We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tamara
Ranked #337 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am seriously advising not to stay here. I am a well travelled man and stayed in many places over the world. I can safely say this place is disgraceful and you should not expect this in a first world country. The owner hated us before we turned up and had a serious chip on his shoulder. He did not accept card payments which was a massive inconvenience. The place is dirty, smells of mould and I don't know when the bed sheets or pillow cases were last washed. Some of us were made to sleep on matresses on the floor and a number of your party were seriously attacked by bed bugs and got bitten and all the bites got infected. All the people in my room slept on top of the sheets as not to get bitten. Upon arrival I honestly thought it was a joke but to my horror, this was the place we had booked. I cannot understand how this man can be allowed to run this sort of establishment. You have been warned, stay here at your own risk. The one positive is that the hotel was so bad, it forced us to get up early and go and spend more time in Amsterdam and not return till the early hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    27
    18
    40
See reviews for
4
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found the location easily. got in and paid, when we entered the room there was an elderly man who turns out to be the owner asleep on one of the beds. fair enough there his beds. the electricty went out, but we did get candles or as the elderly man put it "romantic lighting". we could smoke in the rooms which was a big plus, but every time we left the room we got a good lession about christ the son of God. Also someone not in our group left a dirty pair of womens pants in our room. Weird but of you want a crazy and unpredictable time come here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends for 3 nights and can honestly say it was the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune of staying at. Upon arrival the owner started to go on a rant about "English people" which I can't say thrilled me. I could not believe the state of the room, it made me feel sick! The bed blankets had some kind of mold growing on them which I can only say I've seen on bread in the past, the walls were half painted and everywhere smelled terrible. The little black cat was cute but if you're not a cat person it would irritate you being stalked and followed to your room. By day 3, myself and my friend were covered in bites which I can only assume were a result of bed bugs. I didn't expect anything fancy but I at least would expect clean bed sheets, this was a last minute booking as there was a conference on so everywhere was booked but I would rather pay extra in future if just for a clean bed! I urge anybody thinking about staying here to stay anywhere else, only in Amsterdam could somebody earn a living off such an awful establishment as most customers are probably too high to care!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else if you want to enjoy your holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky_efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have read some of the reviews describing this place as dirty, I found it 'shabby' but clean. Great location and quiet considering where it is. Murphy the cat was a lovely addition to the crazy staff team. Taz, the old guy who generally oversees this hostel was a mine of information and purveyor of copious free cups of tea which I need to keep me going. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.. if you want luxury, don't book a cheap hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was actually better than expected having been to Amsterdam and stayed in the centre quite a few times. Stairs are steep as they are anywhere in Amsterdam. Room was small but when your on holiday it's just somewhere to sleep, which was CLEAN! :) Taz and his Cat made the stay even better with friendly random banter as we passed. Great warm shower too! And if your that way inclined, they allow you to smoke out the window too ;)
Being so close to Damrak it is surprisingly quiet, but in a very central location, just round the corner from Dam Square!

Room Tip: The rooms at the side of the building are quieter as it is on a small lane. And although it is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Inexpensive, central 'Hotel' with a slightly run down air.
I guess you get what you pay for, so don't expect too much and you'll find the experience quite acceptable.
Rooms really are on the small side, but they're clean enough and the communal facilities on the landing (each floor) are adequate. Has a sister Irish bar, The Blarneystone, if you really are missing Guinness and large fried breakfasts.
Staff were particularly pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay so going to Amsterdam we had to find some where cheap so booked super budget hotel Tamara and despite what I'm going to tell you were looking at going back next year!! Crazy I know.

So when we arrived we went in upstairs they are steap but thats Amsterdam. We met the old man who runs it, I do believe he use to be Australian and just randomly decided never to go back. He is a little coocukoo but not in a bad way I just think he likes to talk. There is a lovely black cat that wonders about however dont let him outside! The place does smell a little funky mainly smoke so I'm not complaining.

Rignt our room
So our room at first looked okay, obviously we had read previous reviews so new what we had in store. So 3 of us had brought sleeping bags and 2 had brought duvet covers ( so you can sleep inside them), right so plus side no bed bugs so always good however do not pull your sheets back just put your sleeping bag or sheet on top climb in so your not really touching the bed and go to sleep. However this is what caused our first alaughing fit, we made that mistake! We took our sheets make and founder sheets were covered in biscuit crumbs and pubic hairs= /

Then we pulled sheets back to look at mattresses and to be fair everyone's looked okay bah a little bit of mould except mine had a little bit of blood on it urgh. But we did all laugh especially when we tried our beds out some were literally chicken wire ! And others felt that you were sleeping on breeze blocks.

Later that night we had our second laugh when we eventually got back to our room a little wobbly from the nights antics we had all just got into bed when some one used the loo and our sink began to do the most disgusting gurgling noise for everyone to laugh to. Also beware for the thousands of flies you will find in the morning.

It is a little loud but thats because your so central to everything, we constantly felt welcomed enjoyed our little chats with the old bloke was chuffed we could smoke in our rooms.

Oh yeah toilets were pretty clean!!! Didnt use the shower one of my friends did and doesn't have any foot diseases yet, so obviously it gets cleaned.

Overall it was grubby and fun ( a little bit like camping) but made our whole holiday, our stuff was safe we had an awsome time and lets face it you dont spend that much time in the hotel anyways.

Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StinaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#254 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#200 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#244 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#310 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamara

Property: Hotel Tamara
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing