have let my dog sleep there.it looked liked they made the bed in 1970 and then reopened the door in 2014..please dont stay there u will regret it.......i must say that at the end of our 6 mile round trip we did get our money back and did find suitable digs at a bit more expence....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

So this hostel has a pretty bad reputation, but only by those who have missed the point. I spent four days here with the intention of experiencing Amsterdam the way it should and this hostel was what i needed. (to "mong" out) a place to go chill out and then get up and go and since this hostel is situated in the middle of amsterdam its perfect for it.
Most of these reviews are based in the hieght of the season, june and july, its cheaper than most hostels and Taz the brilliant owner is about 80 years old and what he has provided is a pad for travellers who come to the Dam for an awsome time.
So it may look similar to a prison and fell like your living in the 1930's at certain angles but get high and it becomes a palace in its own right. So save some money, give it a go and be educated and leave knowing you survived AMSTERDAM!!!

:)

Room Tip: The "HIGHER" the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yachteetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Got landed in this hotel thanks to our hostel somehow double booking our room. First impressions are not the greatest but once you are there it is absolutley fine.
The stairs up are steep, narrow and dark. Once in all the staff seemed very friendly and we were given the room nearest to the toilet. The room itself was very very basic but ok for a group of 5 guys just looking to enjoy Amsterdam. The sheets and towels supplied all seemed clean, beds themselves varied as most were ok but some just felt like sleeping on concrete. The room itself was very spacious, had a window that looked out onto a brick wall. Not the worst thing in the world and actually turned out ideal as smoking is permitted in the hotel.
1 toilet and 1 room with shower and toilet. Both very clean and the shower itself was actually really good. Never heard any other guests in the hotel either. Free wifi and tea/coffee between 9am and 12noon and also gave us some vouchers for other places.
Location itself is ideal, not far away from the town and also the red light district. Central station is also well within walking distance. If needed there are tram routes and bike hire very close by.
Overall I would definitely not have chosen this place myself, but for just a group of guys looking to enjoy Amsterdam it was not the worst place in the world we could of landed. Pretty shabby and could use some renovation work but the people are friendly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#309 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamara

Property: Hotel Tamara
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 8561 AS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing