We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad its Good”
Review of Hotel Tamara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tamara
Ranked #362 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found the location easily. got in and paid, when we entered the room there was an elderly man who turns out to be the owner asleep on one of the beds. fair enough there his beds. the electricty went out, but we did get candles or as the elderly man put it "romantic lighting". we could smoke in the rooms which was a big plus, but every time we left the room we got a good lession about christ the son of God. Also someone not in our group left a dirty pair of womens pants in our room. Weird but of you want a crazy and unpredictable time come here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tamara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends for 3 nights and can honestly say it was the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune of staying at. Upon arrival the owner started to go on a rant about "English people" which I can't say thrilled me. I could not believe the state of the room, it made me feel sick! The bed blankets had some kind of mold growing on them which I can only say I've seen on bread in the past, the walls were half painted and everywhere smelled terrible. The little black cat was cute but if you're not a cat person it would irritate you being stalked and followed to your room. By day 3, myself and my friend were covered in bites which I can only assume were a result of bed bugs. I didn't expect anything fancy but I at least would expect clean bed sheets, this was a last minute booking as there was a conference on so everywhere was booked but I would rather pay extra in future if just for a clean bed! I urge anybody thinking about staying here to stay anywhere else, only in Amsterdam could somebody earn a living off such an awful establishment as most customers are probably too high to care!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else if you want to enjoy your holiday!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky_efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have read some of the reviews describing this place as dirty, I found it 'shabby' but clean. Great location and quiet considering where it is. Murphy the cat was a lovely addition to the crazy staff team. Taz, the old guy who generally oversees this hostel was a mine of information and purveyor of copious free cups of tea which I need to keep me going. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.. if you want luxury, don't book a cheap hostel!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was actually better than expected having been to Amsterdam and stayed in the centre quite a few times. Stairs are steep as they are anywhere in Amsterdam. Room was small but when your on holiday it's just somewhere to sleep, which was CLEAN! :) Taz and his Cat made the stay even better with friendly random banter as we passed. Great warm shower too! And if your that way inclined, they allow you to smoke out the window too ;)
Being so close to Damrak it is surprisingly quiet, but in a very central location, just round the corner from Dam Square!

Room Tip: The rooms at the side of the building are quieter as it is on a small lane. And although it is one...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Inexpensive, central 'Hotel' with a slightly run down air.
I guess you get what you pay for, so don't expect too much and you'll find the experience quite acceptable.
Rooms really are on the small side, but they're clean enough and the communal facilities on the landing (each floor) are adequate. Has a sister Irish bar, The Blarneystone, if you really are missing Guinness and large fried breakfasts.
Staff were particularly pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay so going to Amsterdam we had to find some where cheap so booked super budget hotel Tamara and despite what I'm going to tell you were looking at going back next year!! Crazy I know.

So when we arrived we went in upstairs they are steap but thats Amsterdam. We met the old man who runs it, I do believe he use to be Australian and just randomly decided never to go back. He is a little coocukoo but not in a bad way I just think he likes to talk. There is a lovely black cat that wonders about however dont let him outside! The place does smell a little funky mainly smoke so I'm not complaining.

Rignt our room
So our room at first looked okay, obviously we had read previous reviews so new what we had in store. So 3 of us had brought sleeping bags and 2 had brought duvet covers ( so you can sleep inside them), right so plus side no bed bugs so always good however do not pull your sheets back just put your sleeping bag or sheet on top climb in so your not really touching the bed and go to sleep. However this is what caused our first alaughing fit, we made that mistake! We took our sheets make and founder sheets were covered in biscuit crumbs and pubic hairs= /

Then we pulled sheets back to look at mattresses and to be fair everyone's looked okay bah a little bit of mould except mine had a little bit of blood on it urgh. But we did all laugh especially when we tried our beds out some were literally chicken wire ! And others felt that you were sleeping on breeze blocks.

Later that night we had our second laugh when we eventually got back to our room a little wobbly from the nights antics we had all just got into bed when some one used the loo and our sink began to do the most disgusting gurgling noise for everyone to laugh to. Also beware for the thousands of flies you will find in the morning.

It is a little loud but thats because your so central to everything, we constantly felt welcomed enjoyed our little chats with the old bloke was chuffed we could smoke in our rooms.

Oh yeah toilets were pretty clean!!! Didnt use the shower one of my friends did and doesn't have any foot diseases yet, so obviously it gets cleaned.

Overall it was grubby and fun ( a little bit like camping) but made our whole holiday, our stuff was safe we had an awsome time and lets face it you dont spend that much time in the hotel anyways.

Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StinaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Of course, when choosing this hotel I did not have expectations of finding the best accomodation in the world, since it was one of the cheapest in the neighborhood (still, not CHEAP, only cheaper).

When entering the hotel it was so dark you couldn't really see all the dirty around... but then, when opening the window of our room, we saw the worst we could expect. I am not sure whether the sheets had been cleaned, since you could find every kind of spot in there. They were not even the properly size, so that in the night you woke up in a mattress... and I had to try very hard to convince myself the red spot in the mattress was not blood.

Luckily, I love cats, so it was not a bad surprise when going to the bathroom I found this black cat staring at me!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#249 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#227 of 371 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Campanile Amsterdam
#210 of 371 in Amsterdam
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamara

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $85 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing